English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 August 2019, 14:44   #1
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
CD32 Action Replay

Was there a Action replay for the CD32?
BIG D is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 16:11   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,541
not that I know of. But I made HRTMon work on a stock CD32 machine (software action replay).
jotd is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 20:08   #3
demoniac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -
Posts: 1,366
FYI, HRTMon is pretty much the A1200 version of Action Replay, written by the same person.
demoniac is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 20:17   #4
Mrz
Banned

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: I
Posts: 338
HRTMON is the only way to action reply in CD32 or A1200 or A4000 etc
however it doesn't work if the hardisk is formatted with SFS or PFS
you must have at least 1 partition formated with FFS

and tons of games are incompatible with HRTMON, ie you enter to HRTMOn then you return to the game but then the screen become corrupted

I still waiting for a fix
Mrz is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 20:37   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,541
you don't need a harddisk for hrtmon if you just change memory (or write to floppy).

HRTMon cannot capture copperlist/customchip values like hardware monitors do. On WinUAE it has been adapted by Toni so it works better, but in pure software, it does what it can (and I remember being able to work with it to write most of whdload & JST installs. Sometimes display is trashed, true, but not always)
jotd is offline  
Old 12 August 2019, 02:13   #6
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
Awesome found it, I am using it in Winuae and was wondering if there is a list out there somewhere of cd32 games codes?
BIG D is offline  
Old 12 August 2019, 10:14   #7
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,541
Note that with WinUAE you also have built-in debugger with shift+F12. No need for HRTMon at all (I still like HRTMon for the quick binary edit for instance)

Unlike consoles where a list of "codes" are provided, on CD32/Amiga such things don't exist for several reasons:

- some games use the OS to allocate memory / there are various amiga configurations with expansion mem at different locations. The codes would require to adapt to those configurations. CD32 is no exception. Most games are OS friendly and depending on the timing, the addresses may change (memory allocation).
- when we want to cheat, we use cheat codes with keyboard (see Abaddon Sweetcheater for instance). Of course on pure CD32 games, the cheats are either gone or require a keyboard.
- when we want to cheat, we use whdload & configurable trainers. You can achieve that on a CD32 with CD32Load/WHDLoad CDs or TF accelerators which turn your CD32 in a real amiga.

Amiga monitors are more often used to inspect/hack games, not to enable infinite lives temporarily.
jotd is offline  
Old 13 August 2019, 05:39   #8
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Note that with WinUAE you also have built-in debugger with shift+F12. No need for HRTMon at all (I still like HRTMon for the quick binary edit for instance)

Unlike consoles where a list of "codes" are provided, on CD32/Amiga such things don't exist for several reasons:

- some games use the OS to allocate memory / there are various amiga configurations with expansion mem at different locations. The codes would require to adapt to those configurations. CD32 is no exception. Most games are OS friendly and depending on the timing, the addresses may change (memory allocation).
- when we want to cheat, we use cheat codes with keyboard (see Abaddon Sweetcheater for instance). Of course on pure CD32 games, the cheats are either gone or require a keyboard.
- when we want to cheat, we use whdload & configurable trainers. You can achieve that on a CD32 with CD32Load/WHDLoad CDs or TF accelerators which turn your CD32 in a real amiga.

Amiga monitors are more often used to inspect/hack games, not to enable infinite lives temporarily.

I have used many emulators in the past but I find the Amiga emulators are at a whole nother level of complexity.

So is there a super easy walkthrough on getting the cd32/whdload running, if possible on Amiga forever or winuae if the that fails?

And once running is there an easy way to find the codes in game or on the web?
BIG D is offline  
Old 13 August 2019, 10:24   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
I have used many emulators in the past but I find the Amiga emulators are at a whole nother level of complexity.
that's expected from an emulator which emulates a series of computers with expansion, hard drives, video modes, ... not exactly a NES.

Code:
So is there a super easy walkthrough on getting the cd32/whdload running, if possible on Amiga forever or winuae if the that fails?
The hardest part is getting hold of kickstart 3.1 & CD32 extra ROM (2 512K files). Then put them in winuae and use quickstart menu, choose CD32, choose your ISO)

Code:
And once running is there an easy way to find the codes in game or on the web?
well,... read my post again. No. Maybe if you are more specific on the games you want to hack we can help.
jotd is offline  
Old 14 August 2019, 03:21   #10
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
The hardest part is getting hold of kickstart 3.1 & CD32 extra ROM (2 512K files). Then put them in winuae and use quickstart menu, choose CD32, choose your ISO)
Ok got all that and have downloaded newest version on winuae and I am just waiting for some games to test it with.

But before I go any further down this path I have a couple of probably dumb questions.

1. can I map a hotkey or button on my controller for taking screenshots in Winuae during play?

2. Is there a way of taking continuous screenshots while playing a game. This can be done in Meka for the master System.
BIG D is offline  
Old 14 August 2019, 12:41   #11
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,541
1. I suppose you can, with advanced input configuration. I'll let someone confirm

2. you can create videos when playing a game. Select an uncompressed codec with low framerate if possible

if you want trained games you can get multi-game ISOs like this

https://www.amigafrance.com/forums/t...r-compilation/

or this

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=82138

for the latter, holding red button when booting games that support it enable trainer (whdload CUSTOM1)

individual audio-enhanced games have built-in trainers too (hold button on startup/read the docs to use in-game cheats)

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ght=cd32+audio
jotd is offline  
Old 14 August 2019, 13:39   #12
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
Man thanks for that, I was thinking is might be easier if I pm you so I can explain exactly what I am trying to do but you would have to empty some of your mailbox first so I can do this as it seems to be full,
you must be popular!
BIG D is offline  
Old 14 August 2019, 13:57   #13
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,541
Does "BIG D" mean what I think it does?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 14 August 2019, 14:01   #14
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Does "BIG D" mean what I think it does?
Haha... no
BIG D is offline  
Old 15 August 2019, 12:16   #15
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,541


Where in Melbourne are you mate? I'm in Franga
Hewitson is offline  
Old 15 August 2019, 14:04   #16
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,541
Big data?
jotd is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 05:19   #17
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post


Where in Melbourne are you mate? I'm in Franga
up north in doncaster
BIG D is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 05:20   #18
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Big data?
Yeah why not.
BIG D is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 05:24   #19
BIG D
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Posts: 30
Cloantos Amiga Forever is looking like my best option as I should be able to map a key on my control pad to take images on the fly.

Maybe even set that button to autofire to take continuous shots!

Any other ideas?
BIG D is offline  
Old 16 August 2019, 06:56   #20
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG D View Post
Cloantos Amiga Forever is looking like my best option as I should be able to map a key on my control pad to take images on the fly.

Maybe even set that button to autofire to take continuous shots!

Any other ideas?
I'm pretty sure this functionality would be part of WinUAE rather than Amiga Forever.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Action Replay Help Sim085 support.Other 2 13 April 2017 17:22
Action Replay amiga_Forever support.FS-UAE 0 26 January 2017 23:26
Action Replay Mk I v1.50 Crashdisk support.WinUAE 8 20 January 2015 12:41
Action Replay 1.0 thor support.WinUAE 13 25 February 2007 15:05
Action Replay 3 or 4 d0okie support.WinUAE 5 09 September 2004 00:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08884 seconds with 13 queries