English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 February 2011, 01:09   #1
Chiptune
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol / UK
Posts: 10
Amiga CD32 Display problems

Hi guys, I have just joined the forum as I have become a CD32 owner.. and unfortunately have a problem.

I have a PAL TV that I use many consoles on, from a wii to a twin famicom. All work perfectly

With the CD32 however only the Rf lead works for a picture (and its poor quality). I want to use the s-video or av output (or whatever the one is called that uses the 3 yellow, white and red inputs)

When I use S-video (the small circular end cable) the picture is in black and white. If I use the 3 colours cable then the picture is horribly distorted and moves around and goes on and off..

Im using the same cable I use for other consoles and for those it works fine.

Any help would be really appreciated!

Thanks
Chiptune is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 04:19   #2
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Three cables is called composite, better know as compoSHIT. Bit better than RF, but that all.

S-video is miles better, so if your TV have this input, use it! Black & White on S-video indicates the console is using another (incompatible) colour system.
rkauer is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 08:33   #3
AmigaFun
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 99
Hello Chiptune, welcome to the forums.

This may sound daft, but make sure that on the TV you have selected 'S-Video' as an input. On our TV the AV inputs take both RGB and Composite and S-Video and you must select the correct input. The symptoms you describe sounds like it's just on composite (assuming you are checking this with just the S-Video plugged in)
We watched the entire film, Blair Witch project in black and white, thinking that was the was it was meant to be, only to find I had not pressed the button again on the remote for S-Video.
For our CD32, we have used a 'S-VIDEO' with phono audio plugs, to a SCART lead (ready made up)

If you have anything else with a S-Video output that is known, plug that in to check.
Also, years back we had problems with iffy S-Video, only to find that one pin had been pushed in in the plug. They are stupidly delicate I think.

Just a thought.

Last edited by AmigaFun; 10 February 2011 at 08:43. Reason: spelling
AmigaFun is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 13:39   #4
Chiptune
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol / UK
Posts: 10
Hi guys, thanks for the responses..

Ive plugged in the s-video cable and it is still black and white, I have chosen S-video via the tv (as I dont have a remote) and no mode gives me colour.

The composhit (as you say haha) is the one that is all distorted..

I dont have anything compatible with the cd32 that has a scart lead.. i tried plugging the composite into a scart adapter and tried that but its the same distorted picture...

Whats the best cable I can buy for the cd32?

Thanks
Chiptune is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 14:51   #5
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFun View Post
Hello Chiptune, welcome to the forums.

This may sound daft, but make sure that on the TV you have selected 'S-Video' as an input. On our TV the AV inputs take both RGB and Composite and S-Video and you must select the correct input. The symptoms you describe sounds like it's just on composite (assuming you are checking this with just the S-Video plugged in)
We watched the entire film, Blair Witch project in black and white, thinking that was the was it was meant to be, only to find I had not pressed the button again on the remote for S-Video.
For our CD32, we have used a 'S-VIDEO' with phono audio plugs, to a SCART lead (ready made up)

If you have anything else with a S-Video output that is known, plug that in to check.
Also, years back we had problems with iffy S-Video, only to find that one pin had been pushed in in the plug. They are stupidly delicate I think.

Just a thought.
Aye, used to see this alot, where customers didnt know about the switch within the S-Video function, that doubled up as the normal Video (AV) connection.
FOL is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 15:00   #6
orange
Registered User
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Three cables is called composite, better know as compoSHIT. Bit better than RF, but that all.
I disagree, composite/CVBS is much much better than RF. Most of analogue pro equipment uses CVBS out/in, for eg. Blankom SDB 209.
orange is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 15:07   #7
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
You can get little Scart Adapters like this: (With S-Video input)



Maybe one of these would help you?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 15:33   #8
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,908
May be a silly question, Are you sure the CD32 is not an NTSC model? that would only display in black and white
kipper2k is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 20:10   #9
Chiptune
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol / UK
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
May be a silly question, Are you sure the CD32 is not an NTSC model? that would only display in black and white
I dont think so, its using a UK power supply.. and the rf signal works ok (as good as this poor quality method gets)

So I assume it is a PAL machine
Chiptune is offline  
Old 10 February 2011, 20:45   #10
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiptune View Post
I dont think so, its using a UK power supply.. and the rf signal works ok (as good as this poor quality method gets)

So I assume it is a PAL machine
The CD32 uses aquite a few electrolytic capacitors so for the cost of a few quid you would be able to get replacements, just need someone to put them in for you. Thats normally the next step for sick Amigas without getting too deep
kipper2k is offline  
Old 14 February 2011, 17:22   #11
Chiptune
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol / UK
Posts: 10
Sound Problem Using S-Video

Well I managed to get the S-video cable working and the picture is amazing.. BUT now I dont have any sound...

Is this normal? I did try plugging phonos into the cd32 and then to the tv but this made the picture darker and unstable.. (plus no sound anyway)

any suggestions?

thanks
Chiptune is offline  
Old 14 February 2011, 21:12   #12
Chiptune
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol / UK
Posts: 10
Just sorted it YAY

Using S-video for image and plugged in my composite cables into front of tv - cd32 and, hey presto, I have sound!
Chiptune is offline  
Old 14 February 2011, 23:34   #13
Chiptune
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol / UK
Posts: 10
OOPS. spoke too soon..

I eventually got the s-video to work (it started off in black n white).. then I got the sound working by using a better cable from cdtv red & white phono to the red & white on front of tv..

It was ok for 30 mins or so, now it keeps flickering green stuff, constantly getting darker / lighter and generally fucking up..

I dont know whether it is to do with the pins in the s-video cable or whether the amiga itself has problems..

any help would be much appreciated!

Cheers
Chiptune is offline  
Old 15 February 2011, 03:26   #14
Chiptune
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bristol / UK
Posts: 10
I think the Amiga is complete f*cked to be honest. now even using the rf lead results in green flickering and colour changes.. It can be fine for 10 minutes and then it goes crazy..

Does this mean the machine is broken internally?

I opened it up and everything seemed alright.. but then I dont know what Im doing..

Please can someone help me?
Chiptune is offline  
Old 16 February 2011, 06:24   #15
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Most common problems are bad capacitors (the two bigger ones inside the CD32 are usually soldered the wrong way).

A bad or about-to-die power supply can be the culprit, too. But very unlikely in this case.
rkauer is offline  
Old 16 February 2011, 10:06   #16
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,690
S-Video SCART are usually non RGB SCART (usually second or third SCART in TV)
pandy71 is offline  
Old 17 February 2011, 06:13   #17
Djay
aka breakpoint

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brighton / UK
Age: 44
Posts: 3,091
i recently bought a CD32 from an ebay seller, sadly i had to return it because the picture on composite was screwed, the rf picture worked but of course the picture was awful...

...the unit smelled of fish which is a sign that the caps are dead or dying

you could try talking to Amigakit.com as they could repair it... (if it is that problem)
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=932

one of these days i am gonna ask them for commission
Djay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display Problems on A1200 campbl2 support.Hardware 6 26 May 2010 22:12
Display problems ginge73 support.Hardware 8 20 July 2009 11:21
Amiga 2000 Display & Work bench problems! CalvinH support.Hardware 7 09 May 2009 05:39
Amiga Tower display problems technium support.Hardware 5 04 April 2006 23:49
Display Problems with WinUAE 0.9.92 Lorday support.WinUAE 5 19 February 2005 01:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08177 seconds with 15 queries