English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2017, 19:02   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,957
ReportPlus: Multipurpose Utility




Report+ is a freeware ReAction-based utility with nine functions:

1. It is a friendly, enhanced replacement for the official Commodore bug
reporting tool (V40.2), optionally sending emails automatically.
2. It can generate/edit Aminet-style and OS4Depot-style readmes.
3. It can edit A3000/A4000-type battery-backed memory.
4. It can access the official manufacturer and product ID registries.
5. It can view IFF/RIFF files and their component chunks.
6. It can perform batch processing on icons.
7. It can convert between various ASCII formats.
8. It can show directory byte usage for any path, optionally also
fixing protection bits and/or deleting files.
9. It can take a snapshot of a path and later compare the
path against this, showing added, missing and changed files.


ReportPlus v7.7: Download

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 15 March 2017 at 00:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 February 2017, 00:17   #2
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,018
as i read this right now, out of interest and nostalgia:
is original commodore bug reporting tool still available somewhere?
honx is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 00:45   #3
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,752
@honx:

Yes, it is part of the 3.1 NDK, which is on the Amiga Developer CD.

@AMIGASYSTEM:

Could you please tell me about the configuration of the machine that screenshot was taken from? Especially what version of radiobutton.gadget (as the radio button gadgets that should be present are missing from the screenshot)?

BTW the correct version number for this release is 7.07.

Last edited by Minuous; 19 February 2017 at 01:22.
Minuous is online now  
Old 03 February 2017, 14:43   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
@AMIGASYSTEM:

Could you please tell me about the configuration of the machine that screenshot was taken from? Especially what version of radiobutton.gadget (as the radio button gadgets that should be present are missing from the screenshot)?
The Radio Button Gadgets 41.3/97 (you're right you're old, now i 44.1/99)

Configuration machine, it is my personal nUAE AFA OS, this:
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 03 February 2017 at 14:54.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 15:33   #5
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
@honx:

Yes, it is part of the 3.1 NDK, which is on the Amiga Developer CD.
do you mean amiga os 3.5 developer cd v2.1 (nov. 1999) from haage&partner?
actually i own this one! where should i look? i'm already in ndk/ndk_3.1 subfolder.
honx is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 16:07   #6
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,752
@AMIGASYSTEM:

The minimum requirement is OS3.9+BB1. The program uses some functionality that was not introduced until OS3.9. It will not work with V41 radiobutton.gadget, V45.4 and later are OK. (In fact it should give an error message and quit if <V45 is detected.)

@honx:

SWToolkit3

(http://amigan.1emu.net/releases/Companion.lha is a convenient front-end for that CD.)
Minuous is online now  
Old 03 February 2017, 16:32   #7
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
@honx:

SWToolkit3

(http://amigan.1emu.net/releases/Companion.lha is a convenient front-end for that CD.)
thx, found report in there. it's really plain cli based!
in companion.lha i can find a .guide and a textfile.
what exactly do i have to do? how should i use it?
honx is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 16:40   #8
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,752
>thx, found report in there. it's really plain cli based!

Yes, hence the original reason for developing Report+ 1.0 :-)

>in companion.lha i can find a .guide and a textfile.
what exactly do i have to do? how should i use it?

Just open the .guide in MultiView and click on the buttons you are interested in.
Minuous is online now  
Old 03 February 2017, 16:56   #9
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Just open the .guide in MultiView and click on the buttons you are interested in.
ah, so it's just for displaying text files, no execution of programs.
honx is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 17:58   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post

The minimum requirement is OS3.9+BB1.
Mine AFA OS includes OS 3.9+BB1+BB2 +BB3+BB4 (not Unofficial)

Quote:
It will not work with V41 radiobutton.gadget, V45.4 and later are OK.
V45.4 It is for OS4 or i'm wrong?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 05:16   #11
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,752
@AMIGASYSTEM:

>Configuration machine, it is my personal nUAE AFA OS, this:

Well, that doesn't really tell me much I'm afraid, it is just windows being opened and closed. :-/

>OS3.9+BB1+BB2 +BB3+BB4

A correctly installed OS3.9+BB1 (or later) system should have radiobutton.gadget V45.4. Were your AmigaOS components sourced from eg. Cloanto's Amiga Forever package? The crippled version of AmigaOS they provide is known to be supplied with obsolete versions of various files (see https://www.amigaforever.com/kb/15-107 ) The proper AmigaOS 3.9 from Haage & Partner is needed, Cloanto's "AmigaOS 3.X" is not the same thing.

>V45.4 It is for OS4 or i'm wrong?

V45 components correspond to OS3.9. V50 components correspond to OS4.0.

@honx:

>ah, so it's just for displaying text files, no execution of programs.

Yes, currently. Most of the programs require command line arguments anyway.
Minuous is online now  
Old 04 February 2017, 05:59   #12
Pat the Cat
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 481
As far as I know, V45 is broadly AmigaOS 3.9, and V44 is AmigaOS 3.5.

Cloanto did not license some of the V45 content, mostly because it would have been very expensive to do so. However, quite a bit of V45 content is included in the Amiga Forever V6.

I think the idea behind the 3.z ROM was to let classic Amigas boot up on and use very large drives without tearing their hair out in frustration, rather than "this is the ultimate ROM for classic Amigas".

On Topic - Report software looks very, very classy!

How about a library analyze function, to point out which libraries in use are from which release of Kickstart? That might actually tie the 2 issues together, and give Amiga users a nice tool for checking up on how they can tweak their systems to use best module parts of AmigaOS for a specific system.

Very big job, there are many variations of library and device that never came from CBM or any other operating system release. Although the ones that did are usually the issue for most people.
Pat the Cat is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 09:49   #13
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat the Cat View Post
Cloanto did not license some of the V45 content, mostly because it would have been very expensive to do so. However, quite a bit of V45 content is included in the Amiga Forever V6.
They licensed OS3.9 from H&P, then basically decided H&P were all pirates, based on some controversy re. whether including Genesis required a separate agreement with the AmiTCP programmers. The mention of "ongoing litigation" at Cloanto's site is pure fiction as there has never been any litigation against H&P regarding OS3.9 (or any other matter AFAICT).

Quite why that meant they had to replace OS3.9 ReAction components with OS3.5 equivalents is unknown. At no time has there ever been any suggestion that ClassAct aka ReAction was not properly licenced; if Cloanto really thought so they would presumably have removed all ReAction components. Upgrades of ReAction components for OS3.5/OS3.9 were done in-house by H&P's developers under licence from Amiga Inc.

Quote:
the 3.z ROM
That ROM is another load of bugs (eg. broken floppy drive support), but it's not really related to this discussion of ReAction components...

Quote:
On Topic - Report software looks very, very classy!
Thanks, of course I must point out Mason drew those graphics, not me ;-)

Quote:
How about a library analyze function, to point out which libraries in use are from which release of Kickstart?
Scout, etc. will say what versions of components are in use. And better if the program for that does not itself have high-ish system requirements like Report+ does.
Minuous is online now  
Old 04 February 2017, 10:35   #14
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
A correctly installed OS3.9+BB1 (or later) system should have radiobutton.gadget V45.4.
In CD OS 3.9 is not present "radiobutton.gadget V45.4", there are versions radiobutton.gadget V44.1, BB1 and BB2 do not include gadgets, see screenshot.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 15 March 2017 at 00:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 12:49   #15
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,752
OS3.9 has V44.1 of radiobutton.gadget, BB1 upgrades it to V45.4.

>BB1 and BB2 do not include gadgets

That is not correct. See, for example, http://www.dietmar-knoll.de/Computer/BoingBag2.html
Minuous is online now  
Old 04 February 2017, 17:07   #16
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,957
Ok jokes of the old (i have 63 years), the gadgets were not visible, they were stored in BoingBag2 in the file "AmigaOS-Update" (file ZIP with password"), to recover file simulated new installation

Sorry for the hassle, it can still be useful to someone (i updated the screenshot in the news)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 February 2017 at 18:52.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 20:50   #17
Pat the Cat
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
They licensed OS3.9 from H&P, then basically decided H&P were all pirates, based on some controversy re. whether including Genesis required a separate agreement with the AmiTCP programmers. The mention of "ongoing litigation" at Cloanto's site is pure fiction as there has never been any litigation against H&P regarding OS3.9 (or any other matter AFAICT).

Quite why that meant they had to replace OS3.9 ReAction components with OS3.5 equivalents is unknown. At no time has there ever been any suggestion that ClassAct aka ReAction was not properly licenced; if Cloanto really thought so they would presumably have removed all ReAction components. Upgrades of ReAction components for OS3.5/OS3.9 were done in-house by H&P's developers under licence from Amiga Inc.
Sorry for bringing it up. My understanding is, the "missing" bits current Cloanto Workbench are nothing to do with GUI, they are essentially unlicensed use of codecs. Without paying a license fee, Cloanto could not include them. If so, they would have had to charge maybe four times or more for each copy. If HP sold 3.9 still, it would not be an issue, as the missing elements would be centrally located for access by end users.

On Topic, a module checker that was "intelligent", in the sense of being aware of which modules in an Amiga system, would be very welcome to the Report system. It would help end users tweak, without having to do mountains of research on the internet... but like I say, it is a major feature upgrade, it is NOT a really easy thing to include.

Intelligent data scanners are not trivial things to code, and the actual data set (all types of Amiga system module EVER) are not small in either size or complexity. My point is, such a feature would make Report a "killer app". It's halfway killer app already.
Pat the Cat is offline  
Old 04 February 2017, 22:32   #18
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
At no time has there ever been any suggestion that ClassAct aka ReAction was not properly licenced;
It was properly licensed - word is that Chris Aldi and Co. simply didn't get paid what they were promised.
Korodny is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TrashIt Utility Solid Snake request.Apps 2 25 December 2012 00:07
Utility disks absence request.Apps 16 25 March 2009 17:38
Add21k -utility Old Fool support.Apps 4 02 August 2006 13:00
Excellent utility here! oldpx Retrogaming General Discussion 12 14 February 2005 10:27
utility-disks Useless/SPB request.Apps 4 28 March 2002 20:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08855 seconds with 15 queries