English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2019, 00:47   #1
CrazyPepsi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Sweden
Posts: 38
Why is windows 10 so bad ??

I cant play old games anymore Booooo
CrazyPepsi is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 00:54   #2
Zak
ZapĀ“em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 404
The only thing that Microsoft checks is that some Windows 8 programs still run. Old stuff is not interesting.
Zak is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 01:17   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,376
Guess that depends on your definition of OLD GAMES.

Most if not all of my Steam library runs fine under Windows 10 Pro.

This includes some remakes and re-releases that run under DOSBOX.

I've also had very good luck running VM's of either Windows 98 or Windows 2000 and even XP to run games.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 04:47   #4
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,872
PcEm is also an option.

Real question is what game you don't know how to run under win10.
Anubis is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 15:29   #5
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,131
Micro$hit removed support for SafeDisc and SecuROM in Windows 10 citing 'security issues' with the drivers both DRM's use. Also 16bit programs are not supported so really old DOS/Windows games won't work! Only in Windows 8.1 or earlier can you re-enable support for the SafeDisc driver!

Either build on old 486/Pentium system, see if Steam/GOG has the game or try to find a NoCD patch but that is still no good for 16bit games though, although DOSBOX with a NoCD patch could work!
BarryB is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 16:23   #6
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,374
Be glad you're not running MacOS. Backward compatibility is even worse than Windows.
Dunny is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 16:52   #7
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Micro$hit removed support for SafeDisc and SecuROM in Windows 10 citing 'security issues' with the drivers both DRM's use. Also 16bit programs are not supported so really old DOS/Windows games won't work! Only in Windows 8.1 or earlier can you re-enable support for the SafeDisc driver!

Either build on old 486/Pentium system, see if Steam/GOG has the game or try to find a NoCD patch but that is still no good for 16bit games though, although DOSBOX with a NoCD patch could work!
All of my 16bit games work, as well DOS. I still did not hear single game name that you could not get to run on Win10. From patching to running in an emulator, there is always a way to run even original PC jr. cartridges.

Add to that awesome Roland emulation support and Voodoo graphics... on most modern computers with Win10.

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

Wither DOSBox or pcEM will run any software you throw at them. I have even VB1, AutoCad and few other not games installed on Dos 6.22 + Win 3.11 just for fun.

Last edited by Anubis; 17 November 2019 at 16:59.
Anubis is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 19:29   #8
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
[...] Also 16bit programs are not supported so really old DOS/Windows games won't work! [...]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
All of my 16bit games work, as well DOS. [...]
You're both right
They don't work natively on 64-bit W10, and they do - if you know how to make the work - on 32-bit W10: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/ena...rt-windows-10/

Last edited by Shoonay; 17 November 2019 at 19:50.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 14:35   #9
Azvareth
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Landskrona/Sweden
Age: 51
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Micro$hit removed support for SafeDisc and SecuROM in Windows 10 citing 'security issues' with the drivers both DRM's use. Also 16bit programs are not supported so really old DOS/Windows games won't work! Only in Windows 8.1 or earlier can you re-enable support for the SafeDisc driver!

Either build on old 486/Pentium system, see if Steam/GOG has the game or try to find a NoCD patch but that is still no good for 16bit games though, although DOSBOX with a NoCD patch could work!

There is a piece of software called otvdm, I think it works like Linux Wine do, I do not know if it will work with games, but I could at least run one old 16Bit application called Digital Orchestra Pro from ehmm "ancient times" and could open my old files on my Win10x64 (I had to import several missing Windows DLL from that era to make it work though).
Azvareth is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 15:00   #10
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,529
Windows 10 is STILL shit when it comes to backwards compatibility in games.

I've had problems with "old games" (as in games for previous generations of OS) not running since Windows exists. 95, 98, 2000, XP, 7, 8, it doesn't matter - always the same shit of games I like not working or severely misbehaving. The most recent example is Painkiller, ran like a charm on Windows XP but I tried to change the in-game resolution now and the game just completely locked up. Yay I'm sure there are community patches or a compatibility mode that will make it work, but uninstalling was just so much faster
gimbal is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 15:12   #11
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,872
What resolution did you try?

I never played Painkiller. Should I try it? (just checked library, I have black edition, is that the same you have?)
Anubis is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 15:32   #12
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,321
Since XP Microsoft doesn't care much about compatibility with previous versions. Many XP era games don't even run on windows 7 let alone windows 10.
nobody is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 16:09   #13
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,872
Care to define 'many'?? What games do you have to run that could run on XP?
Anubis is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 17:58   #14
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
What resolution did you try?

I never played Painkiller. Should I try it? (just checked library, I have black edition, is that the same you have?)
The highest available, which is not even 1920*1080 It's that old. I probably played it in 1024*768 at the time. Maybe I can give that a try to see what happens...

Painkiller is probably the best FPS game I've ever played. But you have to like fast Serious Sam-style shooters which throw armies of enemies at you. The most fun for me is in the extra challenges, most notably viciously hidden secrets and optional level challenges that range from easy to ludicrous (don't pick up any health items - screw you game!)
gimbal is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 18:10   #15
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 98
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Audio subsystem driver model changed drastically between XP and Vista, you have to have that in mind when assessing old games compatibility. It's not just a matter of further removing of 16-bit driver support, check this post.
SquawkBox is online now  
Old 21 November 2019, 18:22   #16
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
The highest available, which is not even 1920*1080 It's that old. I probably played it in 1024*768 at the time. Maybe I can give that a try to see what happens...

Painkiller is probably the best FPS game I've ever played. But you have to like fast Serious Sam-style shooters which throw armies of enemies at you. The most fun for me is in the extra challenges, most notably viciously hidden secrets and optional level challenges that range from easy to ludicrous (don't pick up any health items - screw you game!)
Serious Sam games - another thing I own and never played. It was somewhere on my list of titles to visit.

Loved how they screwed people hacking their game - one of elevator that you can't exit or NPC that you can't kill - and people reported those as bugs.

I will give it a go.

Speaking of shooters, The Other Worlds is nice game, but pushes my gaming laptop to extreme when playing to get anywhere close to xBox One graphics. (only nvidia 1050Ti)

Game is really cool, story well made, and finally one with some good dark humor.
Anubis is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 19:49   #17
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
The highest available, which is not even 1920*1080 It's that old. I probably played it in 1024*768 at the time. Maybe I can give that a try to see what happens...

Painkiller is probably the best FPS game I've ever played. But you have to like fast Serious Sam-style shooters which throw armies of enemies at you. The most fun for me is in the extra challenges, most notably viciously hidden secrets and optional level challenges that range from easy to ludicrous (don't pick up any health items - screw you game!)
You were right, game seems to lock after I changed resolution to 1920x1080. I used power shell to kill process, and retried game, and it seems it now runs on HD. Here are some screenshots. It does throw lots of opponents at you, and playing with headphones makes environment and music more enjoyable.







BTW, for anyone wondering how to kill process (or bunch of them) easy with Win10 - run powershell as admin and use ol' unix process killing line.

For example for painkiller -

Code:
ps pain* | kill

It works quite well.
Anubis is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 21:32   #18
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
BTW, for anyone wondering how to kill process (or bunch of them) easy with Win10 - run powershell as admin and use ol' unix process killing line.

For example for painkiller -

Code:
ps pain* | kill

It works quite well.
Powershell seems a bit overkill...

Why don't you just run a Command Prompt as admin and then use "taskkill"?

e.g. taskkill /F /IM excel.exe

Code:
TASKKILL [/S system [/U username [/P [password]]]]
         { [/FI filter] [/PID processid | /IM imagename] } [/T] [/F]

Description:
    This tool is used to terminate tasks by process id (PID) or image name.

Parameter List:
    /S    system           Specifies the remote system to connect to.

    /U    [domain\]user    Specifies the user context under which the
                           command should execute.

    /P    [password]       Specifies the password for the given user
                           context. Prompts for input if omitted.

    /FI   filter           Applies a filter to select a set of tasks.
                           Allows "*" to be used. ex. imagename eq acme*

    /PID  processid        Specifies the PID of the process to be terminated.
                           Use TaskList to get the PID.

    /IM   imagename        Specifies the image name of the process
                           to be terminated. Wildcard '*' can be used
                           to specify all tasks or image names.

    /T                     Terminates the specified process and any
                           child processes which were started by it.

    /F                     Specifies to forcefully terminate the process(es).

    /?                     Displays this help message.

Filters:
    Filter Name   Valid Operators           Valid Value(s)
    -----------   ---------------           -------------------------
    STATUS        eq, ne                    RUNNING |
                                            NOT RESPONDING | UNKNOWN
    IMAGENAME     eq, ne                    Image name
    PID           eq, ne, gt, lt, ge, le    PID value
    SESSION       eq, ne, gt, lt, ge, le    Session number.
    CPUTIME       eq, ne, gt, lt, ge, le    CPU time in the format
                                            of hh:mm:ss.
                                            hh - hours,
                                            mm - minutes, ss - seconds
    MEMUSAGE      eq, ne, gt, lt, ge, le    Memory usage in KB
    USERNAME      eq, ne                    User name in [domain\]user
                                            format
    MODULES       eq, ne                    DLL name
    SERVICES      eq, ne                    Service name
    WINDOWTITLE   eq, ne                    Window title

    NOTE
    ----
    1) Wildcard '*' for /IM switch is accepted only when a filter is applied.
    2) Termination of remote processes will always be done forcefully (/F).
    3) "WINDOWTITLE" and "STATUS" filters are not considered when a remote
       machine is specified.

Examples:
    TASKKILL /IM notepad.exe
    TASKKILL /PID 1230 /PID 1241 /PID 1253 /T
    TASKKILL /F /IM cmd.exe /T 
    TASKKILL /F /FI "PID ge 1000" /FI "WINDOWTITLE ne untitle*"
    TASKKILL /F /FI "USERNAME eq NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM" /IM notepad.exe
    TASKKILL /S system /U domain\username /FI "USERNAME ne NT*" /IM *
    TASKKILL /S system /U username /P password /FI "IMAGENAME eq note*"

Last edited by DamienD; 21 November 2019 at 22:05.
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 21:36   #19
Anubis
Na'vi Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hometree, Pandora
Age: 47
Posts: 2,872
Me ol' unix guy... still sometimes would write kill -9

Speaking of PowerShell, doing scripts is very easy and using aliases remind me of amiga time. (both of those commands are just aliases in power shell)
Anubis is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 22:07   #20
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,465
Yeah maybe so, but not everyone is an old UNIX / Linux guy

When I think of Powershell in my profession, it's usually to make group Active Directory changes to objects or Exchange console stuff

Last edited by DamienD; 21 November 2019 at 22:42.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad first disk Xanaa support.Games 3 11 May 2014 21:34
Bad ROM or something else? JDunlap support.Hardware 6 23 January 2008 09:11
Bad graphics? Korgy support.WinUAE 10 06 June 2006 12:21
[perhaps bad section] bobbybearing request.Old Rare Games 1 11 October 2003 18:45
Bad MCP, BAD! Akira support.Apps 14 22 August 2003 17:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12035 seconds with 13 queries