English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2018, 22:37   #381
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 887
use systest for calibrate the floppy drive

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6...GhXMWRvOXVDd3M
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 00:30   #382
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 108
Tips on modding a PC floppy drive for use in A1200 (tower)

Hi there,

I have a PC floppy drive that I think might be an easy mod for amiga compatability. I have not found instructions for this particular drive but based on what I've found I think this is mostly jumpers and a quick wiresolder.

It's a Mitsubishi mf355-250mg. I've added a couple of pictures. As you can see there jumpers for DS0/DS1 and DC, but I'm having trouble decoding the circuit board and understanding exactly what to do, and I would love some pointers and suggestions before I start working.


Here you can see the jumpers. I've already moved the DS1/DS3 to DS0/DS2, but I've not changed the other two jumpers as I'm a bit lost.



I can't seem to figure out qhich of these are actually DC, and I am assuming that SR is READY but I don't know how I can make sure, or which 2 pins make the SR connection. And shat is SW? It is a bit confusing.

Any help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

EDIT:

Could it be as easy as this?


I've replicatied what was done on this board (which is supposed to be the same model number as my drive, but is slightly different).


I've not done anything to the circuit board though. On the picture above some of the pads by the flat wire is soldered together but those wires do not appear to be next to each other on my board. And they do seem to be connected by traces. I might be wrong..

Link to higher res photos

Last edited by Overmann; 12 July 2018 at 11:16.
Overmann is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 21:03   #383
Overmann
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 108
I just went for it and it works! I haven't tested touroughly yet, but it loads the games I've tried so far without issues. This one is going into a tower, but what are people doing with the eject buttons of the drives that are going into the classic wedge cases?

I've taken some pictures of the final modifications. Hopefully I won't have to do more. I suspect that removing the entire HD-detect thing was overkill.
Overmann is offline  
Old 15 July 2018, 22:31   #384
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 71
Just want to let you know that flood scoopex version is runbish ! All drives mentioned some posts before are working with flood flintstone version !
katarakt is offline  
Old 07 September 2018, 06:49   #385
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 316
Hi All,

I have a Teac FD-235HF 3217-U drive that I would like to configure for Amiga use. The jumpers look like the attached image. What should be the jumper config for Amiga use? I can take a guess but I really don't want to fry anything. They show what they are configured to by default but not what the other jumper settings are. IE if you wanted to change 34 to Ready instead of Disk change or DSO instead of DS1, etc.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Teac FD-235HF 3217.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	97.5 KB
ID:	59719  

Last edited by Zippy Zapp; 07 September 2018 at 06:55.
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 08 September 2018, 15:40   #386
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 71
For Teac FD-235HF 3217-U try set the jumper to:

1A with 1B
3A with 3B
4C with 3C
4E with 3E
4G with 3G
Also set jumper to "Frame Ground" on the upper left

Let me know if this works
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Teac Jumper Block.JPG
Views:	16
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	59828  

Last edited by katarakt; 16 September 2018 at 15:33. Reason: pic uploaded
katarakt is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 03:39   #387
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 316
@katarakt that did the trick! Thanks a ton.

So if get the changes right, we jumped 1A-1B to make it DS0:, 4C-3C to remove Disk Change on 34?

I put it in an A500 and it booted workbench with no problems. I have not tried formatting or writing but it seems to work great.

If I wanted this to be a second drive in an Amiga 2000 or put it in an external case as a second A500 drive, would I need to move the jumper back to DS1?

Thanks Again!
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 12 September 2018, 21:51   #388
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 71
Excellent

About your questions, yes exactly as you wrote ...not 100% sure, but should be right.
katarakt is offline  
Old 13 September 2018, 10:42   #389
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zippy Zapp View Post
If I wanted this to be a second drive in an Amiga 2000 or put it in an external case as a second A500 drive, would I need to move the jumper back to DS1?

For external drive, you need to set it to the DSx used by the enclosure's internal electronics. A2000 has a twist in the cable to relocate df0/df1 motor on signals, but I'm not sure about which SEL it should be set to. You can find other threads on here that describe that, though.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 16 September 2018, 15:34   #390
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 71
@ZippY_Zapp
Check jumper block pic in post 386 , this will help for different jumper settings
katarakt is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 00:57   #391
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
For external drive, you need to set it to the DSx used by the enclosure's internal electronics. A2000 has a twist in the cable to relocate df0/df1 motor on signals, but I'm not sure about which SEL it should be set to. You can find other threads on here that describe that, though.
DF1 on Amiga 2000 should be set to DS1.
Do also note that some of these modifications prevent the drive from being used in an internal double-drive setup.
idrougge is offline  
Old 19 September 2018, 17:19   #392
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
@ZippY_Zapp
Check jumper block pic in post 386 , this will help for different jumper settings
Cool. Thanks for uploading that it is super helpful.



Thanks All for the great comments.
Zippy Zapp is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 5.25-inch floppy disks and drives mips support.Hardware 24 03 May 2013 20:40
List of Amiga compatible PC floppy drives Olecranon support.Hardware 12 05 October 2011 17:38
Amiga floppy drives cinemawareman Amiga scene 5 17 March 2011 15:40
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 00:44
Copying Amiga disks using Floppy drives on a PC. hamster support.Hardware 20 24 June 2006 10:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08001 seconds with 14 queries