English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 January 2021, 11:53   #1
Menthos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: BureƄ
Posts: 2
Intuition and P96 double buffering trouble

I have trouble getting double buffering to work with P96.

I am using the source from amigaos wiki as base (https://wiki.amigaos.net/wiki/Intuition_Screens#doublebuffer.c) with striped out the screen for the controllers. I have changed the OpenScreenTags to p96OpenScreenTags. The problem is that AllocScreenBuffer fails when I try to allocate them for the double buffering.

Is there any example code to show how double buffering is supposed to be handled in P96 or what could be wrong when the AllocScreenBuffer fails?
Menthos is offline  
Old 12 January 2021, 18:21   #2
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menthos View Post
Is there any example code to show how double buffering is supposed to be handled in P96 or what could be wrong when the AllocScreenBuffer fails?

OpenScreenTags() is fine, you don't need much else. I'm attaching the P96 internal test program for you, this should do it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip DoubleBuffer.zip (4.8 KB, 14 views)
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 13 January 2021, 17:57   #3
Menthos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: BureƄ
Posts: 2
Thanks for the example.

I have some trouble with the mouse pointer on the zz9000 in low res (320x256) where the mouse pointer is rendered at the wrong position and flickering when running animation. That might be the ZZ9000 that misbehaves and I will update the firmware to the latest before asking for more help about that.
Menthos is offline  
Old 13 January 2021, 19:54   #4
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 840
Note that the ZZ9000 driver is maintained by Lucas, not by me, so in case of trouble, please contact him. Sprite sizing requires proper annotation through some of the flags provided for the library. It's really up to the chip what happens if the source is double-clocked, or lines are doubled, or interlace is on.
Thomas Richter is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMOS - Double Buffering ricky500 Coders. AMOS 6 01 January 2018 14:48
Double Buffering MartinW Coders. C/C++ 8 11 October 2017 01:20
Latency tests - No difference between "No buffering" and "Double buffering" Dr.Venom support.WinUAE 6 24 September 2017 11:18
flawless double buffering dalton Coders. General 2 17 May 2011 08:09
AGA double buffering using ChangeScreenBuffer() NovaCoder Coders. General 1 03 November 2010 01:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09075 seconds with 15 queries