English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 March 2014, 15:02   #1
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Check4gb with PFS3-aio Question

I'm using Thomas' check 4gb tool to check a 40gb HDD I just setup and I'm seeing a message in the test that is not documented in the Readme, I wondered if anyone knows (or if you are reading Thomas if you can give some guidance) what it means.

Normally I set up my larger drives with SFS and with Classic Workbench 3.9 (BB2) and scsi.device 43.43 and Check4gb reports OK for my partitions outside the 4gb barrier however using PFS3-aio I get the message * N

What does this mean?

I noticed I was using v1.4 of the check4gb tool so I grabbed the 1.6 version from Thomas' site and this gives a different message * N S

Again this isn't mention in the docs so I'm concerned that these partitions are not safe when using PFS3-aio.

Any help appreciated.

Last edited by fitzsteve; 27 March 2014 at 16:00. Reason: typo
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 March 2014, 15:31   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,542
* means this partition is not ok
N means the device supports NSD, but the file system doesn't
S means the device supports SCSI, but the file system doesn't
T means the device supports TD64, but the file system doesn't

But this is all not true for PFS3aio because Check4GB does not know about PFS3aio yet.

Try the attached file system definition file. It should fix the issue.
Attached Files
File Type: lha check4gb_filesys.lha (524 Bytes, 149 views)
thomas is offline  
Old 27 March 2014, 15:55   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Yay! Thank you Thomas
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	check4gb.jpg
Views:	265
Size:	90.7 KB
ID:	39535  
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 18:42   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Hi Thomas,

I received an 8gb CF to repair today for a user on Amibay as his boot partition was trashed, upon receiving it was uninitialised, I used PFS3 Doctor to repair the damaged partition and it's booting up fine however running check4gb to make sure everything is OK I see the same message as before (see attached)

I see this is using PFS3 18.5 so it's not Toni's AIO version, is it safe to use like this or should other patches be installed?

Thanks in advance

Steve.

Edit:

After reading: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61666

Am I right in thinking scsi.device here and PFS3 version are not compatible as they use a different 64bit addressing mode?

If so would the best solution be to nuke the SD card and prepare it with PFS3 AIO?

I have a backup of the complete card so I can copy the data back over, or can I safely change it to PFS3 AIO without destroying the partitions?

Cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	largehd.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	109.5 KB
ID:	39609  

Last edited by fitzsteve; 02 April 2014 at 19:24.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 20:13   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Am I right in thinking scsi.device here and PFS3 version are not compatible as they use a different 64bit addressing mode?
Yes, that's true.

Quote:
If so would the best solution be to nuke the SD card and prepare it with PFS3 AIO?
No need to destroy it. Just replace PFS3 by PFS3DS or AIO.
thomas is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 20:33   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks Thomas, I guess this incompatibility is how the first partition became invalidated?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 20:57   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,542
Actually PFS3 should attempt to use TD64 if a part of the partition is outside the first 4GB and sending a TD64 command to scsi.device V43 fails with an "unknown command" error code. So IMHO this shouldn't be the reason.
thomas is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 21:14   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Thanks again Thomas, as a precaution I shall change to PFS3AIO, I've put a zipped backup of DH0 on the last partition that he can restore if there are any issues in the future.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 28 April 2014, 22:20   #9
steveh
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wigan
Posts: 31
Sorry for hijacking the thread but I was wondering have i gone wrong somewhere

8gig Cf card
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0214.JPG
Views:	227
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	39835  
steveh is offline  
Old 03 May 2014, 02:33   #10
steveh
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wigan
Posts: 31
Think I might have sussed it.
steveh is offline  
Old 03 May 2014, 14:14   #11
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Did you replace the filesys for the one in post 2:

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=946262&postcount=2
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 03 May 2014, 14:17   #12
steveh
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wigan
Posts: 31
Yes made no difference.
steveh is offline  
Old 09 May 2014, 17:25   #13
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveh View Post
Sorry for hijacking the thread but I was wondering have i gone wrong somewhere

8gig Cf card
Please use version 1.5 of Check4GB: http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online...s/check4gb.lha

Older versions have problems to properly check for HD_SCSICMD.
thomas is offline  
Old 09 May 2014, 18:50   #14
steveh
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wigan
Posts: 31
Cheers Thomas

But I ended up installing SFS onto the RDB and have no problems at the mo.

I think I realized that I need a patched SCSI.device in conjunction with these modern filesystems as you can see from my screen shot i was using and old scsi device, think it might have been the resident rom device which may have caused my problems, I'm surprised no one picked upon that.


I'm Going to make a backup of this 8gig CF and start over with PFS3ds just to settle my mind and to learn from my own mistakes of course.

Could you Provide in your reply the Dos Type code and any other settings I need to know with SCSI Toolbox Please.
steveh is offline  
Old 09 May 2014, 20:57   #15
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
I noticed old SCSI Device but it's fine as you use PFS3 AIO, you don't need to patch the scsi.device for 8gb cards (Also fine with PFS3ds and SFS 1.84)

I recommend updating it anyway though as it can give you a performance increase.

I use 44.2 by Doobrey these days

There is an FAQ here which is worth a read:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61666
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 May 2014, 13:58   #16
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,584
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
I noticed old SCSI Device but it's fine as you use PFS3 AIO, you don't need to patch the scsi.device for 8gb cards (Also fine with PFS3ds and SFS 1.84)

I recommend updating it anyway though as it can give you a performance increase.

I use 44.2 by Doobrey these days

There is an FAQ here which is worth a read:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61666

I wouldn't recommend 44.2, as it shows double of what ever drive you have. Cosmos's 45.46b11 (I think, cant remember now) works lovely.
FOL is offline  
Old 10 May 2014, 14:28   #17
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
I wouldn't recommend 44.2, as it shows double of what ever drive you have.
Really? I've not had this issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Cosmos's 45.46b11 (I think, cant remember now) works lovely.
I've used this and it works great too, I think I had better success with Cosmos' with SFS and Doobreys with PFS3, I can't remember exactly the combinations so I recommend the end user experiments and find what works best for them
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 May 2014, 16:16   #18
steveh
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wigan
Posts: 31
So where do I obtain 45.46b11
steveh is offline  
Old 12 May 2014, 03:43   #19
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,584
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveh View Post
So where do I obtain 45.46b11
Search for cosmos's post, dont have it to hand at present.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3 or PFS3 SCSI Direct xalakibaniou project.ClassicWB 105 27 July 2013 23:08
Check4GB difference between SFS and PFS-020ds Turran support.Hardware 16 12 May 2012 11:59
PFS3 Question dannyp1 support.Apps 3 04 February 2011 23:58
PFS3 error: INVALID PFS3 COPY !!! WTF? keropi support.Apps 10 18 March 2008 23:30
Pfs3 Hewitson request.Apps 3 22 December 2007 15:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26993 seconds with 13 queries