English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2015, 03:49   #1
joeksterz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 55
Ultimate A4000 w/ QuikPak 060 MK2 (Yes, they do exist)

My quest for the ultimate (real) Amiga is probably as good as it's going to get. Still have to put it all together decide what to do with the 2 free slots...

The crown jewel of this system is a fully working QuikPak 060 REV 2 accelerator with the optional UW SCSI. I've socketed the crystal and overclocked it to 60mhz. With the full 128MB of interleaved/64bit EDO RAM set for 50ns, BusSpeedTest 0.19 shows 60MB/sec !!!

Don't have the driver disk for this accelerator and it doesn't work with the tekmagic (nearly identical board) software, but am able to use the 68060.library and kickstart remapping from MMULib. If anyone has the software for this accelerator, please contact me.

Just a bunch of pictures for now, but will add details as the build continues and time permits.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_14_36_52_Pro.jpg
Views:	420
Size:	515.7 KB
ID:	46017   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_14_36_59_Pro.jpg
Views:	329
Size:	510.7 KB
ID:	46018   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_14_36_38_Pro.jpg
Views:	343
Size:	484.0 KB
ID:	46019   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_14_36_21_Pro.jpg
Views:	300
Size:	471.2 KB
ID:	46020   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151019_15_35_13_Pro.jpg
Views:	295
Size:	498.5 KB
ID:	46021  

joeksterz is offline  
Old 30 October 2015, 04:00   #2
joeksterz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 55
Now for the cards: Picasso IV and A2065.

I choose these mostly because WinUAE emulates them. Makes it a LOT easier to build out the OS/Apps/Games in the emulator and then copy everything to a physical drive.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151019_15_35_29_Pro.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	521.0 KB
ID:	46022   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151019_15_35_20_Pro.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	532.5 KB
ID:	46023   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151019_15_35_33_Pro.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	521.0 KB
ID:	46024   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151021_14_24_50_Pro.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	520.0 KB
ID:	46025   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151021_14_24_57_Pro.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	512.7 KB
ID:	46026  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151021_15_01_25_Pro.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	493.1 KB
ID:	46027  
joeksterz is offline  
Old 30 October 2015, 04:10   #3
joeksterz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 55
Couldn't leave the A4000 alone, overclocked to 30mhz bus speed. Implemented the delay line "hack" with a little jumper so that it can be enabled/disabled easily. This particular motherboard is NOT a good overclocker - wouldn't even post at 33.0mhz. My two other A4000 motherboards have no problems with 35mhz bus speed, but they have other issues at the moment - bad mouse port and failing audio caps.

And for good measure, burnt a set of Kickstart 3.9 "Boing Bag 4" ROMs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_12_44_45_Pro.jpg
Views:	272
Size:	545.5 KB
ID:	46028   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_12_44_56_Pro.jpg
Views:	252
Size:	547.7 KB
ID:	46029   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_14_15_16_Pro.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	509.3 KB
ID:	46030   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_14_15_25_Pro.jpg
Views:	248
Size:	505.3 KB
ID:	46031   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_14_15_37_Pro.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	493.3 KB
ID:	46032  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20151017_14_15_42_Pro.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	515.1 KB
ID:	46033  
joeksterz is offline  
Old 30 October 2015, 06:03   #4
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,745
Oh nice machine

Do ScummVM RTG and [ Show youtube player ] run on your setup OK?

Last edited by NovaCoder; 30 October 2015 at 06:40.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 October 2015, 17:37   #5
joeksterz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 55
ScummVM RTG seems to work just fine, tested with Lure of the Temptress - doesn't seem to be a demanding title...

ZDoom RTG (Doom1 shareware wad) works good as well. At 320x240, it subjectively feels like 15fps +/-. 640x480 feels like 4fps - not really playable.

Not sure how to benchmark either game, but if you know how to do it - will report back.
joeksterz is offline  
Old 31 October 2015, 01:59   #6
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,745
Glad to hear they are running well on REAL hardware

A more demanding title would be Broken Sword 1, would love a video of that running on your machine

There's no FPS counter in ZDOOM, try my ODAMEX RTG Port, that might have one (I can't remember off the top of my head)
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 November 2015, 12:07   #7
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 262
Wow - thanks for posting, I looked for years and doubted those cards ever existed with SCSI. IMHO you have the ultimate 4000D accelerator there.
Damion is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: phase5 Cyberstorm 060 MK2 jack-3d MarketPlace 15 09 March 2015 10:38
For Sale: CS-MKII 060-60mhz , CS-MK2 scsi addon keropi MarketPlace 6 27 May 2007 00:00
CS MK2 060 + SCSI for a CS MK3 060 Jope Swapshop 37 21 February 2007 21:41
Cyberstorm MK2 060 for sale, shipping to any place in the world !! Effy MarketPlace 8 14 May 2005 12:09
I need an install disk for the QuikPak 060 please Pyromania request.Apps 1 10 April 2005 22:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07367 seconds with 14 queries