English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 May 2003, 18:37   #1
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
Best Monitor for Amiga?

I wasn't sure where to put this thread! If I got it wrong then feel free to move it and accept my humble apologies please

Okay so I've been using a crappy little TV as my Amigas display for a while now...But I want to upgrade to Bloodwych's amazing-looking ClassicWB ADV (up to now I have been using the FULL version) and for that I need an RGB monitor...

So what are your suggestions? Name, manufacturer, etc?

oooh, I feel another ebay buying spree coming on!
rattus is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 12:08   #2
Phiber
Hardware Freak
Phiber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to Phiber
Few questions to get things rolling..

What model is the amiga you are using? Chipset?

Just to know if you're gonna use it as is (OCS/ECS/AGA modes) or are you going to get a nice graphics card and do something serious with better resolutions on it..
Phiber is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 15:40   #3
rattus
Registered User
rattus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
I have an desktop A1200 with a Blizzard 1230-IV (16MB) accelerator card installed.

I will be using the amiga for quite a lot of WHDload games plus some graphics and other stuff.

The Commodore 1084S seems like a nice monitor... what do you think?
rattus is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 17:57   #4
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 48
Posts: 1,838
C= 1960 (or 62?)
C= 1084
Philips 8833 Mk II
C= 1802

I used to have all of these.
Basically whichever you can get in the best condition, preferably the C= 1960 (flicker free).
IFW is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 19:28   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Get a M1438S or M1538S Microvitec Monitor

They can display from 15 to 40kHz (horizontal) and 45 to 90Hz (vertical)
RetroMan is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 21:54   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
alternatively, get a Commodore 1942 (was this the multiscan one?), or an OLD Nec Multisync 3D (thsi one goes to both 15 and 30 as well)
Akira is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 23:01   #7
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 51
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I like my picture on the A1200 with NEC 3ds that I got , but it goes out of sync sometimes when turned on. The cable I got doesnt have a buffer chip I think. Probably should get a commodore silver box one.

The NEC does look better then the 1084 I have , maybe because of the .28 dot pitch). I also like the digital controls that allow stretching in all directions.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 04 May 2003, 23:48   #8
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
I agree with Retroman, get a Microvitec 1438, it lets you use the dbl modes (flicker free 720x538 on mine in dblpal), very nice monitor and if you ever get a gfx card it will work with that as well, but 108?'s or 8833's won't

Quote:
alternatively, get a Commodore 1942 (was this the multiscan one?),
Erm, technically no, it was sold as a multiscan but was actually a tri-scan, and was a bit flakey with some gfx cards or settings because it didn't do a full range, just the 3 most used 'areas', so if you were a screenmode 'tweaker' the 1942 failed on settings the 1438 was quite happy with...

Of course if you want real quality, get a gfx card and an LCD monitor (I use a CTX-PV505 15.1"), very, very sharp, clear picture in 1024x768, actual physical screen size is only .25" less that the 17" CRT I replaced. I will never go back to a CRT monitor
Severin is offline  
Old 05 May 2003, 09:13   #9
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 980
Buy yourself a scandoubler and flicker fixer and an ordinary SVGA monitor. Better than any Amiga specific monitor + you get resolutions up to 1280*512 flicker free....
manicx is offline  
Old 05 May 2003, 09:26   #10
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 51
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Are there driver disks needed to use non-amiga monitors on an amiga?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 05 May 2003, 12:07   #11
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 980
No. Just normal Pal or NTSC monitor driver (already in your WB Storage floppy). Scandoubler/FF will make the monitor behave like an ordinary Video monitor. With the help of a switcher you can use the same monitor that you may have for your PC with the Amiga so you only buy the SD/FF!!!
manicx is offline  
Old 05 May 2003, 15:07   #12
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
If you want to use the Classic WB Advanced you will ideally need a monitor capable of square pixel resolutions at approx 30Khz (eg productivity, dblPAL/NTSC) but can also sync back down to 15Khz (PAL/NTSC) for games.

I have a Microvetec 1438 and it works a treat for the Classic WB Adv - that's why I made that version in the first place!

Since you have an accelerator rattus you might want to try and beef up the classic workbench with a few more eye candy add-ons from aminet once you get your display sorted out. My WB's are optimised for a 14Mhz 68020, although this beefing up also depends on how much chipRAM you're willing to sacrifice. If you use too much you can always setup a max chipram boot-sequence or use a reset utility, something which I'm sure other members can advise you on looking at there impressive WB's.

Another option is the Scan Doubler like already mentioned, especially if you find one cheaper than a multisync monitor.

Third is running interlaced on a normal 15Khz RGB monitor and using the utility MagicTV as explained in the tips and FAQ:

"For those running the advanced Classic WB in laced mode on PAL/NTSC TVsets or monitors, MagicTV is included in the C directory but not run by default. MagicTV is a utility that greatly reduces flicker in 16-colour interlaced screenmodes. The AGA chipset is also required. In order to run it, add the line "MagicTV" after setpatch in the startup-sequence."

I love quoting myself!

Don't know how good it is at reducing flicker, but it's bound to hurt if you use your WB for extended periods!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 05 May 2003 at 15:20.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 07 March 2016, 09:34   #13
delshay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 245
Is the 1438 worth anything, I have one here still working.
delshay is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 10:03   #14
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 47
Posts: 3,690
The choice for a monitor also depends on whether you need it to have internal loudspeakers or not.
Multisync such as the 1960 do not have integrated sound (iirc).
So for me the best choice always has been the 1083S, which has a better pitch than the 1084 - its only problem is the interlace.
meynaf is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 14:16   #15
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
Multisync such as C= 1940/1942 and Amiga 1438/1538 have speakers.
idrougge is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 14:35   #16
Neil79
Deactivated
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,729
1084's have speakers Going to try one tomorrow
Neil79 is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 17:00   #17
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 43
Posts: 764
I have tried all kinds of CRTs but find the BenQ BL 702A LED screen using RGB to VGA cable to be superior.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 08 March 2016, 20:57   #18
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 381
Back in the day, and even recently for the short while that I had actual hardware again, my favorite monitors were the Philipps-made 1084 and 1084S. Here in the US, I'd often gotten games that were PAL, and the Philipps-made monitors just seemed to handle being put into PAL mode more intelligently, in that they seemed to tighten up the scanlines so all of the extra information on a PAL screen would still be there like it should without any user intervention. The Daewoo-made 1084's and 1084S's did not do this, so when you put into PAL mode, the gaps between the scan lines stayed the same and the bottom inch or so of the picture would be off the screen and you would have to get to the knobs in the back to manually adjust the vertical spacing and centering each time.
brett71 is offline  
Old 09 March 2016, 12:20   #19
delshay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 245
I need to make space so the Amiga 1438 has to go.
delshay is offline  
Old 10 March 2016, 02:01   #20
Neil79
Deactivated
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: -
Posts: 2,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Third is running interlaced on a normal 15Khz RGB monitor and using the utility MagicTV as explained in the tips and FAQ:

"For those running the advanced Classic WB in laced mode on PAL/NTSC TVsets or monitors, MagicTV is included in the C directory but not run by default. MagicTV is a utility that greatly reduces flicker in 16-colour interlaced screenmodes. The AGA chipset is also required. In order to run it, add the line "MagicTV" after setpatch in the startup-sequence."

I love quoting myself!

Don't know how good it is at reducing flicker, but it's bound to hurt if you use your WB for extended periods!
Ooops forgot about this thread, here's my monitor the 1084's that arrived today... However AWFUL flickering in WB, which I'm hoping your MagicTV tip will fix it.

Last edited by Neil79; 12 February 2017 at 12:10.
Neil79 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which monitor for Amiga ? THX1138 support.Hardware 9 09 May 2008 12:28
Amiga To Monitor LazerBall support.Hardware 2 19 February 2007 18:14
Amiga to PC Monitor smith3556@tesco support.Hardware 42 06 June 2006 10:15
Schematic diagram of an Amiga 1942 or Amiga 1940 monitor Vaclav support.Hardware 0 18 May 2006 05:18
Best monitor for Amiga Pyromania Amiga scene 2 11 April 2002 13:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09270 seconds with 15 queries