English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Home Projects > project.EAB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2011, 14:23   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Posting large images

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Cheers LuMan for updating the pictures I should make this one sticky and link to it whenever people post too big pictures (I'm looking at you Steve ).
Or you could post a tutorial on the code needed for Thumbnails
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 14:59   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
For imgur
1.) Go to http://imgur.com
2.) Click on 'Computer' and select your picture
3.) Click on 'Start Upload'
4.) Click on 'More sizes' in the upper right and select 'Large thumbnail'
5.) Copy the link in 'Linked Image for Message Boards'



6.) [as the viewer] Click on the thumbnail and afterwards on 'Image Options -> View Full Image'

For ImageShack.us
After you uploaded your picture, you get a 'Forum Thumbnail' link :

TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 15:16   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Yeah but this is worse, it directs you to another site with popus and adverts.

Amibay have an auto resize option with a click to view large image, can't we have that here on EAB?

(Sorry LuMan for taking this OT - @TCD, Maybe these should be split into a seperate discussion in the site feedback section?)

Thanks for that TCD, and thanks for posting the steps above - its appreciated.

I'll check with Photobucket who I host with and see what options they have.

However I'll never link like this where you get redirected, hence why I leave 800x600 or 1024x768 pics, ok the latter are a little large but not outside ones normal browser size.

I was hoping there would be a forum code I could use that puts the larger imagine into a thumbnail or an extended code that has small image as thumbnail but opens the bigger image (just the image no other site) upon click.

Perhaps these options are not in this build of vBulletin?

Steve.

Last edited by TCD; 15 March 2011 at 15:25. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged. Use the edit function.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 15:25   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
If you get popups on those two pages you're using a) the wrong browser or b) the wrong plugins. I could ask RCK when I meet him on IRC about such a feature for EAB, but to be honest he doesn't have time for anything abime related recently, so it'll much likely stay as it is. If you have to upload 10+ over 1000x1000 pixel large pictures, so should consider using thumbnails, as it makes a thread much more readable and less tedious (have a look at s2325's PD Games thread for example. He changed it on his own and I think it's a rather smart move).
TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 15:40   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I can't control the browser I use at work, they have IE6 - yeah I know its aweful but when I get directed to these sites it sends the machine into a complete fit.

I've just been searching and can't find any code thats useful, but I'll keep looking...

I'll also check out s2325's PD Games thread and see what he has done in case thats the answer.

Thing is all my project pictures are in one place and they work fine for Amibay, I like to share them here too but it would be a lot of extra work to double host them all elsewhere.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 15:47   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I'll check with Photobucket who I host with and see what options they have.
http://www.crochetville.org/forum/showthread.php?t=262
TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 15:52   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
All I can see in my Photobucket (along with the normal IMG tags/links) is HTML option, does EAB support HTML in forum posts?



Done it!!!

I think

Ok - this is how its done, you post the thumbnail as an image and than you wrap a link around the picture linking to the full size image

Code looks like this:


Last edited by fitzsteve; 15 March 2011 at 16:07. Reason: Fixed & Code added :-)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 16:02   #8
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Nope (you can see that in the lower left)

Quote:
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
If have some spare minutes, I'll create a PhotoBucket account and have a look.
TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 16:09   #9
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Edited my post above, solution found

Maybe when I find a spare 10 hours I'll update all my threads

Of course, easy to do for my future threads.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 16:18   #10
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
See, everything is possible if you really want to
TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 16:25   #11
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
See, everything is possible if you really want to
Indeed it is! Thanks for the bump I needed to get going, I didn't mean to sound like I was throwing a tantrum

ps. one post done:

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=736202&postcount=1

1,364,812 to go
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 16:28   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,140
I do something similar using http://imageshack.us/

To avoid their compulsory adverts you have to use a combination of "forum thumbnail" & "direct image".

Not sure if this is available anonymously anymore?

alexh is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 16:36   #13
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I've done that whole A600 thread, I must admit it is a lot cleaner now and easier to read.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 15 March 2011 at 16:43. Reason: edit - misunderstood what Alaxh had done
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 16:40   #14
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
@alexh
ImageShack made some changes, but it seems you can at least still get the thumbnail & link combo quite easily and anonymously (just delete the last 'uploaded with' blah line).
TCD is offline  
Old 15 March 2011, 16:42   #15
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
Yes, I hate that last line (and heavy flash adverts, sometimes duplicated).
s2325 is offline  
Old 21 March 2011, 19:29   #16
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 541
I'm glad that there's a quick and dirty by TCD to show us how to add thumbnails. I may very well end up using it

However, I do keep my pictures in my own webspace and link to them there. So long as the images are no bigger than 800x600 is this OK? Obviously if folk scream for a higher res image they can be provided, but what's the accepted norm? I suppose, ideally, it'd be a reasonable thumbnail that gives enough of an idea of the main pic, linked to the full-size image hosted elsewhere. How about if we use half of Fitzsteve's idea with the accepted link protocol; that is to say:

We can insert a link using the link icon on the Advanced Post option
We can also insert an image in the same way
So, can we not make the link an image, instead of text, or is this contravening the AUP (ie HTML is off)?

If this was possible, I could host my thumbnails and full-sized pics on my webspace and my EAB posts would only ever have my smaller images.

Hopefully I've explained this correctly....
LuMan is offline  
Old 21 March 2011, 19:36   #17
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Just use
[url=http://www.yourdomain.whatever/pictures/yourpicture.jpg][img]http://www.yourdomain.whatever/thumbnails/yourthumbnail.jpg[/img][/url]
(you should get the idea). No need for HTML.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 March 2011, 19:41   #18
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,347
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
In an ideal world I would do slightly larger thumbnails myself, 640x480 would be nice then you could enjoy all the images without clicking through each one

I'm bound by the thumbnail size on Photo Bucket for now

I might get my own hosting up at some point, but there will be a hell of a lot of work to do changing all my links.

The Fitzsteve's Journey thread took me about 3-4 hours
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 22 March 2011, 17:12   #19
LuMan
Amigan - an loving it!!
LuMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 541
@TCD - Yes, that's pretty much exactly what I was thinking

Now, as Fitzsteve mentioned, if we made the 'thumbnails' 640x480 we could have nice-size pics to skim through on the thread and glorious, full-sized images available via a simple click of the mouse. I'm more than happy to keep 640x480 and full-sized images on my webspace for this very reason.

Is that acceptable within the usage terms of EAB (obviously I don't want to do anything that may be frowned upon ).
LuMan is offline  
Old 22 March 2011, 17:23   #20
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Don't suppose the forum software has any way of letting a user define how large a thumbnail is?
killergorilla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMR Thumbnails not providing large images Jumpyspider AMR suggestions and feedback 7 05 January 2013 01:15
first posting, later joining?? mai project.EAB 10 12 December 2008 19:03
Whom am i posting what to? Zetr0 MarketPlace 30 24 June 2008 23:24
No html posting??? Thorham project.EAB 14 18 February 2008 02:21
I`ll be posting all my stuff here!! stainy Amiga scene 6 11 March 2002 02:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09076 seconds with 13 queries