English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 April 2017, 13:06   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
[AmigaCD] T-zer0 - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users)

Heya guys,

Yesterday I completed my next "[Amiga CD] --> .LHA" project; T-zer0

This should have been my first really; given that I love shoot'em ups...

Anyway, as per usual the CD-ROM is no longer required. Unfortunately the 13 x audio tracks are not included but not much I can do about that... and considering this is for real Amiga users without a CD-ROM drive anyway...

Details:

a) Did a "super" and not an "all" install.



Reason being, an "all" install gives you:

... An additional icon called "T-zer0_CUSTOM" (which is basically the same as starting the game normally but no intro and "Arcade" mode is selected so no movies).
... Adds in the "T0Editor" (but who has the time to edit / create custom levels).

b) I've also added StringRay's "t +39" trainer which runs before the game starts:



Extract to anywhere that you like. It requires roughly 252MB of space...

Grab this new file on the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/LHAs"

Regarding a .HDF, I will attempt to create a bare bones one for emulator users shortly...
DamienD is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 April 2017, 13:32   #2
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,571
Well I wasnt aware of a level editor in full install. Any good?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 30 April 2017, 13:34   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
If you're into that sort of thing then I guess yes...
DamienD is online now  
Old 30 April 2017, 13:58   #4
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,571
Can it be included in the super install?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 30 April 2017, 14:01   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Ok, ok... it will take a few hours though...

What takes time is actually .LHA'ing up 255MB of data.
DamienD is online now  
Old 30 April 2017, 14:33   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Actually it won't be possible... long story but need an assign and the Editor is really a folder and then "tool" icons within. Too much work to think about a solution, unless someone can tell me how to make a script that opens a folder?

If I do a bare bones .HDF I could do this but not in the .LHA package.

The Editor looks like this:


Last edited by DamienD; 30 April 2017 at 14:40.
DamienD is online now  
Old 30 April 2017, 18:26   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Finished!!!

For people like me that don't really care about the "T0Editor"; you will find a bare bones .HDF named "T-zer0 AmigaCD HDF.rar" on the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/HDFs"

For ransom1122 (and others) who want to play with the "T0Editor"; you will find another bare bones .HDF name "T-zer0 AmigaCD HDF [with T0Editor].rar" on the EAB File Server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/HDFs"

One thing with the above though is that the folder is a mess... I tried arranging nicely, then snapshotting but when I closed / reopened the folder it wasn't how I left it

Guess this is due to "Window" --> "Show" --> "All Files" having to be selected...

DamienD is online now  
Old 30 April 2017, 21:33   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Well that's a bit shite...

Finished the 1st level and was presented with a copy protection screen:



If entered incorrectly (you get three attempts at different screens), the following occurs:



Looked on HOL at the page T-zer0 and grabbed this from the manual:



I'm surprise StingRay's trainer doesn't address this but really it's a trainer, not a crack
DamienD is online now  
Old 01 May 2017, 12:50   #9
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,440
I bought the original version back in the day as you can see here in my video, but I no longer have a CD Drive for my A1200 to play it with the music
[ Show youtube player ]
blade002 is offline  
Old 01 May 2017, 15:07   #10
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,571
I've test your original hdf using the hol codes at end of level 1 and it works well. Hopefully one day we see a proper crack. Also shame we can't play with cd audio because level 1 has a cracking tune.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 01 May 2017, 15:29   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
I moved all the crack related posts to a new thread: T-zer0 - game still has code protection, needs a crack...
DamienD is online now  
Old 01 May 2017, 19:16   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,914
I really always wanted to play this but even the demo was a bitch to get running on my system. Will give this a try, thanks Damien!
Akira is offline  
Old 01 May 2017, 19:26   #13
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Hold off for a little Akira... just in the middle of moving house...

Once I've finished, I'll redo the .LHA & .HDF files to include StingRay's crack (StingRay's trainer is already there) so that you don't need to enter in anything at the code protection screens.

See this thread for details: T-zer0 - game still has code protection, needs a crack...
DamienD is online now  
Old 02 May 2017, 00:16   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Phew!!! Have now finally finished moving...

Updated the .LHA file and both .HDF files with StingRay's crack that means you can enter anything you like at the code protection screen

Uploading all files now to the EAB File Server under my directory in the relevant areas...

It's going to take a while though, at my old house it would take roughly 10 minutes to upload 220MB. Here at my new house (sharing with 3 others and no TV) it's going to take 4 times as long... guess everyone is streaming

Don't try to grab any of these files for at least 3 hours from now...
DamienD is online now  
Old 03 May 2017, 00:07   #15
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Also shame we can't play with cd audio because level 1 has a cracking tune.
Never fear... I've managed to get the CD-ROM working with audio tracks using the original version

This of course means that I can setup a .HDF for emulator users that includes:

a) StingRay's trainer.
b) StingRay's copy protection crack.
c) Audio tracks from the original CD-ROM.

To late to put everything together tonight, will work on this tomorrow once home from work and provide a new .HDF (which will of course require the image to be mounted also)
DamienD is online now  
Old 03 May 2017, 00:24   #16
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,571
HDF With CD Audio. Amazing good job. One of your finest releases.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 03 May 2017, 02:29   #17
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Hmmm, been doing some final testing before making the .HDF & CD-ROM packaged...

Unfortunately even though StingRay's cracked executable is on the .HDF, if the CD-ROM is mounted as well it will use the executable from the CD-ROM

So it's looking like you can only have the following:

a) StingRay's trainer.
b) Audio tracks playing from the original CD-ROM.

You will still need to enter in the correct code at the protection screen

The only way around this would be to inject StingRay's cracked executable into the original CD-ROM .ISO. Anyone know any tools to do this?
DamienD is online now  
Old 03 May 2017, 17:31   #18
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,146
How is it finding the executable? Would it be possible to patch the launcher to force it to use the hard drive version? I'm not familiar with the game so I don't know the specifics of it, but it seems to me that if it works without the CD inserted, there should be a relatively simple way of tricking it, e.g. some clever assigns or similar.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 03 May 2017, 17:39   #19
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
How is it finding the executable? Would it be possible to patch the launcher to force it to use the hard drive version? I'm not familiar with the game so I don't know the specifics of it, but it seems to me that if it works without the CD inserted, there should be a relatively simple way of tricking it, e.g. some clever assigns or similar.
Yeah this is the thing. The patched executable is on the .HDF, without the CD-ROM mounted this is what starts the game and also what has been patched to pass the code protection screen.

With the same .HDF and the CD-ROM mounted, the game is still started with the patched executable off the .HDF, after level 1 though it seems to load the executable from the CD-ROM instead when displaying the code protection screen.

Anyway, will play around tonight when home
DamienD is online now  
Old 03 May 2017, 19:46   #20
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 688
Well, on a pc it'd be trivial to extract the contents of the iso and rebuild it with a tool like isobuster or poweriso. Isobuster supports rockridge volume naming iirc.
vulture is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[AmigaCD] The Strangers - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 24 06 October 2017 01:52
[AmigaCD] The Big Red Adventure - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 40 09 August 2017 00:49
[AmigaCD] onEscapee - .HDF & .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 49 26 May 2017 02:46
[AmigaCD] Genetic Species - .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 81 03 May 2017 21:11
[AmigaCD] UropaČ: The Ulterior Colony - .LHA (for real Amiga users) DamienD Amiga scene 2 18 April 2017 17:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24513 seconds with 16 queries