English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 February 2018, 13:32   #41
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
Serialport is important for DiagROM. (that will be very useful for debugging) but a db9 port. make it more modern.
external floppy. well I can handle without it. do as AmyITX, they have used unused pins of the internal 34pin floppyconnector to handle more drives. then people can do a connector by themselved for external. if they want to.
Chucky is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 14:37   #42
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 613
I'd definitely keep Zorro slots on the board, I'd love a new(er) A4000 motherboard for ATX cases but I also have a lot of Zorro II/III cards that I don't want to give up.

I'd want the A4000 experience.....Zorro boards, video slot, etc..

I agree with Chuck on changing as little as possible on your first design to make sure you have everything working, then start making your desired changes.
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 16:09   #43
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 83
Yes i agree with changing as little as possible. But there are things that can be easily left out, because they aren't connected on Standard.

Does the A4000D need a Riser Board to work?

Zorro is neat yes. But won't be unhappy to let that work be in queue for next Revision. A running version would be nice first.

The 23 pin Video out is a pain in the ass too......

Which Pins aren't needed? I would opt for a D-Sub 15 instead if possible......but don't know if someone needs specific pins.

Any suggestions?
elenachen is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 16:13   #44
Bprepared
Registered User

Bprepared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Cirencester, UK
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by elenachen View Post
Yes i agree with changing as little as possible. But there are things that can be easily left out, because they aren't connected on Standard.

Does the A4000D need a Riser Board to work?

The 23 pin Video out is a pain in the ass too......

Which Pins aren't needed? I would opt for a D-Sub 15 instead if possible......but don't know if someone needs specific pins.

Any suggestions?
I would suggest configuring it like the Minimig scart as they seem to be becoming the defacto standard for modern expansions now. that way you can drop the RGBi and genlock pins. (unless anyone has particular wish to keep them in)
Bprepared is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 16:15   #45
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Amigakit does an adapter that allows the 23 way RGB to be converted to suit 15 way VGA. OK so it doesn't allow all modes but it does work to a fashion. Perhaps you could get some info on what pins go where with that device?
MigaTech is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 16:30   #46
SnkBitten
Amithlon Fanatic

SnkBitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lexington, SC / US
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by elenachen View Post
Yes i agree with changing as little as possible. But there are things that can be easily left out, because they aren't connected on Standard.

Does the A4000D need a Riser Board to work?

Zorro is neat yes. But won't be unhappy to let that work be in queue for next Revision. A running version would be nice first.

The 23 pin Video out is a pain in the ass too......

Which Pins aren't needed? I would opt for a D-Sub 15 instead if possible......but don't know if someone needs specific pins.

Any suggestions?
A riser "daughter board" is not required like the A4000T as the slots are on the motherboard. Video slot is good for Video Toaster, Scandoubler/flicker fixers, etc.. My Cybervision 64/3d with Scandoubler uses a video slot and Zorro slot and my Video Toasters use a Video slot (good thing the A4000T has two of those slots).

My thoughts are that if it's the A4000 you are duplicating, have the features an A4000 had in support of the boards available for the A4000 (Toaster 4000, Scandoubler/FlickerFixer's, etc..).

My A4000D is using Video (Toaster 4000) and Zorro (Picasso II).
My A4000T is using every slot available (both Video and all all accessible Zorro).

Just my opinion....
SnkBitten is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 16:46   #47
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnkBitten View Post
A riser "daughter board" is not required like the A4000T as the slots are on the motherboard. Video slot is good for Video Toaster, Scandoubler/flicker fixers, etc.. My Cybervision 64/3d with Scandoubler uses a video slot and Zorro slot and my Video Toasters use a Video slot (good thing the A4000T has two of those slots).

My thoughts are that if it's the A4000 you are duplicating, have the features an A4000 had in support of the boards available for the A4000 (Toaster 4000, Scandoubler/FlickerFixer's, etc..).

My A4000D is using Video (Toaster 4000) and Zorro (Picasso II).
My A4000T is using every slot available (both Video and all all accessible Zorro).

Just my opinion....
Good thing to know, what's still needed in the Community. Thx!

Will most likely build a Prototype without that interfaces. And adding them after testing.
elenachen is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 19:42   #48
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Serialport is important for DiagROM. (that will be very useful for debugging) but a db9 port. make it more modern.
I like those boards that come with built in rs232-usb chip, so just an "android cable" is needed to get serial console
kolla is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 20:06   #49
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by MigaTech View Post
Amigakit does an adapter that allows the 23 way RGB to be converted to suit 15 way VGA. OK so it doesn't allow all modes but it does work to a fashion. Perhaps you could get some info on what pins go where with that device?
Looked at the Pinout of that Adapter and the Standard VGA Pinout. I'll add a +5V line to it, to be sure old monitors work correctly and voila....^^
elenachen is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 20:41   #50
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 83
Hmm, on the Power Input Pins to the A4000D Boards is a _FAIL pin. Does the Power Supply hold that low till it's rails are stable? Or is there another reason for this, does the logic on the Board pull that low on failure? Maybe someone could measure that pin? Sry have no A4000 yet

Last edited by elenachen; 28 February 2018 at 21:07.
elenachen is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 21:13   #51
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by elenachen View Post
Looked at the Pinout of that Adapter and the Standard VGA Pinout. I'll add a +5V line to it, to be sure old monitors work correctly and voila....^^
Ingenious !!
MigaTech is offline  
Old 28 February 2018, 21:47   #52
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by MigaTech View Post
Ingenious !!
Well, at least if they're 15khz compatible. Scandoubler etc. is a thing for later. The minimig probably had no 5V rail to feed the 5V pin so they left it out.
elenachen is offline  
Old 01 March 2018, 11:42   #53
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 83
So, the _FAIL line goes high if the PSU becomes stable. Are there any obsolete Jumpers? In which cases is sync on green used for example?

Ahh and of course it'll be open sourced ;-)

Last edited by elenachen; 01 March 2018 at 15:19.
elenachen is offline  
Old 01 March 2018, 22:31   #54
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,678
You should get a soldering iron, it might come in handy if you're going to build a computer.

Oh, and you need a motherboard and a processor as well.
idrougge is offline  
Old 01 March 2018, 22:49   #55
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 83
A bit chaotic atm. Should be enough?

Building schematics in kicad for now. This'll take a while since it's a fun project and only spare time goes in there. Want to get as much information as possible about what's obsolete in the schematics --> like the 8M Chipram jumper in the schematics.... Don't want to implement such things later in PCB Layout.....

I'll give it my best!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180301_213801.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	507.7 KB
ID:	57091  
elenachen is offline  
Old 02 March 2018, 13:46   #56
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Some nice equipment there !!
MigaTech is offline  
Old 02 March 2018, 13:58   #57
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 280
Best of luck and don't forget to keep us updated on progress!
Mick is offline  
Old 02 March 2018, 21:05   #58
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 523
Why not have the connectors as internal headers with rows of pin pairs?
Then you attach a flat cable to a break-out connector in one of the back slots. AFAIK that is how Amiga tower designs have been.
NorthWay is offline  
Old 02 March 2018, 21:12   #59
elenachen
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nürnberg
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
Why not have the connectors as internal headers with rows of pin pairs?
Then you attach a flat cable to a break-out connector in one of the back slots. AFAIK that is how Amiga tower designs have been.
I want to use the ATX Shield if possible for that. Should be possible.

Still on first page.....this'll really take a while
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ATX4000.pdf (67.9 KB, 116 views)
elenachen is offline  
Old 02 March 2018, 21:21   #60
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
@elenachen, how big is this new board of yours going to be? I ask this as an idea of converting existing PC cases to suit your design.
MigaTech is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 Motherboard rev F 1time support.Hardware 7 31 July 2012 19:09
Try repair an a4000 motherboard - help TTD support.Hardware 69 14 November 2011 00:03
My DIY A4000 tower Secret Vampire Hardware pics 1 29 July 2006 18:12
[FA] A4000 Motherboard scan_x MarketPlace 6 15 March 2004 16:19
[FA] A4000 Motherboard scan_x MarketPlace 2 12 January 2004 10:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09152 seconds with 14 queries