English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2016, 00:20   #81
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
BB-rilliant. Can you kindly show me the SMTP config options?

Cheers!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 00:55   #82
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
in my last post i added something about the menu problem - it seems winuae related.
so you wont get that trouble on real amiga - i hope

and speedwise, it is ok - most slowdown, when a new mui window ( configuartion) will open.
but beside this, it is working acceptable and I hope the option will fit your needs

#1) this configuration window is very large, so my advice to set the screen to at least 640x400 or 512,
as described in last posting.

#2) second image shows memory usage - my system is 1MB chip and 8MB fastram.
IIRC this is what you have in your amiga - yep, fits your signature.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	simplemail3.png
Views:	91
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	48643   Click image for larger version

Name:	simplemail4.png
Views:	81
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	48644  

Last edited by emufan; 29 May 2016 at 01:03.
emufan is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 02:35   #83
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
Perfect! It fits the SMTP requirements. Can't wait to try it out!

Cheers!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 04:25   #84
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
ok, cool. report back how it goes, or if you run into problems.
emufan is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 07:19   #85
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
Gah, you worked so hard, and I'm really grateful, but it's just not usable.

- The menus are a real problem. I've tried every possible combination of resolutions including the ones you mentioned, and the menus only appeared once, then it crashed. I can't get the menus back now, even with 640x512x16 laced or non laced.

- Clicking NEW on the toolbar crashes the machine. Closing SimpleMail crashes the machine. I can't flick back to WB using the top-right window button. So many little problems. Plus it takes so long to load.

I'm going to maintain that I need to get YAM working.

Thank you SO much anyway!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 23:28   #86
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
that's a pitty - the crashs i only got, but only when the menus were not visble.
so it seems a problem with simplemail somehow. i'm clueless at the moment.
emufan is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 23:47   #87
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
If we could definitively fix the menus there's hope. But I can't figure out why they only appeared once then never again...

Cheers!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 01:50   #88
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
If we could definitively fix the menus there's hope. But I can't figure out why they only appeared once then never again...

Cheers!
I'm not sure why it does happen - in winuae i only can cope with it, when i change the "immediate blitter" setting. it is "less compatible" so winuae pop-up help says.

if you are in the mood again, try again with some larger screensizes.
choose maybe Hires 640x512/400 and change the default values to maybe 800x600.
emufan is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 02:23   #89
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
OK I'll try!

Cheers!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 06:39   #90
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
800x600 brought back the menus (for now)! Now I'm waiting for the Configuration window to appear...

<time passes>

10 mins later, I'm wondering how long this Configuration window should take to appear?...
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 09:08   #91
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
800x600 brought back the menus (for now)! Now I'm waiting for the Configuration window to appear...

<time passes>

10 mins later, I'm wondering how long this Configuration window should take to appear?...
*aaargh*
i'm running here the a500 setup in "apporximate a500" speed - and it takes maybe 20-25 second
until the config window comes up - ok it is not fast, but "ok"

one thing you can try, if you get the menus again,
under settings, disable "show adress book" and " show quick filters"
you can now make the main window a little bit smaller and then save settings.
but do not change screensize.
this speeds up things a bit. maybe this will help

Last edited by emufan; 31 May 2016 at 09:16.
emufan is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 19:18   #92
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,338
Floppy disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Unfortunately StarGateV2.5.lha is corrupt. Have tried twice. If you have a moment to recreate the archive that would be lovely

Edit: Airmail and AEMail are corrupt too. "Unknown compression." Probably all of them are. I've been using lha x for years and never seen this problem. :|
Just re-upped all of them (except StarGate V2.5) and have thrown a new one into the mix (Microdot-II V1.4).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Update: I found Stargate 2.2 but it keeps crashing ramlib. Doesn't bode well for that app.
Did you try the StarGate V2.5 archive that I re-upped the other night? Might remedy whatever bug you encountered in V2.2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
meanwhile i made a 68000 KS3.1 WB 3.1 setup and installed SimpleMail.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Gah, you worked so hard, and I'm really grateful, but it's just not usable.

- Clicking NEW on the toolbar crashes the machine. Closing SimpleMail crashes the machine. I can't flick back to WB using the top-right window button. So many little problems. Plus it takes so long to load.
The latest version of SimpleMail would be slower than molasses on a 68000 set-up! Geez, I remember YAM V2.3 being tediously slow at times to use on your style set-up with 2MB chipram and an 030/50 accelerator, so SimpleMail would absolutely blow chunks on 68000 since it's graphically more intensive than YAM and more advanced in terms of features.

Having said that, though, SimpleMail might be the only email client on the Amiga that fits your needs (port selection + smtp auth on/off). Consequently, I have upped some earlier versions of SimpleMail. V0.12 was the last alpha version requiring 68000/WB 3.0 before the release of the first public beta, which stated the need for higher specs (i.e. 68020+, 2MB+ ram). Of the versions in the Zone, I recommend trying SimpleMail V0.4 first and then working your way up to V0.12 and V0.14 (if you need to).

If you completely crap out with the earlier versions of SimpleMail, then give the other email clients in the Zone a try (begin with StarGate and Microdot-II, then work your way through the others if necessary).

That's probably all the help I can give you at this point. All the best and let us all know how you go!

Last edited by DrBong; 31 May 2016 at 19:23.
DrBong is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 20:11   #93
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
the older versions of Simplemail by DrBong are running with the same MUI requirements.
so nothing new has to be installed - just tested 0.12.
0.4 is also working - no menu at all, just use the image buttons.
server settings look identical to 0.42 version (smtp missing secure connection only).
worth a test. thanks DrBong.

Last edited by emufan; 31 May 2016 at 20:17.
emufan is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 20:36   #94
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
Edit: Ignore this post

Last edited by Starglider 2; 31 May 2016 at 21:06.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 20:48   #95
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
Try WinRAR on the PC to see if the files are damaged.
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 21:06   #96
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
Edit: Ignore post above. After I updated my lha version I was able to extract these archives. Must have been done using a newer algorithm incompatible with original lha. Now testing emailers... Thank you SO much!!!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 21:25   #97
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
Just re-upped all of them (except StarGate V2.5) and have thrown a new one into the mix (Microdot-II V1.4).
... I have upped some earlier versions of SimpleMail. V0.12 was the last alpha version requiring 68000/WB 3.0 before the release of the first public beta, which stated the need for higher specs (i.e. 68020+, 2MB+ ram). Of the versions in the Zone, I recommend trying SimpleMail V0.4 first and then working your way up to V0.12 and V0.14 (if you need to).
OK. Firstly thank you again for your time. The fact that you've upped all of these for me to try is amazing.

SimpleMail (0.4 and 0.12) are looking really promising. I can configure everything, create an email, and hit send.

Hurdle to overcome: Both send and receive say:

Code:
Cannot start bsdsocket.library
Please start a TCP/IP stack
Of course, AmiTCP is started and working fine. AWeb works. YAM works (for receive only.) Ping from Shell works.

Any ideas anyone?

Edit: There's some talk about it at http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=72006 but I don't really understand.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 22:06   #98
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
SimpleMail (0.4 and 0.12) are looking really promising. I can configure everything, create an email, and hit send.

Hurdle to overcome: Both send and receive say:

Code:
Cannot start bsdsocket.library
Please start a TCP/IP stack
Of course, AmiTCP is started and working fine. AWeb works. YAM works (for receive only.) Ping from Shell works.

Any ideas anyone?
Two possibilities spring to mind - might be a config problem with AmiTCP, or perhaps the version of AmiTCP that you're using is too old (or more specifically, the version of bsdsocket.library created in memory when the stack is running). SimpleMail might be looking for a newer version of bsdsocket.library than AWeb.

What version of AmiTCP are you using? V2.x/3.x off Aminet? If so, try V4.x or Miami to see if that will solve the problem.

Last edited by DrBong; 31 May 2016 at 22:12.
DrBong is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 22:11   #99
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
Two possibilities spring to mind - might be a config problem with AmiTCP, or perhaps the version of AmiTCP that you're using is too old (or more specifically, the version of bsdsocket.library created in memory when the stack is running). SimpleMail might be looking for a newer version of bsdsocket.library than AWeb.

What version of AmiTCP are you using? V2.x/3.x off Aminet? If so, try V4.x to see if that will solve the problem.
I'm using v3 beta.

Hmm v4 says it's not available for free... unless you have an lha?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 22:26   #100
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,338
AmiTCP V4.0 (demo) on Aminet should be good enough for quick testing purposes:

http://aminet.net/package/comm/tcp/AmiTCP-demo-40

Full commercial version is also on the EAB ftp server (see HERE).

If that doesn't work, then maybe others here might be able to offer a few ideas. Tis very late here and my brain's fried at this stage. Good luck!
DrBong is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YAM and GMAIL Hiddenevil support.Apps 10 15 December 2015 10:11
WB3.1 for A600???? Overkill support.Other 4 12 January 2012 21:26
Configure SimpleMail in Amikit for Gmail AmigaEd support.Apps 4 19 April 2010 20:51
WB2.1 or WB3.1 or WB3.9 Olecranon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 September 2006 18:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09042 seconds with 14 queries