English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 July 2011, 14:52   #1
bx20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PL
Posts: 21
ACA1230 question

Hi, I've just managed to get through very loooooong thread on ACA1230, but I still lack some information:
Does the 42MHz version offer any performance advantages over old Blizzard 1230 (without FPU)?
Is it possible to turn the card off if needed?
thanks!
bx20 is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 15:02   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,438
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by bx20 View Post
Hi, I've just managed to get through very loooooong thread on ACA1230, but I still lack some information:
Does the 42MHz version offer any performance advantages over old Blizzard 1230 (without FPU)?
Is it possible to turn the card off if needed?
thanks!

Hi!

Performace would be close due to the very fast Ram interaction with the Custom Chip on the Amiga, plus you have ACATune that will squeeze out some extra MIPS

Anothert benefit to the ACA is you can ReMap a Custom Rom (or just 3.1 Rom if you don't already have it)

And of course its a new card manufactured in 2010 with Warranty

The cons over a Blizzard, well the Blizzards are pretty much plug and play whereas the ACA needs ACATune to get the most out of it and also the ACA's are know to introduce timing issues on some A1200's.

The Blizzard of course you can also ass SCSI, FPU and up to 256mb Ram with the SCSI kit in place.

FWIW I sold my ACA1230 and got another Blizzard 1230

Oh, I don't think the ACA has a disable option, someone might need to corect me though.

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 15:46   #3
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 342
And for Around £200 you can buy Apollo 1260/50MHz and this is completely different story...I would go for 1230 or A1260 (if money is not a problem).
bebek is offline  
Old 24 July 2011, 16:39   #4
bx20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PL
Posts: 21
I've just got rid of a 68060 accelerator and I must admit - it's a completely different story, but not the way you think it is
@fitzsteve Is there any thread/website, where I could check which revisions of A1200 motherboard suffer from this timing problem?
bx20 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aca1230/28 - Some questions Johan1973 support.Hardware 6 28 December 2012 22:26
ACA1230 timing fix bx20 support.Hardware 17 24 August 2011 10:58
For Sale: ACA1230/56 alexkid MarketPlace 27 04 July 2011 11:40
For Sale: ACA1230/28 inc Realtime Clock - £80.00 + FREE SHIPPING ami_junkie MarketPlace 2 14 June 2011 22:41
A question oldpx project.SPS (was CAPS) 3 10 February 2003 18:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06338 seconds with 15 queries