English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 June 2003, 16:46   #1
Tim Janssen
Junior Member

Tim Janssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Den Bosch / The Netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 1,271
Roll eyes (sarcastic) Loading times

I know this thread is a contender for the Hall Of Fame of Stupidest Topics but here it goes:
Back in my original Amiga days some games took ages to load that I thought they were corrupt, so I erased the discs. This brings me to a question:
Which game does take the longest loading-time on an original Amiga? With the loading time I refer to the total loading- and decrunch time until you see the titlescreen of a game.

Here are some contenders I still remember:
Last Ninja III: I ran this game often when my Miggy still had 512Kb of memory. It took ages to load and the final game looked like a C64 game but in a higher resolution;
Wizkid: Put your Wizkid discs in the drive, let the dog out, go shopping, take a cup of coffee, and return to your Amiga screen. Wizkid is loaded within a couple of minutes.
Theme Park ECS: This is the game I accidentaly erased. I was waiting over thirty minutes and the game was still loading! Never played the actual game on my Amiga.

Do you remember any game that takes ages to load?
Tim Janssen is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 16:49   #2
Konrad
Registered User
Konrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 667
Walker. It takes ages to load title screen and menu and then again ages to load the actual game . Luckily I got the WHDLoad version .
Konrad is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 17:25   #3
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 45
Posts: 5,268
i agree with wizkid, walker and theme park. i can't think anything else in the same class as those.
but then: darkmere was a pain in the ass and civilization (the aga version not patched was even worse) with the intro sequence that was real timed with the facts that showed up!
Marcuz is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 17:28   #4
7-Zark-7
Zone Friend
7-Zark-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brisbane/Australia
Posts: 1,250
Haven't played it personally, but I seem to recall one of the Wonderboy games,that was once reviewed in Zzap! was panned for its loading times,they reckoned the C64 disk version was faster!
On a personal level, sierra's adventuere games were always general swapping & loading nightmares.
7-Zark-7 is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 17:56   #5
Tim Janssen
Junior Member

Tim Janssen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Den Bosch / The Netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 1,271
Eek Yes, I remember them...

Walker: How could I forget this title! What made the loading frustrating was this status text in vector-form which constantly rotated. Yes, it took a very long while to load.

Darkmere's loading between flickscreens has kept many players away finishing the game. I still have this game on disc - only for the beautiful titlemusic.

Wonderboy in Monsterland: I remember the review (April 1990 to be precise) in which Phil King complains about the loading times. I first played this game in WinUAE with its turbo loading-system. No complaints at all.
Tim Janssen is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 18:04   #6
fiath
Moderator
fiath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: South East / UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,930
Loading times are back!

We aim to give you as long (accurate) loading times as possible.

C.A.P.S.
CAmPain for game loader rightS !


Sorry, I am in a silly mood right now...
fiath is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 18:05   #7
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 56
Posts: 584
Seem to remember that "Panza, Kickboxing" was bloody slow to load, on the mate's A500+, but as we where pished and stoned whenever we played it, it could be just a figment of my senile brain...

Ah, those where the days. Playing for forfits Winner gets the choice of a bong or a shot glass, loser has to do the one the winner didn't want. Tactical partying, you know it makes sense!
Syko is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 21:56   #8
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 45
Posts: 5,268
Quote:
We aim to give you as long (accurate) loading times as possible.
@fiath
Marcuz is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 23:06   #9
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 42
Posts: 1,727
Mortal Kombat on A1200.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 23:06   #10
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 946
(Shameless attempt at getting more website hits...)

I've added the world's first Flash-based Amiga loading simulator (TM) to my IK+ port:

http://ant.digitaldonkey.com/ik/ik.php
ant512 is offline  
Old 27 June 2003, 23:45   #11
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 42
Posts: 1,727
Nice one
haynor666 is offline  
Old 28 June 2003, 04:25   #12
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,478
Titus the fucking Fox! That was shit.

And I do remember Darkmere taking ages every time you entered a fricking door, but I do not remember Theme Park ECS taking so long to load!
Akira is offline  
Old 28 June 2003, 05:04   #13
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 49
Posts: 1,838
Darkmere: if you have some ram, it does not take much time...
My number one annoying loader is Walker so far.
IFW is offline  
Old 28 June 2003, 06:27   #14
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 42
Posts: 1,727
With 2Mb RAM Darkmere loads one level almost 10 min but during playing doesn't load data anymore.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 28 June 2003, 07:55   #15
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 280
I agree with the games above (especially Walker) but i'd also like to add Zool to the list. It seems as though the levels are split into single blocks which are scattered all over the disk.

Can some of these load times be put down to using the cracked versions? I find it hard to believe they could program the loaders that badly and think its down to converting some games to AmigaDOS format for copying.
gary is offline  
Old 28 June 2003, 08:02   #16
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 49
Posts: 1,838
Many of the loading times/strange disk swaps are due to bad cracks, or that cracks had to use a smaller track buffer loading block by block, while the original loaded a whole track, game putting more data on track than what is possible with ados format etc.
However Walker loading time is genuine
IFW is offline  
Old 28 June 2003, 09:39   #17
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,478
Quote:
Originally posted by IFW
Many of the loading times/strange disk swaps are due to bad cracks
Yup. Mortal Kombat cracked was ARSE...


Walker I agree too, what a snail!
Akira is offline  
Old 28 June 2003, 11:20   #18
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
This game was not one of my favourites but... Oscar was also painful.

I remember the slow grinding sound it made during loading on my A600. Also you were asked for disk 2, the drive sounded sick when ejecting the disk. And you had to type in a word from the manual to continue.
Paul is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 06:33   #19
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 29
Posts: 4,662
I missed the whole Walker thing, fortunately, since the BBS I grabbed it from had a HD version, so I was in 2-player heaven.

The two worst for me were Civilization (never played the game because I refused to sit through that rubbish PC intro) and Titus the Fox, which puts you through the long load times constantly through the game.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 29 June 2003, 10:16   #20
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 43
Posts: 5,932
The intro for Civilization is played while the game generates the world - that's why it seems to take so long.

On an accelerated Amiga, the world is generated very quickly and then you can skip the intro.
CodyJarrett is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga going with the times amiga_Forever Amiga scene 7 08 October 2012 10:08
ABANDONED TIMES (Issue #2) is out Zandig Retrogaming General Discussion 0 02 October 2011 18:12
Stardust loading times? Cooljerk support.Games 3 16 September 2011 15:04
Loading times.. Soul_scientist New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 16 December 2005 15:41
Polls with start times Jim project.EAB 1 09 January 2005 15:40

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09997 seconds with 13 queries