English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 July 2017, 22:20   #1
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
A3640 Rev 3.3 PCBs

As some of you might know.

Some months ago I did a retrace of the A3640 by tracing off from pictures of empty A3640 boards.

I always been thinking of doing PCBs of this and check if they actually can boot.
so I took a A3640 that was beyond repair.. sanded off all paint.. scanned it.. and doublechecked my traces using this as a backgroundphoto.

found some issues. corrected them. then I was thinking. WHY not.... but IF I do it. why not do some mods.
so I did.

I did the delayline mod allowing you to clock it to 33/66MHz
I added possability of using both types of oscillators.
I did the resethack on C400 that exists on some boards, so no jumperwire is needed.

I added some informative text on silkscreen of important signals on CPU slot and resistorpacks (to make debug more easy maybe)

I did an extra check so traces is not too close, holes etc. (hopefully)
I did a (bad) rework of VCC/GND lines (software I use seems not to support planes.. so had to do traces between points..)
so GND/VCC design will be total shit.. but hopefully this thing WORKS..


and.. actually DID order a bunch.. 4 layer board is not free.. and dirtypcb was actually kinda expensive here.. so I use seedstudio.

this is a render of the final product:


using "Swedish" colors.. yes..

and this is a render from the software I am using (Sprint layout)




I will build one. I will sell some PCBs but not assembled stuff.

IF it boots.. I guess I need to learn eagle or kicad and transfer it to that software.
(plasmab.. skip your work with the 3640 for the moment.. I did sooo much changes.. you should do your TF stuff anyway )


Anyway with all changes etc. Rev3.3 is a fitting name
Chucky is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 22:25   #2
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 117
Whoa!!
talybont is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 22:26   #3
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 231
Wonderful work! I would like to either buy some blank boards when this is done or roll my own if this is an open project. I own Sprint Layout, are the 3.3 A3640 files available?
Magic is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 22:28   #4
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
I will update my files on my page in some minutes...
Chucky is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 22:32   #5
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 447
Very, very interested in a board if they work!
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 22:37   #6
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
Did a update of my original post on my web:

http://wordpress.hertell.nu/?page_id=514
Chucky is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 22:38   #7
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
And when posting this on the "Commodore Amiga" group on Facebook I got a lot of questions: why do you not add the 040-060 adapter..

hey. I want this thing to work first. with as small mods as possible to avoid issues.
and I am NO HW designer atall.. (and you will see that with the GND/VCC planes )
Chucky is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 22:40   #8
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 447
Surprised you didn't get people asking if you can integrate a PPC cpu
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 22:59   #9
Acill
Tech Guru

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Flibble View Post
Surprised you didn't get people asking if you can integrate a PPC cpu
Oh he did, lol!!! Well done Chucky! Glad to see it moving on and cant wait to see the finished board here so I can start building and testing one.
Acill is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 23:29   #10
esc
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Flibble View Post
Surprised you didn't get people asking if you can integrate a PPC cpu
Also RAM, ethernet, USB, m.2 esata... :P

Nice work!
 
Old 20 July 2017, 00:14   #11
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
And when posting this on the "Commodore Amiga" group on Facebook I got a lot of questions: why do you not add the 040-060 adapter..

hey. I want this thing to work first. with as small mods as possible to avoid issues.
and I am NO HW designer atall.. (and you will see that with the GND/VCC planes )
We'll add some Terrible Fire later.. But my backlog it quite big already.
plasmab is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 00:22   #12
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,468
Since everyone stole my jokes already, I'll just say good job!

Next step get someone who is good with VHDL combine those GALs into one large CPLD to make room for the USB, SCSI, SATA, PPC and PCI bus... and RAM.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 00:25   #13
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
And get rid of that terrible delayline. that 74F1803 that is hard to get (and costs shitload)

well.. simply redesign the shit out of it ..
Chucky is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 00:31   #14
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
Since everyone stole my jokes already, I'll just say good job!

Next step get someone who is good with VHDL combine those GALs into one large CPLD to make room for the USB, SCSI, SATA, PPC and PCI bus... and RAM.
I have an automated process for doing that.
plasmab is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 00:57   #15
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
And get rid of that terrible delayline. that 74F1803 that is hard to get (and costs shitload)

well.. simply redesign the shit out of it ..
My .02 is instead of defaulting to the CLK90 mod being on you should add a jumper for that or an 0 ohm resistor with three pads like 1-2 ON 2-3 OFF (or original config).

Quote:
I have an automated process for doing that.
Great!

Speedgeek would probably have many ideas to integrate a lot of his crazy mods into the design as well. One of his modifications was to replace many of the resistor nets with higher rated versions, I'd have to dig out my notes to find which ones. And he had other very interesting things regarding new functionality like what some people are half joking about adding.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 01:41   #16
thebajaguy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Philadelphia / United States
Posts: 46
Nice work John. Step one is to put the known working mods into play. Want list is round two, wish list comes after that...

I personally want the 68060 F00000 ROM code to fix the FPU (enable/disable). It probably would be something small enough to code into a custom chip if/when things get to that point.
thebajaguy is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 02:39   #17
dalek
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NSW/Australia
Posts: 227
Oh wow! That's so cool Great to see you guys are making the source available for these hardware projects so they can be accessible to everyone!
dalek is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 08:13   #18
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 476
The amiga had enough of closed stuff..
Chucky is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 15:37   #19
arananet
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Madrid
Posts: 32
Congratulations Chucky, looks awesome!
arananet is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 16:30   #20
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 803
The one million dollar question is: where can we find the CPU slot connectors?
alenppc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commodore A3640 Rev. 3.1 watchdog mod trixeo Hardware mods 2 01 March 2014 12:45
A3640 rev 3.2 bpco MarketPlace 1 27 May 2010 10:15
FS: Minimig PCBs and Keyrah FS Kristian95 MarketPlace 7 03 October 2007 13:33
Ebay at 1 USD : A3640 Rev 3.1 for Amiga 4000 running at 32 Mhz !!! Effy MarketPlace 21 01 August 2005 16:05
A3640 Rev 3.0 accelerator card problem Tony Landais support.Hardware 3 23 December 2003 10:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11020 seconds with 14 queries