English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 July 2005, 01:21   #1
ThunderBoltRiot
 
Posts: n/a
Keys don't work with cd32 emulation

Hi! This is my first post here in the EAB, and I'm having a dillemma with the keyboard input tab of the WinUAE emulator.

The thing is the game starts up fine (Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo) but I'm unable to do things with keys. I can use the NUMPAD keys like 2, 4, 6, and 8 to move my character but the keys I specified in the input tab do not work for me at all.

I dont know if my specs should be posted here or not, but I'll kill two birds with one stone

Hewlett Packard Pavilion (I know they're cheap)
AMD Athlon XP 3100+
2.20 GHZ 448 MB RAM
VIA S3G UniChrome IGP graphics card

I've messed around with other keyboard settings, but I do it to no avail.

Id be grateful if anyone can respond to this problem.


 
Old 22 July 2005, 22:42   #2
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
I remember having that problem too. Unfortunately I didn't have joypad back then. It's a glib answer, but you might be better off getting a 6 button PC joypad.

Also, get a cheap graphics card. I have an onboard Unichrome and even a Matrox Millennium G400 out performs it. If you get a cheap AGP card like the G400 or faster it'll mean you don't have to share system RAM with the onboard GPU which so will give a little speed boost to your CPU and release that 64MB being used up already (which too will give a little speed boost in itself). 9200's are cheap these days, and second hand ti4200s are still good cards if you don't want to play games like Doom 3.
Shrub is offline  
Old 22 July 2005, 22:46   #3
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
Oh, hold on. Does UAE emulate the CD32? I think it only emulates the home computer Amiga which I think need a library to use CD32 joypads (My memory is still blurred over Amiga hardware lol, it's been 5 years sinse I last used them). Anyway, the A1200 floppy disk version.
Shrub is offline  
Old 23 July 2005, 00:16   #4
Xenon
Registered User
Xenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Zaragoza, Pamplona-Iruña, Bera
Age: 38
Posts: 440
Yes, it emulates very well CD32 ... see the readme, for example.
Xenon is offline  
Old 23 July 2005, 00:28   #5
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 238
Readmes are for wimps!
Shrub is offline  
Old 23 July 2005, 02:04   #6
ThunderBoltRiot
 
Posts: n/a
Yes the WinUAE emulator does emulate cd32, I guess a lot of people don't realize it. This is one of the reasons why I'm using WinUAE, and also playing some a1200 games to relive those old days.
 
Old 23 July 2005, 17:53   #7
ThunderBoltRiot
 
Posts: n/a
Nevermind, I finally got it to work! Apparently all I had to do was put the right keyboard layout for the arrow keys in Port 0, and the buttons on the cd32 joypad i had to specify the right key I wanted it to be, and then hit the Swap 0 <> 1 button and voila it worked.

Thanks for your help guys I appreciate it anyway.
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battleships don´t work formater support.WinUAE 3 16 September 2007 14:01
90% of my games don't work dreamkatcha New to Emulation or Amiga scene 38 28 March 2007 15:10
Some demos that don't work here tomcat666 request.Demos 2 13 January 2007 07:00
My cd32 compilations don't work! balrogsoft support.Games 0 04 May 2006 14:45
keyboard don't work with some games Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 22 July 2002 16:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06910 seconds with 13 queries