English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 April 2014, 23:52   #1
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 734
Question about C64 5.25 floppy disks

Hi. I would normally go to Lemon64 with this question but the site has been down for what seems like forever.

Someone has offered me a batch of 5.25 floppy discs for PC.

I was wondering, are these disks compatible with the 1541? Could I format them or something?

I've read somewhere else that the Apple floppies are compatible?

Any info would be great.

Cheers
Tony
trydowave is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 April 2014, 00:10   #2
sneeker
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester!
Posts: 158
HD ones dont work, Ive reformatted dd 360k pc floppys for my c64 though in the past.
sneeker is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 02:34   #3
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneeker View Post
HD ones dont work, Ive reformatted dd 360k pc floppys for my c64 though in the past.
I never used HD (1.2MB) floppies with my C64, but I do confirm that 5.25" DD 40-tracks / 360K and 5.25" DD 80-tracks / 720K work with 1541.
Supamax is offline  
Old 08 April 2014, 23:54   #4
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
As said the main thing is that they are Double Density (DD). 360KB capacity or 180KB per side.

HD disks will not work in a 1541-I/II at all. I learnt the hard way when I bought my first batch from ebay and didn't check the type and discovered I had 100 useless disks!

There are lots of cheap used DD floppies coming up on ebay all the time, and sometimes even brand new packs. Last I knew Amigakit also sold them.
john1979 is offline  
Old 09 April 2014, 04:45   #5
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979 View Post
As said the main thing is that they are Double Density (DD). 360KB capacity or 180KB per side.
Don't forget to include DS-DD 96TPI 720KB (80 tracks) in the list.
They are rare, but do existed .

And they were very reliable, too. I successfully used them (primarily 3M brand) a lot on my Amiga with a TEAC DD 80-tracks 5.25" floppy drive. They are still readable without problems.
The drive is seen by Amiga as if it were 3.5", and floppies can be formatted @ 80 tracks 880 MB.
Supamax is offline  
Old 09 April 2014, 10:11   #6
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,708
We stock new 5.25 DSDD disks in our Commodore 64/128 product section:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...hp?cPath=61_74
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 09 April 2014, 10:29   #7
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
We stock new 5.25 DSDD disks in our Commodore 64/128 product section:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...hp?cPath=61_74


maybe you should stock chroma/luma cables and s/video as well.for the c64.
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 April 2014, 20:01   #8
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 734
Hi Just got the floppies and some of them are HD and some are DSDD. got about 40. not sure what condition their in. Ok. My plan is to format a disk and then copy over first samurai (the problem game) from my SD2IEC using a bit of software that im not familiar with. Someone on Lemon64 told me this was possible.

Could someone help me with the commands to type in in order to do this. I think im correct in hooking up the 1541 to the c64 and the SD2IEC to the 1541.

Thanks
Tony
trydowave is offline  
Old 14 April 2014, 22:02   #9
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 41
Posts: 1,024
sd2iec to floppy use

http://cbmcommand.codeplex.com/

Last edited by johnim; 14 April 2014 at 22:09.
johnim is offline  
Old 14 April 2014, 23:33   #10
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 734
This video is very quiet. That's not the main problem though. For example he tells me to toggle between drive letters so I can change the sd2iec to 9. Doesn't say what key does the toggling though.
Got a feeling this is going to be a major pain in the a""
trydowave is offline  
Old 14 April 2014, 23:46   #11
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 41
Posts: 1,024
there is also this to get around unplayable

[ Show youtube player ]
johnim is offline  
Old 18 April 2014, 01:48   #12
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 734
none of those videos helped me. also, the change drive letter one was on a plus 4

Can anyone here tell me how to do this. step by step.
Thanks
trydowave is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C64 JiffyDOS question Retroplay Retrogaming General Discussion 4 27 July 2011 22:20
Loadstar C64 disks musashi5150 MarketPlace 18 14 November 2010 23:35
Catweasel MK4 writing C64 disks help djpubba support.Hardware 1 05 November 2007 16:42
C64 palette question Kodoichi Retrogaming General Discussion 1 30 January 2007 17:14
Technical question about C64 Shatterhand Retrogaming General Discussion 19 13 October 2001 15:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28591 seconds with 14 queries