English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2007, 17:51   #1
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 32
Posts: 560
using any Amiga keyboard with an A1000's keyboard socket

Q. What are the pinouts for the A1000's keyboard?
The A1000's keyboard has a RJ12 jack, with the following pin outs:
1 +5V DC Viewed looking straight on into

2 (I)/ O Keyboard clock socket. RJ12 connector. Female.

3 I / O Keyboard data

4 Ground _

_| |_

__| |__

| |

| |

| |

|__|_|_|_|__|



1 2 3 4

Found this online and it got me interested. I also have bought
some kind of adapter on eBay that allows you to use an A2000 keyboard
with an A1000. Have no 2000 keyboard to test it so I'm curious if
it is possible to rewire a new keyboard to fit an RJ12 socket?
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 02 January 2007, 21:06   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,592
It's actually RJ10, there are only four pins in the connector. RJ11/12 have six pins, out of which usually two or four are present.

Any Amiga keyboard except the A600/A1200 units can be rewired to work with the A1000.

Last edited by Jope; 02 January 2007 at 21:11.
Jope is offline  
Old 02 January 2007, 21:56   #3
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 32
Posts: 560
Nice, so it's possible. Any idea if there's a how to guide somewhere on the net?
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 02 January 2007, 22:16   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,592
There are several keyboard related documents on aminet /hard/hack .. also you can find more amiga keyboard pinouts at www.hardwarebook.net

Basically it's a matter of connecting +5 to +5, gnd to gnd, clk to clk and dat to dat. That's all there is.

If you get a stream of '-characters when you plug in the keyboard, you've got clk and dat swapped.

It's a good idea to verify the +5 and GND connections that you are indeed looking at the connector the right way.. Swapping those will result in damage to your keyboard.
Jope is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 01:12   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
It all comes down to the logic my friend, for modern keyboard you would need a chip that inturprets the singals comming from the keyboard and then map them for the amiga input.

if you find a 101 keyboard, you might get lucky and it will work but not 100% as 1. you wont have amiga keys and some keys are likely to be mapped differnetly.

in the case of modding an existing amiga keyboard as long as you can keep the logic unit / chip all should be good.....

(quickly draws pick)

you can mod an amiga keyboard that already has a logic chip (or one that maps the values for amiga input) a classic easy mod is the A500 keyboard..

hell you can even leave it in the a500 case for extra-modding-style points.



once you have converted the end to a db9 (joystick serial plug) you can run it to either

1. an rj12 direct into the amiga keyboard port (ignoring LED's).
2. another db9 on the backplane (easy to find one of them) and then
2a. run a cable to another db9 serial out keeping the ground and 2 led pos.

here


anyways might help with an idea. (remember you can never enough blinky lights on a keyboard )

Last edited by Zetr0; 03 January 2007 at 01:18.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 03 January 2007, 03:55   #6
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 32
Posts: 560
Those pics are very helpful, thanks!

Ugh I wanna try this pretty badly but I don't have a keyboard with which to perform this test.
boing_1000 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using A1000 Keyboard on A2000 bigbangtech Hardware mods 1 22 March 2013 21:21
Wanted: Amiga 600 keyboard membrane (Blue) or full keyboard assembly RetromanIE MarketPlace 8 19 August 2012 15:48
A1000 keyboard-keys compatible with Cherry keyboard-keys? Centerguy support.Hardware 5 09 August 2010 01:56
A1000 keyboard with A1200? Possible? Andymiga support.Hardware 3 17 November 2008 00:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07649 seconds with 14 queries