English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 January 2020, 03:23   #3641
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
Great news

So what IC’s are needed for this upgrade?
From what I gather the original 256MB Apocalypse boards had 9pcs Samsung K4S560832B. I couldn't find these so I just used 9xMT48LC32M8A2P-6A:G TR. These are 166MHz so they should have a little more headroom.
The original 128MB chips on the Apocalypse should be or similar to MT48LC16M8. While 512MB on the Ragnarok should be or similar to MT48LC64M8.
*OT* See Stedy, I didn't order the wrong bank size/bits this time.
Configuration:
Test Desktop
A4000D RevB 16MB Buster11 SF450 Power Supply in A4000 PSU case
CSMK2-060@50MHz, 128MB
Mediator Black 3.3V
4) Some SCSI card (not in use except for termination)
4z) A4091 SCSI->IDE->SSD, 256GB
3) Apocalypse 256MB 7410@450MHz on Ramix
2) Video Card
1) SB128 CT5808-this one doesn't take any PCI space while other SB128s do.
0)<-Mediator Bridge->

Ran GLQuake for about 2 1/2 hours at different resolutions-640x480 800x480 960x540 and a few other applications, seems stable.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 18 January 2020 at 05:57.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 12:37   #3642
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 111
Great!

Some foto from upgrade process?

So what q3 and rtcw on this like? What fps?
k0x is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 14:33   #3643
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
From what I gather the original 256MB Apocalypse boards had 9pcs Samsung K4S560832B. I couldn't find these so I just used 9xMT48LC32M8A2P-6A:G TR. These are 166MHz so they should have a little more headroom.
The original 128MB chips on the Apocalypse should be or similar to MT48LC16M8. While 512MB on the Ragnarok should be or similar to MT48LC64M8.
Great - thanks for the info.
AMike is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 16:34   #3644
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0x View Post
Great!

Some foto from upgrade process?

So what q3 and rtcw on this like? What fps?

I think this the only picture after the RAM was removed.






I'll have to test those later I don't have them on this HDD.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 19:37   #3645
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 109
So is it worth finding 512mb IC’s for it or will its memory be limited like my sonnet is when I use a 256mb ATI?
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 19:53   #3646
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
So is it worth finding 512mb IC’s for it or will its memory be limited like my sonnet is when I use a 256mb ATI?
Are the ones we bough 128mb or 256mb?

I think even 128mb should be enough for most stuff?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 19:58   #3647
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Done. 128MB replaced with 256MB just by replacing the chips. I did this in the worst possible way and the room was too cold, so I ended up with a lot of cold solder joints.
Congratulations

Probably, if you will change to 512MB, it should work too
BULI is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 20:10   #3648
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 109
Sonnet 7200 PCI programming

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Are the ones we bough 128mb or 256mb?
I think even 128mb should be enough for most stuff?
Yes matey the ones from the Israel eBay guy are the 128mb ones (well that's what I can see in the eBay pictures)

It's to do with the last 4 numbers, ours are 1259

1259 = 128mb
1261 = 256mb
1269 = 256mb
2261 = 256mb
2269 = 512mb

They also have other differences.

got my info from this datasheet

https://gidjulietstorage1.blob.core....873223792.pdf"

here is a manual too I believe.

https://datasheet.octopart.com/PRPMC...t-11765990.pdf

Last edited by Timtheloon; 18 January 2020 at 20:26.
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 20:28   #3649
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
So is it worth finding 512mb IC’s for it or will its memory be limited like my sonnet is when I use a 256mb ATI?
Total amount of PCI Space is 512MB per the Mediator, unless someone thinks of a hack, spell, enchantment or another PCI Busboard to get around this.
Ragnarok can support up to 384MB with a Voodoo 3, as the Voodoo 3 takes up something like 64MB (or is it 32MB) of space. With a Radeon 128MB which takes up 256MB total, Ragnarok drops down to 256MB of space. Some other PCI devices take up some space too, so if you have 256MB PPC board, 256MB Radeon, you can't add anything else, unless the PPC board drops down to 128MB. Sonnet and Rapture are different because of the MPC107 bridge, unlike the Harrier it doesn't have an extra register to add it in two chunks as with the Ragnarok. So it has to be aligned on a 128MB boundary.
Should be a topic for a wiki article to explain this better.
Obligatory screenshot, ignore the garbage in the Quake window, that's just SGrab trying to grab the framebuffer while it's running at 74FPS.


Last edited by grelbfarlk; 18 January 2020 at 20:36.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 20:58   #3650
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 109
Thanks grelbfarlk
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 21:28   #3651
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 257
74FPS
BULI is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 21:42   #3652
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 111
How fast is same settings with Ragnarok?
k0x is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 21:53   #3653
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Take the number with a boulder of salt, on the same system with Ragnarok it's about 94FPS.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 21:54   #3654
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks for the info Tim.

@grelbfarlk

That's phat, I really need to get an A4000 again
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 22:05   #3655
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Thanks for the info Tim.

@grelbfarlk

That's phat, I really need to get an A4000 again
you need to stop selling your stuff when you get bored with it
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 22:14   #3656
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Take the number with a boulder of salt, on the same system with Ragnarok it's about 94FPS.

94FPS in demo1? WOW

QuakeWOS-gcc_7 or another version?
With what parameters do you start Quake (config?)?
BULI is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 22:17   #3657
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
94FPS in demo1? WOW

QuakeWOS-gcc_7 or another version?
With what parameters do you start Quake (config?)?
Uh you know normal parameters. I can't really say more about it. Want to know how fast it runs in 1280x720 though?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 23:14   #3658
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Uh you know normal parameters. I can't really say more about it. Want to know how fast it runs in 1280x720 though?

I'm asking because I have on my config (A4000 and Ragnarok 800mhz) 56,8 FPS !?

I see on screenshot that you use old version GLQuakeWOS, version 6.00?

Last edited by BULI; 18 January 2020 at 23:24.
BULI is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 23:47   #3659
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
I'm asking because I have on my config (A4000 and Ragnarok 800mhz) 56,8 FPS !?

I see on screenshot that you use old version GLQuakeWOS, version 6.00?
Yeah again, test desktop, I thought I had updated it on this machine, the newer versions gain a couple FPS.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 18 January 2020, 23:51   #3660
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Yeah again, test desktop, I thought I had updated it on this machine, the newer versions gain a couple FPS.

Never mind of the version, but on my Ragnarok I have near half FPS less, than you on your! Right, 56 FPS to 94 FPS?
BULI is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 01:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 01:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 16:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.20468 seconds with 16 queries