English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hall Of Light > HOL data problems

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2007, 23:30   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Arrow Bard's Tale II

Now this is interesting:

http://hol.abime.net/39/boxscan

and also with the first part:

http://hol.abime.net/38/boxscan

How come there are two completely different box designs for the English EA release of the game?
US version / EU version?

Unfortunately there is hardly any indication of the publishing range on the boxes - can you guys help out?
andreas is offline  
Old 03 February 2007, 15:15   #2
Tweeky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
US version / EU version?
that or they made a new design after they sold x00,000 boxes
example according to a ebay action:
the first kings quest boxes been grey (dunno if its allowed to post a ebay link here?), the next brown http://hol.abime.net/2586/boxscan
Tweeky is offline  
Old 03 February 2007, 19:40   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,376
Living here in the states I can recall only ever seeing the Silver Retail boxed versions on the store shelves.

I didn't really start noticing box changes until one of my favorite C64/Amiga retailers started to import a lot of titles from overseas
jmmijo is offline  
Old 03 February 2007, 22:57   #4
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Living here in the states I can recall only ever seeing the Silver Retail boxed versions on the store shelves.
Of what? Bard's Tale II or KQ? Sorry, it's ambiguous to me atm...
andreas is offline  
Old 04 February 2007, 19:03   #5
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
Of what? Bard's Tale II or KQ? Sorry, it's ambiguous to me atm...
All three releases in the Bards Tale Series, as published by EA and developed by Interplay.

This goes for all the systems at the time they were released for, I seem to recall both the C64 and Amiga versions having exactly the same box, the only difference was the system sticker denoting which machine it was for.

Also, the other 8-bit machines had exactly the same box too, this goes for both the Apple ][ series and the Atari 8-bit series.

I did however notice some of the Yellow boxed art versions coming over to the states with many of the EA titles later on, around 1990 or so when importing of titles became more popular here in the states.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 06 February 2007, 22:02   #6
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
Now this is interesting:

http://hol.abime.net/39/boxscan
First pair of boxscans is the UK release (jewel case). The 2nd one is the German release (jewel case- same as UK release except for localisation). The 3rd pair is the US release (record album style by EA). Few early EA games for the Amiga were released in Europe with the record album packaging because EA didn't publish/distribute their own games there initially. The ones that did were published/distributed under license by Ariolasoft and this was usually indicated on the back cover (e.g. see Marble Madness). When EA decided to publish/distribute their own games in Europe (late 80s/early 90s), they must have thought that the record album packaging didn't appeal to the European market and opted for jewel cases instead.
DrBong is offline  
Old 07 February 2007, 17:53   #7
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
So the third *IS* the US version?

Thanks DrBong, will adapt captions accordingly.

Late thanks must go to Tweeky for submitting the German box. (hence the scan update )
andreas is offline  
Old 13 May 2013, 09:21   #8
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,302
In the 'miscshot' section of Bards Tale II the image at the bottom left is for Bards Tale III (German). See here.
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 13 May 2013, 10:06   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Thanks Musashi Moved from II to III now.
TCD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Matt Chat 71: The Bard's Tale gilgamesh Retrogaming General Discussion 8 31 August 2010 16:19
Bard's Tale II - The Destiny Knight NewDeli Games images which need to be WHDified 8 11 July 2008 06:19
please help with bard's tale alucard007 support.Games 2 04 February 2008 01:57
Bard's Tale I Character Editor swordotwilight support.Games 5 03 November 2005 17:28
New Bard's Tale Dalai Retrogaming General Discussion 4 02 October 2003 09:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08340 seconds with 15 queries