English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 July 2019, 23:28   #1
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Chuck Rock CD32 black screen

As title says

The iso was from a redump set any fix?

Solved

Game boots if i put cd32 into ntsc early boot menu wise

Last edited by 512k; 24 July 2019 at 01:31.
512k is offline  
Old 23 July 2019, 23:54   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,880
Not much to go on...

Quickstart settings used or your own configuration file based on this?

Where are the log files attached to your post that capture the issue for Toni / others to look at?
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 July 2019, 00:03   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,880
Just downloaded / tested Chuck Rock (1994)(Core)[!].zip using a CD32 Quickstart.

Watched the intro, started and played through part of the first level; no issues.
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 July 2019, 00:38   #4
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Not much to go on...

Quickstart settings used or your own configuration file based on this?

Where are the log files attached to your post that capture the issue for Toni / others to look at?
For some odd reason i got a laugh with this

Sorry but it as title a normal cd32 console chuck rock redump set thanx for the other link away to test
512k is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 00:41   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by 512k View Post
For some odd reason i got a laugh with this

Sorry but it as title a normal cd32 console chuck rock redump set thanx for the other link away to test
...not sure why you "got a laugh"?

Again, you didn't provide much information so how could you possibly expect help?

This is pretty vague for an opening statement:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 512k View Post
As title says

The iso was from a redump set any fix?
So, are you saying that you burnt the "Chuck Rock" redump files and tried it on your "real" CD32 console but it didn't work?
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 July 2019, 01:12   #6
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...not sure why you "got a laugh"?

Again, you didn't provide much information so how could you possibly expect help?

This is pretty vague for an opening statement:

So, are you saying that you burnt the "Chuck Rock" redump files and tried it on your "real" CD32 console but it didn't work?
Yes same with link to the game u posted

Also i got a laugh for the reason you jump on the emulation - winuae apporch when i never say anything about it sorry but not much you can do except burn a game and run it cd32 wise

My cd32 is bog standard but if i had any extra hardware I would of said
512k is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 01:31   #7
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Solved

Game boots if i put cd32 into ntsc early boot menu wise
512k is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 06:35   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,574
I'd be looking for a PAL version of the game in that case.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 09:36   #9
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
I'd be looking for a PAL version of the game in that case.
Agree by the look of things both the tosec and redump one are ntsc
512k is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 10:10   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,653
TOSEC Chuck Rock CD32 works fine in PAL CD32. I tested few moments ago.

It would have been very strange if very common game like Chuck Rock suddenly becomes NTSC-only without no one asking about it previously.

EDIT: This game uses RNC loader which may be more sensitive to unreliable CD/laser than KS ROM loader.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 July 2019, 11:19   #11
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
TOSEC Chuck Rock CD32 works fine in PAL CD32. I tested few moments ago.

It would have been very strange if very common game like Chuck Rock suddenly becomes NTSC-only without no one asking about it previously.

EDIT: This game uses RNC loader which may be more sensitive to unreliable CD/laser than KS ROM loader.
Cheers toni appreciate it since am still going through the redump set i going to put the issue on the back burner for a bit

Any others games u know of that use rnc loader? give me something to check
512k is offline  
Old 24 July 2019, 11:34   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,653
At least following games use RNC loader but there are probably few more.

- Lotus Trilogy
- Skeleton Krew
- Universe
- Premiere
- Dragonstone
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 July 2019, 11:16   #13
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,574
I guess his loader works about as well as his protections did! In other words, not very well at all.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 25 July 2019, 20:21   #14
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,648
more games using RNC loader (and subject to infamous "grinding bug" that Toni fixed for CD32load):

- Myth
- Chuck Rock 2
- James Pond 3
jotd is offline  
Old 26 July 2019, 14:03   #15
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Thumbs up

Thanx guys out of the games mentioned

Lotus Trilogy
Dragonstone

Both work fine get as far as the end of L redump set wise before running out of disks

@jotd

All games you mention work fine the only other game I came across with the same issue was the vikings or the lost vikings

Get a nice bit of information in this thread to keep a hold off so thanx again people
512k is offline  
Old 27 July 2019, 00:14   #16
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,648
Lost Vikings doesn't use RN loader, but classical DOS (like the non-CD32 version)

I remember that I had black screens on boot when the lens of my CD32 was failing. The boot start but locks up because of a silent CD error.
jotd is offline  
Old 13 August 2019, 23:22   #17
512k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Creatures Land
Posts: 116
Just a little update since i can marked this as solved

Change of cd medium seem to of done the trick maxwell cdr didnt work for the games mention but Verbatim did
512k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Request] Chuck Rock 2 blindfold project.Sprites 73 20 April 2018 01:45
Chuck Rock 1 + 2 not running 1988 support.Games 4 30 May 2015 23:48
Chuck Rock CD32 retrogamer Games images which need to be WHDified 10 25 January 2014 23:20
Chuck Rock CD32 & 200 Games Compilation Fingerlickin_B support.Games 0 07 July 2007 14:10
Ripping-chuck Rock gifgit project.Sprites 35 11 April 2005 10:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08393 seconds with 15 queries