English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2012, 11:41   #1
leongt
Registered User
leongt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Age: 65
Posts: 57
Subway USB controller

Would it be possible to use a external CD rom with a subway usb controller on an A1200
leongt is offline  
Old 04 December 2012, 12:04   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Yes, you can use a usb dvd or cdrom. You must have a cd file system installed, the USB stack takes care of the rest :-)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 04 December 2012, 14:43   #3
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 42
Posts: 2,051
The big problem is you will never be able to get a cdrom speed higher than 2X (If it luckily manages to get up to 2X), because the Subway is incredibly slow
gulliver is offline  
Old 04 December 2012, 15:14   #4
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 51
Posts: 2,692
It works - I have an external CD Drive set up via Subway but I don't think you can boot from it and I have never been able to get CD32 emulators to work. Does the job but I much preferred it when I had a CD connected via the Squirrel.
Peter is offline  
Old 04 December 2012, 15:46   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter View Post
It works - I have an external CD Drive set up via Subway but I don't think you can boot from it and I have never been able to get CD32 emulators to work. Does the job but I much preferred it when I had a CD connected via the Squirrel.
If you put the USB stack into a custom rom and CD file system you should be able to boot from it

For CD32 Games the Squirrel CD32 Emulator works well or of course WHDLoad versions of the Games.

A SCSI CDRom would be even better, @leongt what Turbo Board do you have in your A1200? (if any)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 04 December 2012, 15:58   #6
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Won't USB & WHDLoad collide anyway?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 04 December 2012, 16:33   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Won't USB & WHDLoad collide anyway?
Yes you need to disable USB when you run WHDLoad
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 05 December 2012, 07:31   #8
leongt
Registered User
leongt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne / Australia
Age: 65
Posts: 57
Ok thanks for the info guy, I mite just see if I can hunt up a Squirrel if it's that slow.
leongt is offline  
Old 05 December 2012, 13:15   #9
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Yes you need to disable USB when you run WHDLoad
IIRC the newest version of WHDLoad works with an active stack.

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 05 December 2012, 13:49   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by davideo View Post
IIRC the newest version of WHDLoad works with an active stack.

Dave G
That's great news, do you know is USB controllers/mice/etc are supported?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 05 December 2012, 15:15   #11
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
That's awesome news ! I didn't know this. How was it resolved? Is there anything in the changelog about this or have I just missed it?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 07 December 2012, 00:57   #12
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by davideo View Post
IIRC the newest version of WHDLoad works with an active stack.

Dave G
Apologies - it seems I was talking out of my asre again

Just done a test with the latest WHDLoad and it hangs with my USB stack active.

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 10:50   #13
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Yes tested this myself, only some games seem to work when USB is active, but a lot do not.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 13:02   #14
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,302
You can set up WHDLoad to turn your stack on and off as you run the games through WHDLoad.

But of course that won't allow you to use any USB devices

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 24 January 2013, 15:15   #15
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Yes i'm using two scripts to turn USB on/off. I usually don't even activate usb if I don't use it ATM and thus only have the de-activation command in WHDLoad.prefs.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SUBWAY USB CONTROLLER (A1200 Clockport) CFOU! support.Hardware 59 01 January 2014 03:53
Subway USB with D-box USB 4pin cables KillJ0Y support.Hardware 1 12 December 2009 19:39
anyone has an amiga subway usb ? marcolau support.Hardware 27 15 October 2009 13:08
Subway USB DyLucke support.Hardware 10 17 August 2009 03:21
E3B: USB controller 'Subway' - another production run? (Update) Paul News 0 08 September 2004 16:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08198 seconds with 15 queries