English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 July 2018, 10:23   #61
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
well scans of PCBs is now not needed.. as I am doing final tests of my cadfile..
so far I ave tested all points from videooutputarea, lisa, gayle, alice, videodac and surroundings. halp of topside left to check and test. so in a week everything should be done. THEN time to rip off stuff and do changes. (actually now most the videoarea changing to another way of getting composite and/or svideo. RF will be no more
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 12:11   #62
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
All pads have now been verified. (ok there is a SLIGHT risc something is missed) now it is time to verify the componentlist. putting out values of all USED components on the board like I did on the 3660. (SMALL text. I know ) this is hopefully done today..

then I will rip up parts of the video circuit and replace it with a more modern one. (no more RF!)

but Audio. should I use a 3.5mm and maybe try to get a Svideo slot in one of the RCA slots (not checked if it will phyically fit yet) or have 2 RCAs as it is?
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 12:19   #63
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 497
Personally I'd want the RCA's
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 12:24   #64
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,179
Could 3.5mm audio and s-video both fit to the space left by the RF modulator, or did you have other plans for that cutout? I haven't looked at the dimensions of the case in detail.
ajk is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 12:26   #65
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
Could 3.5mm audio and s-video both fit to the space left by the RF modulator, or did you have other plans for that cutout? I haven't looked at the dimensions of the case in detail.


vGA port I believe
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 13:31   #66
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
I have planned a VGA port there (15KHz) but MAYBE a Svideo / RCA combination (you only have one!) would be possible where the composite is
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 13:38   #67
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Svideo / RCA combination (you only have one!)
So, you mean forced mono in one RCA jack? That's a no go for me for music purposes, and I believe others would agree.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 13:48   #68
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
nonono where the composite is. a RCA for Composite or Svideo for Svideo. and for audio let the RCA be as it is
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 13:49   #69
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
nonono where the composite is. a RCA for Composite or Svideo for Svideo. and for autiop let the RCA be as it is
Ah, thanks for clarification. That's totally fine with me. ^^
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 13:50   #70
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
I WILL however put an optional jumper for "always mono" as it is how I want it..
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 14:21   #71
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
I WILL however put an optional jumper for "always mono" as it is how I want it..
It's nice having the option at least.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 14:36   #72
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
Not doing music and the hard separation kills me when using my headphones..
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 15:08   #73
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,179
Now that you mention it, how about a possibility to install an audio mixer with a pot for an adjustable level of separation? Wouldn't take much space on the board and it could be left unpopulated for original functionality.
ajk is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 15:22   #74
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
been thinking of it.. have to see..
I want to do a run quite soon to know is this is working. so maybe in coming revision
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 15:24   #75
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
been thinking of it.. have to see..
I want to do a run quite soon to know is this is working. so maybe in coming revision
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 15:59   #76
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,503
What about a combined footprint that lets you install the 2x RCAs *or* a 3.5mm jack at the same position?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 18:53   #77
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 76
The more output formats, the better. If you can fit Svideo on one RCA (i think this should fit) and a 3.5 stereo out audio and on the other side vga and composite, or whatever, the better it is. Go for it ...great work Chucky
katarakt is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 19:45   #78
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476


teaser how I think I will order the boards. in process of finalizing the 1:1 1d.4 file..
Chucky is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 20:03   #79
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 117
Looking good Chucky! If you're going to start doing changes to accommodate VGA/S-Video etc, why not remove the RGB port? Can't the VGA port include RGB signals?
talybont is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 20:04   #80
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by talybont View Post
Looking good Chucky! If you're going to start doing changes to accommodate VGA/S-Video etc, why not remove the RGB port? Can't the VGA port include RGB signals?


Compatibility
Marlon_ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Fund the Amiga 4000 Replica Project! Acill Amiga scene 75 15 August 2018 05:03
Amiga PCB Explorer (A4000 Desktop PCB Rev B) SuperPlay Amiga scene 6 04 January 2018 16:21
A1200 recap progress Acill Hardware pics 1 18 September 2016 03:21
A1200 power pinout on the pcb? spoUP Amiga scene 4 21 June 2013 03:00
My A1200 progress ck1200 Hardware mods 19 07 October 2010 19:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09176 seconds with 13 queries