English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 January 2014, 19:00   #1
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 596
Question Glow Icons 46x46 pixels (How to create and edit?) Need help!

Ok folks, this is not a trivial question, or maybe it is, and I have just missed something over the years!
The question is simple. How the hell can we create proper Glow Icons in OS 3.5+ format ? Yes, IconEdit works fine, but how can we do a small icon centred in default/standard 46x46 pixel area ?
IconEdit likes to trim the image to a smaller size every time you save an icon.
Any special tools available for realigning the images ?

eg. CondenseIcon is good for analysing icon format and size of the saved icon.
Michael is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 January 2014, 00:39   #2
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,076
Maybe Iconian?
mihcael is offline  
Old 04 January 2014, 00:54   #3
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,636
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=924147&postcount=12

To create them with a png image.

Last edited by Retrofan; 04 January 2014 at 01:02.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 08:02   #4
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 596
Iconian does help a bit, but it's not straight forward and does have some problems with colours (GUI corrupts in 8bit screens with GlowIcons) and it should have problems with 15+ bit modes. Also it's tricky to set-up all options correctly and then save out the icon as a NewIcon, which is magically converted by icon.lib 46.4.330 to an OS3.5 one (My target) Sadly it corrupts icon snapshot position and border setting, and needs extra manipulations to get the target.

Another solution is PPaint, but that is a bit of a pain since it's difficult to position and cut out the icon of correct size before saving, also it shares all the pens with both images resulting in a fatter version of the icon.

Ideally OS 3.5-3.9 Icon editor does everything I need to quickly edit some icons, but you can't disable the optimization of icon field size, so if you have empty space, it get's trimmed :-(
Michael is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 08:34   #5
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
Ideally OS 3.5-3.9 Icon editor does everything I need to quickly edit some icons, but you can't disable the optimization of icon field size, so if you have empty space, it get's trimmed :-(
If that is your only problem then first select a color for the pixel in the lower right corner, then minimize (trim) and finally make the pixel transparent again.

Last edited by PeterK; 07 January 2014 at 08:40.
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 15:22   #6
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
If that is your only problem then first select a color for the pixel in the lower right corner, then minimize (trim) and finally make the pixel transparent again.
Yes, that would have been great, and it works! To a point when you have to save the icon :-( IconEdit just trims it further to the smallest size, stupid!
Any chance to patch the bugger ? So that it trims the icons automaticly only when Optimize menu item is ticked or something? In fact it should not do it in the first place, since if you load a small icon with large borders, you can't save it back :-(
Michael is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 16:17   #7
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
...when you have to save the icon :-( IconEdit just trims it further ... stupid!
Yes, confirmed.
But no problem, since you like borders. Just create a 46x46 border around the image and then minimize (trim) it. That's the perfect solution, just for you
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 January 2014, 16:27   #8
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Yes, confirmed.
But no problem, since you like borders. Just create a 46x46 border around the image and then minimize (trim) it. That's the perfect solution, just for you

I don't like borders on GlowIcons! But do with MagicWB ;-) So I am still struggling.
Michael is offline  
Old 25 January 2014, 06:17   #9
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 596
I have a new additional question!
What else (apart from WB Icon Editor) allows to merge two images in an icon ?
eg. Classic 4c icon + New OS3.5+ Glow icon.

And is is possible to set the border attribute for both of them independently ? Just like WB and DOpus5 have separate icon border prefs.
Michael is offline  
Old 25 January 2014, 07:39   #10
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,695
No nothing, borders on planar icons are a job of workbench.library 3.1 and DOpus5 borders are just non-standard hacks in the DiskObject structure.
PeterK is offline  
Old 01 March 2014, 10:58   #11
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 596
Found a rather complicate solution to creating proper icons!

1. Create a 4c icon in PPaint and save it as old icon (Brush 46x93)
2. Create a GlowIcon in PPaint and save it as ColourIcon (Brush 46x93)
on top of the 4c icon (Del old Icon - unselected)

This will merge all 4 images in one icon.

The sizes are correct for Coordinates 1:1:, so final icon is 46x46 !

Now, if you need to remove the border, you have the following options
a) when saving the colour (OS35+) icon, you can set the flameless option
b) you can use CondenseIcon with KOI=NO OI FL options
c) to remove the border under DOPUS5 just click the icon info, and check no border

Results:

A perfect 4 image icon, that has a fall back image for 4c old (ROM) icon.library
and a colour icon for OS35+, with separate option to set borders in WB and DOPUS.
And most importantly the proper icon size and image position that you have defined yourself!
(PS: GlowIcons are supposed to be 46x46 pxls, and that was a very smart choice)

Hope everyone follows the AmigaOS rules and designs proper fully functional icons.


What else? Time to make a GUI tool to display and manipulate some icon data ;-)
Anybody willing to help ? I can give all the tech/design ideas data required.
Michael is offline  
Old 01 March 2014, 12:05   #12
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
What else? Time to make a GUI tool to display and manipulate some icon data ;-)
Anybody willing to help ? I can give all the tech/design ideas data required.
DREAM MODE ON:

A Workbench 1.3 512KB ram compatible paint program with proper pointer and icon templates/modes and functions. Something looking like Deluxe Paint, but more comfortable, modern and on steroids

DREAM MODE OFF:

Good luck with it
gulliver is offline  
Old 01 March 2014, 17:03   #13
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 596
I am not looking into an editor, more like an analyser/viewer for icons with options to tweak some parameters and images by drag and drop.
Michael is offline  
Old 02 April 2014, 05:20   #14
mritter0
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 203
I, too, don't like how the icon gets trimmed.

Why can't we specify a page size like in a paint program? 24x24, 46x46, etc.

Then save it to that size with the transparency and not trimmed.
mritter0 is offline  
Old 16 April 2014, 06:19   #15
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 596
In theory, the optimize menu option should have made this possible, but it optimizes the pallet and possible other things but does not effect the size optimizing algorithm.
Michael is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Utility to edit&create monitor files ancalimon request.Apps 22 05 January 2012 16:28
A utility to create-edit fonts ancalimon support.Apps 2 19 October 2011 19:51
Lowca glow haynor666 HOL contributions 2 15 June 2010 12:51
Glow Icons Washac request.Apps 6 19 February 2010 04:03
Glow Icon Installation *Help Please* D4Ni3L3 support.Apps 1 16 January 2009 01:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19972 seconds with 14 queries