English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 January 2010, 01:53   #21
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Ian give you a good hint on where to source -5V. So here goes another couple:

1- use the 79L05 instead full-sized 7905. Less heat, less space taken and enough current (100mA at max);

2- check my old design where I want to fit the board inside the old A520. There you'll find a chip who makes stable negative voltages from positive +5 or +12V.
rkauer is offline  
Old 14 February 2010, 08:18   #22
screwtop
 
Posts: n/a
CSY-2100 and Silicon Chip kit

Nice work! I'd been looking for an RGB to YPbPr converter lately, and in the end found a ready-made commercial one, model CSY-2100 "SCART to Y-U-V Converter". I got mine from Jaycar electronics, but Google tells me there are other stockists out there too.

Input is a SCART connector, using the following pins:
Red: 0.7 Vp-p, 75 ohms
Green: 0.7 Vp-p, 75 ohms
Blue: 0.7 Vp-p, 75 ohms
Composite video (also works with Csync signal only): 1 Vp-p, 75 ohms

Output is 3 RCA jacks:
Y: 1 Vp-p, 75 ohms
B-Y: 0.7 Vp-p, 75 ohms
R-Y: 0.7 Vp-p, 75 ohms

The spec sheet says it's compatible with PAL, PAL M, PAL N, NTSC, NTSC 4.43, and SECAM. Power (0.5 A @ 7.5 V) is from an external adapter; internally it runs off +5 V.

I'll probably change the connectors on mine for better integration with the other hardware I have, but it works fine for now.

Silicon Chip magazine listed a schematic for a similar circuit (I went to Jaycar originally to buy a kit for one of these, rather than the CSY-2100, but they didn't stock the kit and it would have been more expensive anyway). Here's the teaser for the article:

http://www.siliconchip.com.au/cms/A_102648/article.html

Note that it assumes sync-on-green but there is a user-submitted mod which adds a separate composite sync input:

http://www.siliconchip.com.au/cms/A_104857/article.html
 
Old 14 February 2010, 15:41   #23
Matt020
Registered User
Matt020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 177
Is it possible to explain the difference between YPrPb and s-video. Not in terms of how it works technically, but the difference in output and how it appears on a LCD or Plasma TV. Is there a display difference?
Matt020 is offline  
Old 14 February 2010, 17:17   #24
MagerValp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Göteborg / Sweden
Posts: 236
Basically, component video is sharper - theoretically as sharp as RGB, but on the Amiga there's a (very slight!) loss when converting from RGB to YUV color space. In S-Video the chroma component (U+V) is bandwidth limited, and is only suitable for SD content- it's barely able to keep up with 320x256. Component video has no such limit, and can easily support HD resolutions all the way up to 1920x1080, just like RGB can (typically in the form of VGA).
MagerValp is offline  
Old 14 June 2012, 09:11   #25
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
As MagerValp wrote, YUV will not be better than the original RGB because the circuit will make a conversion.

Conversions from one output type to another will always make a loss in the image quality. So, beside the fact the YUV is superior to S-video (but not to original RGB), and the alarming fact that almost all TV and monitors from nowadays simply doesn't have Svideo any more, it's time to have other ways to connect our favourite computer to those.

Oh, and our good old CRT monitors will not last forever, either.
rkauer is offline  
Old 01 July 2012, 02:22   #26
orange
Registered User
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 567
upconversion can make video look better. however its probably not worth the effort with analog signal and would add some lag.
orange is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 15:15   #27
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by narmi View Post
A520? That would be freaking huge . This is the board layout I finished yesterday.



It's about 2x2" in size. I'm still waiting for parts so that I can test it before posting the schematic.
old thread, but your opamp appears to be backwards, and you've used a 25 pin connector instead of 23 pin

did you ever end up finishing this?
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 15:19   #28
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmmoJammo View Post
old thread, but your opamp appears to be backwards, and you've used a 25 pin connector instead of 23 pin

did you ever end up finishing this?
I don't think Narmi was been online for a long time now. (2 Aug 2010)
kipper2k is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 15:25   #29
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I don't think Narmi was been online for a long time now. (2 Aug 2010)
yeah, I noticed that after posting
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 15:32   #30
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmmoJammo View Post
yeah, I noticed that after posting
I do have a working component video schematic that i created, i won't sell it at the moment as it seems to be very picky on the TV/Monitor it is feeding. When it does work, it works great, when it doesn't there is no picture.

It uses a pair of LT6550 chips and produces a very nice picture. The Component schematic is actually in the datasheet for them. I have the schematic built onto my Svideo boards, but just don't populate that part of the board when i sell it
kipper2k is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 15:37   #31
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57
this I assume?

http://circuits.linear.com/images/ci..._circuit_1.jpg
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 15:45   #32
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmmoJammo View Post

Yup, and i also tied it in to the Svideo and composite video schematic too, so it does all in one.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 15:52   #33
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57
what issues does it have on some TVs?
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 16:00   #34
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmmoJammo View Post
what issues does it have on some TVs?

sync on green, some TV's do not use it, so therefore this board won't work on them. I do have a Sharp multi region TV that it works on fine in Pal/NTSC but i also have a Sony Bravia that won't work. My big LG works great too. This is why i am hesitant to sell it as a component video adapter, too many possible issues
kipper2k is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 16:06   #35
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57
you mean "Y"?

why wouldn't the ypbpr input have the sync signal on the "Y" input? if it's not there, where is it?
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 03 November 2012, 07:31   #36
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57
I've soldered one of these up as per the schematic, but the opamp I had isn't suitable... makes a picture, but it's horrible...

So, I've got some LT1254 on order, which are the same pin configuration, suitable for video, and will accept the +-12volts from the amigas video port

I might update this when they arrive...

I'd like to build one circuit into my Sega Megadrive/Genesis, probably the "prototype" board I've just finished... and try to stuff one into a D23 back shell for the amiga
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 03 November 2012, 09:22   #37
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57


Incase you're wondering what the silver box is....



9 - 18volts goes in one end... regulated +-12volts comes out the other

As the Sega only has +10volts DC, it's perfect!

Before I cut, drill, or modify anything, I'm going to wait for the correct opamps to arrive... I connected the circuit to the sega, and once again, got a picture, but with rather odd colours...
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 04 November 2012, 02:50   #38
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,108
Think the colours can be improved by changing the resistors... Not sure if it is worth putting 'pot' resistors that you can 'tweak' to give best colour/contrast?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 04 November 2012, 05:02   #39
AmmoJammo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Think the colours can be improved by changing the resistors... Not sure if it is worth putting 'pot' resistors that you can 'tweak' to give best colour/contrast?
the opamp I was testing with doesn't have the bandwidth needed to display the image properly, once the suitable opamps arrive, I'll see what the colours are like then
AmmoJammo is offline  
Old 04 November 2012, 14:04   #40
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
sync on green, some TV's do not use it, so therefore this board won't work on them. I do have a Sharp multi region TV that it works on fine in Pal/NTSC but i also have a Sony Bravia that won't work. My big LG works great too. This is why i am hesitant to sell it as a component video adapter, too many possible issues
The issue some TVs have is with the sync signal being the wrong type. YPbPr video should have a Tri-level sync signal, the Amiga outputs a normal bi-level sync. Some TVs will cope fine, others will not, it all depends on the analog front end of the TV.

With some creative circuitry you could create a tri-level sync from the Amiga, that should help.

Ian

Last edited by Stedy; 04 November 2012 at 14:06. Reason: Omission
Stedy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.WAV to RAW convertor? Lonewolf10 request.Music 15 29 September 2012 22:37
composite TV to VGA convertor gizmomelb MarketPlace 0 25 January 2006 03:59
Kefrons Convertor V1.35 (K2+) redblade request.Apps 5 23 October 2004 02:08
Joystick convertor idea! ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 11 22 July 2003 14:38
Amiga RGB to Svhs? ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 12 12 December 2002 07:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09509 seconds with 15 queries