English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Sprites

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 June 2012, 16:37   #1
Gnomon
 
Posts: n/a
Shadow of the Beast III sprites

Hi there,

Recently I've been ripping some graphics from SOTB3. Thought I'd share what I've found so far...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Aarbron.png
Views:	3804
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	31828  
 
Old 05 June 2012, 17:14   #2
Gnomon
 
Posts: n/a
Level 1 sprites
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	L1_enemy.png
Views:	1627
Size:	21.0 KB
ID:	31829   Click image for larger version

Name:	L1_beast.png
Views:	576
Size:	12.6 KB
ID:	31830   Click image for larger version

Name:	L1_boss.png
Views:	518
Size:	8.6 KB
ID:	31831  
Attached Images
 
 
Old 05 June 2012, 17:19   #3
Gnomon
 
Posts: n/a
Level 1 tiles

Please note that some of these tiles have different (or several) color sets in game. SOTB3 seems to use a dynamic palette.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	L1_Tiles_A.png
Views:	1212
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	31833   Click image for larger version

Name:	L1_Tiles_B.png
Views:	1786
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	31834  
 
Old 05 June 2012, 23:24   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,774
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
mmmh a dynamic palette ? excellent, and good to know !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 08 July 2012, 22:53   #5
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
i remember that banshee uses different amount of bitplanes for the tiles...never seen this before and never saw it again....
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 17 December 2012, 15:11   #6
Gnomon
 
Posts: n/a
Tiles for levels 2,3,4 and 5.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	L2_Tiles_A.png
Views:	636
Size:	71.7 KB
ID:	33482   Click image for larger version

Name:	L2_Tiles_B.png
Views:	678
Size:	66.8 KB
ID:	33483   Click image for larger version

Name:	L3_Tiles_B.png
Views:	469
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	33484   Click image for larger version

Name:	L3_Tiles_A.png
Views:	531
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	33485   Click image for larger version

Name:	L4_Tiles_A.png
Views:	454
Size:	68.5 KB
ID:	33486  

Click image for larger version

Name:	L5_Tiles_A.png
Views:	415
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	33487  
 
Old 18 December 2012, 14:39   #7
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 40
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnomon View Post
Tiles for levels 2,3,4 and 5.

Fantastic work Gnomon! Would be amazing to see these used in some way, like a new platformer..I can dream
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 18 December 2012, 22:58   #8
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,235
I'm always amazed by how the random sprites formulate a beautiful scene!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 23 December 2012, 17:40   #9
Gnomon
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordofchaos View Post
Fantastic work Gnomon! Would be amazing to see these used in some way, like a new platformer..I can dream
Thanks lordofchaos!
I'm currently attempting to port the game to HTML5 and eventually hope to add some new levels. Got map rendering working today - http://twitpic.com/bohmvz
 
Old 25 December 2012, 01:09   #10
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 40
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnomon View Post
Thanks lordofchaos!
I'm currently attempting to port the game to HTML5 and eventually hope to add some new levels. Got map rendering working today - http://twitpic.com/bohmvz
Looking good Gnomon Would love to see it in motion...If you ever need a musician somewhere down the line I would be happy to help.
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 25 December 2012, 01:21   #11
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 6,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
mmmh a dynamic palette ? excellent, and good to know !
You make that comment like it was a rare thing on the Amiga?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 25 December 2012, 12:12   #12
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,774
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
there are not many games using dynamic palettes on amiga.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 25 December 2012, 14:13   #13
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 40
Posts: 1,060
A list would be nice
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 25 December 2012, 23:22   #14
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
You make that comment like it was a rare thing on the Amiga?
Dynamically changing palettes within a level is quite rare.

Joe Maroni and Cody Jarrett probably know a lot of the games that change palettes as when they rip the levels for the HOL maps, they would have to piece them together in sections. But most of the maps seem to be static 16 or 32 colour palettes the entire way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
there are not many games using dynamic palettes on amiga.
I agree. What you often get is a few horizontal strips of colour palette changes but that's about it. Some that I can think of:

SWIV - Read Ned Langman's interview in the SWIV section.

Bermuda Triangle - the palette changes slightly in various sections of the map. They did it really badly however as the entire green background instantly changes to brown when you move a pixel sideways etc.

Ruff'n'Tumble - From memory in the darker sections of the map the palette darkens slightly. (But that's just darkening everything rather than changing them).
Codetapper is offline  
Old 26 December 2012, 10:51   #15
Gnomon
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordofchaos View Post
Looking good Gnomon Would love to see it in motion...If you ever need a musician somewhere down the line I would be happy to help.
Wow, thank you for the offer LOC!
I'll host the project online at some point so you can all have a play. But I need to make sure it works on all the popular browsers first!
 
Old 26 December 2012, 11:04   #16
Gnomon
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codetapper View Post
What you often get is a few horizontal strips of colour palette changes but that's about it.
I suspect that's the technique used in SOTB3 (similar to copperbars?). Most of the levels have one or two colours in the palette assigned for this purpose.
 
Old 26 December 2012, 12:58   #17
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,774
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
I add golden axe amiga, which is using 2 different palettes during level 1.

Pang is another one. there should be others
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 26 December 2012, 22:26   #18
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
one of the most amazing effects of changing palette during gameplay is lionheart in my opinion....

e.g. swamp level. the bitmaps (bobs/blitter objects) just use a depth of 3 bitplanes (2^3 = 8 colors). but screen output shows a mixture of copperlist and bobs.
look at the difference between original memory stored map with screenshot:

screenshot:
http://hol.abime.net/hol_popup_pictu...jRSMFE9&zoom=1

map:
http://hol.abime.net/hol_popup_pictu...FIwUT0=&zoom=2
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 27 December 2012, 00:27   #19
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 40
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maroni View Post
one of the most amazing effects of changing palette during gameplay is lionheart in my opinion....

e.g. swamp level. the bitmaps (bobs/blitter objects) just use a depth of 3 bitplanes (2^3 = 8 colors). but screen output shows a mixture of copperlist and bobs.
look at the difference between original memory stored map with screenshot:

screenshot:
http://hol.abime.net/hol_popup_pictu...jRSMFE9&zoom=1

map:
http://hol.abime.net/hol_popup_pictu...FIwUT0=&zoom=2
Wow I totally forgot about these maps on HOL I'm curious to why they are watermarked with the HOL logo though? I would love to use some of these bitmaps minus the watermark for a video project if I knew whom to ask
lordofchaos is offline  
Old 27 December 2012, 07:00   #20
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
we watermarked them because we don´t like it if other game databases use our work without permission.
what maps do you like to have "unmarked" ? i could recreate them our you simply ask RCK if he could send them to you..
Joe Maroni is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shadow of the beast I II III mods boing_1000 request.Modules 13 14 August 2014 15:41
Shadow of the Beast III switchblade request.Old Rare Games 3 26 April 2009 09:34
Shadow of the Beast III T-shirt viddi Amiga scene 14 02 December 2008 15:36
WHDLoad: Shadow of the beast III v1.3 keropi support.Games 3 19 January 2007 23:14
Shadow of the Beast III - Crashing... DamienD support.Games 5 10 August 2005 16:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10269 seconds with 14 queries