English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 April 2018, 13:30   #21
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,502
Yep, I mentioned the standard API issue before... That opportunity was missed with the clockport, and as a result drivers have to probe the hardware themselves, with the potential to upset other hardware and drivers, and with things like clockport splitters having to be explicitly supported by the driver instead of simply attempting to open the clockport with a relevant unit number.

As for whether this interface would work with a clockport splitter, that depends on how the driver is written. It *should* work with a Prisma in most cases since the Prisma can be used on any port whereas non-splitter-aware drivers will only work on port 0. The only issue might be funky behaviour of either board from probing reads/writes of the other's driver.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 April 2018, 17:20   #22
Lemaru
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Berks, UK
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Just make sure it can also be connected via cable - there are more clockports than just on the A1200 mobo.
Another one for this! As would be great to have in an A600 but would need to be connected by a cable
Lemaru is offline  
Old 16 April 2018, 20:55   #23
AwoLStill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 83
Excellent, great to see!
I too am very interested.
AwoLStill is offline  
Old 17 April 2018, 15:02   #24
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,211
Great project!

This will work on the clockport of a Deneb? If so, interested in three!
trixster is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 23:56   #25
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
Great project!

This will work on the clockport of a Deneb? If so, interested in three!
I have not tested yet, but it should work.
spidi is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 23:58   #26
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Progress - 80%

[ Show youtube player ]
spidi is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 00:08   #27
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 486
Spidi what transfer rate you getting?

At the end of video you faded out just before that critical 'speed' test lol
solidcore is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 10:50   #28
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 376
Speed is probably limited at ca. 100-150 kb/s in best case due to the clock port.

Still great I'd say.

Take my money!!!

McTrinsic is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 12:02   #29
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidcore View Post
Spidi what transfer rate you getting?

At the end of video you faded out just before that critical 'speed' test lol
Speed test for two types of SD cards (SD and SDHC).
Test system - Amiga 1200 14MHz, 2MB Chip Ram, SPI controller for clock port.

[ Show youtube player ]
spidi is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 12:29   #30
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
Speed test for two types of SD cards (SD and SDHC).
Test system - Amiga 1200 14MHz, 2MB Chip Ram, SPI controller for clock port.

[ Show youtube player ]
SD speeds at about 50,000 I expect on the clock port, can you tell me exactly how you managed to achieve 11,000,000 though on the sdhc? I'm not calling you out to be a lair I just don't understand how you've achieved that performance and for me it makes me think an error somewhere?, for us on the a1200 expansion board we're lookin at 187,000 at 14mhz on any SD card right now, so perhaps there are options to explore to improve performance here ourselves say 25mhz SPI. Perhaps you can tell me the details of the SD card itself make/class etc and the spi clock. any particular CMD's you're using and block size. We'd all like to hear it? Thanks mate.

Edit or sysinfo is being silly, let's find a reliable speed test tool and stick to it ? hmm

Last edited by solidcore; 25 April 2018 at 12:36.
solidcore is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 12:31   #31
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 678
Blimey, that SDHC makes a bit of a difference!

How many devices (CS lines) does the adaptor support?
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 15:18   #32
lord of time
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 56
I would like to buy one of these too but to use in my a600 on the 604 expansions clock ports.
lord of time is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 23:04   #33
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidcore View Post
SD speeds at about 50,000 I expect on the clock port, can you tell me exactly how you managed to achieve 11,000,000 though on the sdhc? I'm not calling you out to be a lair I just don't understand how you've achieved that performance and for me it makes me think an error somewhere?, for us on the a1200 expansion board we're lookin at 187,000 at 14mhz on any SD card right now, so perhaps there are options to explore to improve performance here ourselves say 25mhz SPI. Perhaps you can tell me the details of the SD card itself make/class etc and the spi clock. any particular CMD's you're using and block size. We'd all like to hear it? Thanks mate.

Edit or sysinfo is being silly, let's find a reliable speed test tool and stick to it ? hmm
It is possible that this is an bug in SysInfo.
My SPI controller has a maximum clock of 25MHz.
The same SPI controller in the Wicher500i card 50MHz shows a transfer rate of 48MB/s for any SDHC card and 250kB/s for a regular SD card.
spidi is offline  
Old 25 April 2018, 23:05   #34
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
Blimey, that SDHC makes a bit of a difference!

How many devices (CS lines) does the adaptor support?
4 CS lines.
spidi is offline  
Old 26 April 2018, 14:09   #35
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 819
That looks very suspicious considering the speed of the clockport itself is a few 100 kbytes/sec.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 26 April 2018, 14:14   #36
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
It is possible that this is an bug in SysInfo.
My SPI controller has a maximum clock of 25MHz.
The same SPI controller in the Wicher500i card 50MHz shows a transfer rate of 48MB/s for any SDHC card and 250kB/s for a regular SD card.
Yeah that's what I am thinking. I believe either driver is bugged or sysinfo. Either way It's awesome work. I need to get round to trying 25mhz clock on the a1200 expansion bus, atm I'm limited to PAL/2 over a wire or Amiga clk input. Will play with adding a 25mhz ext clock. are you still using 512 blocks read/write or higher for SDHC , say 4096 ??

Last edited by solidcore; 26 April 2018 at 14:22.
solidcore is offline  
Old 26 April 2018, 16:33   #37
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
That looks very suspicious considering the speed of the clockport itself is a few 100 kbytes/sec.
Out of curiosity, I'm investigating the matter.
Fortunately, it does not affect the correct operation of the driver with SDHC cards.
spidi is offline  
Old 26 April 2018, 16:37   #38
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidcore View Post
Yeah that's what I am thinking. I believe either driver is bugged or sysinfo. Either way It's awesome work. I need to get round to trying 25mhz clock on the a1200 expansion bus, atm I'm limited to PAL/2 over a wire or Amiga clk input. Will play with adding a 25mhz ext clock. are you still using 512 blocks read/write or higher for SDHC , say 4096 ??
I use 512 blocks (this is in most cases the default configuration on SD cards).
spidi is offline  
Old 26 April 2018, 16:44   #39
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 486
Spidi, okay unsure then how this is happening or achieving greater performance than a couple hundred KB/sec without it being a bug. Are you faking the CRC's with 0xFF?
solidcore is offline  
Old 06 May 2018, 23:50   #40
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 376
Any chance of an update ?
I'm craving to get one for Ethernet on my Miggy.
McTrinsic is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help please A1200 rev 1b motherboard with 40 pin clock port chocsplease support.Hardware 37 14 March 2017 19:14
bad A1200 clock port possible? Prosonic support.Hardware 1 10 December 2016 10:00
Clock port connectors Graz support.Hardware 1 22 June 2014 12:22
Changing video port master clock BuckoA51 support.Hardware 4 24 June 2012 18:10
Using Subway clock port cable with Delfina phipscube support.Hardware 6 19 June 2010 11:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08983 seconds with 13 queries