English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 November 2019, 01:49   #21
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
In defense of the floppy, I would say also that having a gaming Amiga ready with 50 curated floppy games and picking out a disk to play can be faster and simpler than booting into WB and navigate to the game, at least if you have hundreds or thousands of games installed.
Not necessarily.
That's the exact reason why I have separate folder Games (with all the letters A,B,C,D...), and there I place only games that I am sure that I will (re)play.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 29 November 2019, 07:14   #22
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,575
The answer is zero. Playing games from disk/ADF sucks. Most of the issues pointed out in this thread would have been fixed by now if a mantis report had been made.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 29 November 2019, 08:18   #23
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
If they have issues, report them on here on EAB.
No, really, please report them to the whdload project's bug tracker! Emailing the slave author directly is not a good idea either.
Jope is offline  
Old 29 November 2019, 22:35   #24
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,657
> 2019-11-09 updated: Birds of Prey (Electronic Arts) removed 68020 restriction, enabled fast memory, skip introduction added (Info)

Before creating an issue or complaining here, check on whdload page just in case the problem is already solved (thanks to someone who opened a bugreport on mantis http://mantis.whdload.de/view.php?id=0004266)
jotd is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 09:53   #25
Misclegend
Banned

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmimmfn View Post
Dragon ninja Beta version in the zone has the music
where is such beta version ?
I can't found in the zone, post a link to download plz
Misclegend is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 12:03   #26
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 745
I'm with Hewitson in this case. If You found something not right in WHDLoad version, it's fault of slave version itself, not WHDLoad overall. WHDLoad have some benefits over disk versions.

- faster loading (especially compared to real floppy disks)
- no need to change and handle disks/images in multi-disk games
- can be patched in many ways (to fix or add something)
- it's on hard disk (subjective as i prefer this over floppy disks)

Patches are not only for fixing bugs (which are present in some games) but also adding additional features, e.g. multi-button support. Even mentioned Golden Axe have many improvements to floppy version (and You can always request switching off filter option, which is probably "better sound" in this case).

Quote:
Version 1.5 (29.04.15) by Psygore:
- Supports Arcade SEGA Hits version (thanks to Sal)
- Better CD³² buttons read routine
- Install script updated

Version 1.4 (30.04.10) by Psygore:
- Supports 2nd button of some pads (ie. Megadrive)

Version 1.3 (12.03.06) by Psygore:
- Slave updated for whdload v14+
- RawDIC imager used
- New icons (Chris Vella/CFou!/BoxIcon) & intall script
- Stack moved in fastmem
- Snoopbug removed
- Joypad buttons for 2 players supported
- Wait in title/credits picture inserted
- Music replay fixed in ntsc
- Unlimited lives activated with CUSTOM1=1 (Mr.Larmer's source slave)
- Manual included

Version 1.0-1.2 (09.05.98) by Mr.Larmer:
- Disk protection removed
- Blitwait inserted


BoxIcon has been made from boxscans (http://hol.abime.net/2759)


Key controls & CD³² buttons during the game:
P (PLAY) Pause
M (GREEN) Music On/Off
F10 while Paused (GREEN) Abort
LEFT ALT (BLUE/2nd button) Player 1 Magic
RIGHT ALT (BLUE/2nd button) Player 2 Magic
'*' (PLAY+REVERSE+FORWARD) Quit Game
As You can see there are some features which are not in floppy version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Loads way too fast so you miss cool tunes etc.
Missing title screens / other parts; off the top of my head, "Pinball Prelude (Disk 1 - Past)" / "Pinball Prelude (Disk 2 - Present)" / "Pinball Prelude (Disk 3 - Future)".
That's good example to use BUTTONWAIT, You can always request this feature in such cases. In this way it's even better - you can wait to see and hear this parts or just press the button to instant go on.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 12:19   #27
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,657
whdload brings this besides loading from HD, when the slave was complete enough to support those:

no disk swap, trainers & levelskip, fixed sound & gfx glitches, options to skip long intros, 2nd button as jump / smartbomb / whatever, CD32 joypad controls for extra functions (pause, quit)

Imagine having to configure each game set of controls (pause, quit, space, F1...) for a keyboardless emulated system like those on Rasperry. Plus the various CPU/speed options. This would be a nightmare.

also no cracktros (those are cool, but seen separately is good too), no blinking decrunch screens... for those who hate them.
jotd is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 13:20   #28
john4p
Local Moderator
john4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,452
For the Turrican trilogy, Lotus 2, Paradroid 90 and a few others I like hearing the drive sounds together with the loader music between levels. The WinUAE drive sound emulation type "LOUD" sounds very close to what my actual A500 floppy drive sounded in the 90s:



Of course WHDLoad is superior in general. No disk swapping in Beast games, 2nd firebutton for Battle Squadron, usually the most bug-free version of every game.
john4p is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 13:26   #29
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
That's good example to use BUTTONWAIT, You can always request this feature in such cases. In this way it's even better - you can wait to see and hear this parts or just press the button to instant go on.
It's not about "Buttonwait" in the Pinball Prelude series; the title screens are missing completely last time I checked.
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 18:19   #30
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
It's not about "Buttonwait" in the Pinball Prelude series; the title screens are missing completely last time I checked.
Please read this once again. I never said it's not working, i said You could request this to add. And probably BUTTONWAIT switch will be used in this case.

Quote:
That's good example to use BUTTONWAIT, You can always request this feature in such cases.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 20:44   #31
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
> 2019-11-09 updated: Birds of Prey (Electronic Arts) removed 68020 restriction, enabled fast memory,
Wow, thanks man.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
skip introduction added
Now, this is a crime!
This intro is so awesome, you should force everyone to watch it (everytime it starts a game).
Huh... I want so much to remake that intro in some more modern render... but never enough time...
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 13:43   #32
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
Please read this once again. I never said it's not working, i said You could request this to add. And probably BUTTONWAIT switch will be used in this case.
I don't really care for a fixed WHDLoad version of these Pinball Prelude games with title screens.

It was just an example; of how ATM the floppy disk version is better to use. As per thread subject...
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 15:45   #33
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 745
You can always use standard installation on HD (game have this feature), so it's not really only floppy disk version feature. But weird is why it was removed from WHDLoad version.

[ Show youtube player ]

NB: Nothing special is missing, just Effigy logo...
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 17:05   #34
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo Kazuki View Post
You can always use standard installation on HD (game have this feature)
That's what I usually do; then there are no crazy RAM requirements which some games require when using WHDLoad versions

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Interesting Statistics - Base Install & Update Packs #1 - 31:

Code:
17.80GB    WinRAR'd 
32.10GB    Extracted 
  14,703    Files 
   2,929    Directories 
      53    AmigaCD games
      16    Arcadia ROMs
      11    CD32 games
       7    CDTV games
   2,694    Disk-based games 
     182    HDFs (patches / trainers applied when applicable) 
         105   HDFs [native installs] 
          53   HDFs [AmigaCD] 
           6   HDFs [ShapeShifter / MAC] 
         18   HDFs [WHDLoad] 
    430+    Cheats / hints / level codes / manuals / maps / walkthroughs etc. 
   2,910    Title / screenshots (manually taken by me)
Out of 182 x .HDFs in my collection, only 18 are using WHDLoad and the rest are "native" installs.
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 19:38   #35
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneckburger View Post
The Settlers. - Level codes don't input (keyboard doesn't input the code)

Theme Park AGA - Grinds to a halt after 5 minutes.
That one well know yet run fine from floppy

For The Settlers

Update Your WHDLoad Slave File
Also when it comes to saving you must quit the game for it to be written to disk. If it crashes and you dont F10 you lost your save cant remember where i read it but it works
512k is offline  
Old 02 December 2019, 07:49   #36
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
That's what I usually do; then there are no crazy RAM requirements which some games require when using WHDLoad versions
Under emulation? Really?
For me it's cramped problem,You can add even more memory than it's possible on real hardware.

Not mention that You miss some nice features of WHDLoad versions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
2,694 Disk-based games
And that's sucks for me horrible...

For UAE i have normal HD structure with Workbench and i'm using emulator like real hardware (no HDFs and little disk images are used). For me it's only count HD installed games or WHDLoad ones.

But i'm not that WHDLoad maniac like those who use WHDLoad generic installs, and i prefer normal installer (if availabel) than WHDLoad one. But i suppose You are "image maniac" so we have different points of view.

Last edited by Solo Kazuki; 02 December 2019 at 07:59.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 02 December 2019, 11:44   #37
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Personally I stick to ADFs + "native" installs and only use WHDLoad if major bug fixes have occurred which are not in the disk / native versions... but I have that luxury as I only emulate these days, so can switch to any Amiga model / configuration very easily.
That indeed is a luxury.. I have various physical machines and I have to say that the "better" your Amiga, the fewer native HD installs will actually run on it. Especially adding an 060 really breaks a lot of compatibility. Even if you try to run an AGA fixed version of an ancient game, chances are it is only fixed to run on a stock A1200 with no fast RAM. :-(

So you sort of said it yourself there, stick to WinUAE only = unlimited compatibility. Those of us who enjoy dusting off and switching on the old girl on Sundays really do need and appreciate WHDLoad.
Jope is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 07:48   #38
avukatka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 16
I always prefer WHDload. I believe WHDLoad is always better...
avukatka is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 10:49   #39
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,738
you can imagine, I have a preference for whdload.

But in rare cases at the moment, nothing beats the original version.

For example for some rare good conversions for CD32.
In this case whdload does not support CDDA tracks, so no music ...

example:
Flink better on winuae booting on ISO

but for real disk game not double, i prefer whdload!! for me Adf is nighmare (you must found good configuriiton to launch game...) with whdload only an generic configuration needed to launch all games

Last edited by CFOU!; 19 December 2019 at 10:55.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 19 December 2019, 14:13   #40
zodiac
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 48
There are no cracktros with WHDload, which is part of the nostalgia for me at least. Now that Damien released his collection, that’s all I use. And I have both an A1200 and A500 sitting right next to my PC.
zodiac is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad and ADF couterparts amiga_Forever support.Games 4 15 February 2017 12:26
WHDload and ADF PaulG support.Hardware 11 05 April 2016 05:05
Convert whdload to adf or floppy locksmith project.WHDLoad 3 16 November 2015 21:53
adf to whdload? empardopo support.Other 22 26 December 2013 23:15
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 06:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10576 seconds with 15 queries