English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 March 2016, 21:11   #1
willw
 
Posts: n/a
A2000 with GVP Combo, installing SCSI2SD drive

Hi all,
First of all I hope this post is being submitted to the right section and I like to prefix my problem with: I have never setup nor had a HD on an Amiga and I've been away from the system for about 20 years.

I picked up an A2000 with a Impact A2000-030 Combo (http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/combo) the hard drive that was in it was working perfectly (after all these years) but I'd like to be preemptive and replace it with something modern so I picked up a SCSI2SD adaptor(http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1264).

I'm having a lot of problems getting the new drive setup. I've flash the unit with the latest firmware but I'm still unable to get the Amiga to see the drive. Upon boot up, the drive light flash in a pattern 4-5 times and then boots into WB3.1 that I have on a gotek drive. I guess it's a good sign that the amiga is trying to do something with the device at bootup.

HDsetup tools in 3.1 fails to see a drive, I've matched the SCSI id's on the device firmware and on the format/partition dialog.

If anyone has any experience setting up one of these devices or with setting up a drive on the GVP combo board on the 2000, I'd love some suggestions or advice.

Regards,
Will
 
Old 17 March 2016, 21:23   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
The SCSI2SD card has terminators on it. Is it the last in the chain?
A common mistake is not loading the config file from the card before saving it?
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2016, 21:26   #3
willw
 
Posts: n/a
There's one terminator on the device and it is present, the device is also the only SCSI device in the machine on a single ended cable.
 
Old 17 March 2016, 21:29   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
What type of SD card are you using?
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2016, 21:31   #5
willw
 
Posts: n/a
Lexar microSDHC 16gig
 
Old 17 March 2016, 21:32   #6
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by willw View Post
There's one terminator on the device and it is present, the device is also the only SCSI device in the machine on a single ended cable.
Mine has 2 terminators in one socket. Is that what you meant?
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2016, 21:33   #7
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by willw View Post
Lexar microSDHC 16gig
I used Sandisk myself.

Is the card formatted to fat32?
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2016, 21:38   #8
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
Just a thought, does the gvp scsi.device support large drives?
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2016, 21:38   #9
willw
 
Posts: n/a
It has two pins with a terminator shorting them (pic of model attached)
It's most likely an OSX journaled format, I didn't pay attention to that.
 
Old 17 March 2016, 21:40   #10
willw
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Just a thought, does the gvp scsi.device support large drives?
I'm not sure, the drive size did cross my mind, I assumed that the max space available would be limited to 4gig and the rest of the space wouldn't be recognized.
 
Old 17 March 2016, 21:42   #11
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by willw View Post
It has two pins with a terminator shorting them (pic of model attached)
It's most likely an OSX journaled format, I didn't pay attention to that.
2 pins? The yellow ones or the black jumper?

Do you own a PC or Mac? Try cleaning the card before using it in the Amiga.
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2016, 21:47   #12
willw
 
Posts: n/a
It's the black jumper next to the micro sd socket. I'm osx but I have access to window via virtual machine.
 
Old 17 March 2016, 21:49   #13
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
The black jumper is for an external LED isn't it? I hope it is, that's what I use it for.
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2016, 21:51   #14
willw
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
The black jumper is for an external LED isn't it? I hope it is, that's what I use it for.
You know, I'm not sure It's the only one present on the board.
 
Old 17 March 2016, 22:08   #15
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
I removed the yellow terminators because my SCSI2SD card is in the middle of the cable.

Works fine for me!!

I attached my SCSI2SD card to my desktop PC that has a SCSI card. I then used WinUAE to set the sd card up before moving it to the Amiga. I use a CDTV btw (A590/A2091).
Arnie is offline  
Old 17 March 2016, 22:42   #16
willw
 
Posts: n/a
It looks like with the v5 board they did away with the terminating jumpers, according to the codesrc.com wiki
 
Old 17 March 2016, 23:10   #17
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,903
They made it smaller too. Ideal for the CDTV
Arnie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using over 4GB Hard drive gvp-Combo 030 jcarvalho support.Hardware 1 19 February 2014 09:39
Having trouble installing Top Gear 2 on GVP Impact 2 HD8 hard drive paul2010 support.Games 0 23 October 2010 14:09
GVP 030 combo not showing RAM on A2000 Matt020 support.Hardware 9 26 May 2010 14:12
GVP 040 combo for A2000 johnroberts support.Hardware 10 26 September 2008 22:28
GVP G-Force 030/40 combo problem with A2000 keropi support.Hardware 8 17 January 2008 22:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08687 seconds with 13 queries