English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2003, 18:13   #1
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,141
Upgrading CDTV disaster

I bought a CDTV off Ebay recently. Its a 1MB Chip Ram model - Motherboard Reviosion 2.3, but with Kickstart 1.3 and therefore OCS Denise. It had a fair amount of scratches on its case which I have since painted over with a matte black car spray - looks as good as new now

Anyway, I got interested in upgrading it. As such, I opened my upgraded A500+ motherboard and inserted my ECS Super Denise and Fatter Agnus (a Mini Mega Chip) onto the CDTV motherboard without any problems. Booted her up, and lo and behold, full ECS and 2MB Chip Ram...

I thought "great!", and as I have ordered another Super Denise chip (for the A500+) and one of those Elbox 2MB Fast Ram from Vesalia the other day, I was looking forward to installing all the above permanently and having a kick ass CDTV to run JST or Whdload games via CD.

However, for a variety of reasons I wanted to upgrade the kickstart without having to use Skick and lose 512MB of Ram in the process (that and theres never any guarantee it will work). As such, I inserted my 2.04 chip from my A500+. This didnt work so well. What I got was continual rebooting. So... I then tried my 2.05 chip I have spare from my A500 which I upgraded to 3.1 thinking that as this was a later revision it might be more CDTV friendly.

This time nothing happened, no continual reboot. No activity. It was at this point that I thought I may have put the Rom chip in the wrong way round. So, I turned it round and re-inserted it.

BIG MISTAKE...

No, this time I REALLY had put it in the wrong way round and it showed because as soon as I powered the CDTV up there was no LED display (there was before) and only the power pack fan whirring incessantly - much louder than before strangely...

So obviously it had been the right way round the first time round...now the problem is that my CDTV with all its original chips restored is still not powering up and I am at a loss as to what to do

Any advice would be greatly appreciated...
Antiriad is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 19:08   #2
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 839
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
OMG not a sexy CDTV gone dead in this world, its inhuman
I wish I could help out but my speciality isn't messing around CDTV stuff.
TheBoss is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 19:36   #3
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 51
Posts: 160
I've never had a CDTV, too expensive for me at the time then the Cd32 came out. Anyway I have a dead CD32 (think it's the CD drive that has gone kaput) but if there is anything I can rip out of it you're welcome to have it.
yadster is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 19:39   #4
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 839
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
OMG not a cute CD32 gone dead in this world, its inhuman!
TheBoss is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 19:59   #5
yadster
Junior Member
yadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Yorkshire UK
Age: 51
Posts: 160
Yes but we have the technology to fetch it back to life - Robocop style
yadster is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 20:02   #6
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,478
Sorry to say this, but I think your lovely CDTV is FUBAR.

first off, the CDTV's ROM is NOT the same as every other 1.3 ROM. The CDTV is not just an A500 with a CD drive, therefore it needed a special ROM.

Now, as you saw it didn't work, but inserting it the wrong end (it's easy to check man, it has a little mark in the chip and the socket ) surely has killed the CDTV for good.

May it rest in peace in Silicon Heaven.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 20:27   #7
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,141
:eek

Im suprised doing this could do so much damage!
Antiriad is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 20:36   #8
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,141
I mean I had thought the CDTV like the CD32 had an extension ROM and that it was this that took care of the CD special part of things, so changing the main ROM made no difference...

Im kicking myself over this I can tell you...
Antiriad is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 21:02   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,630
Maybe just dead powersupply? It is possible +5v was shorted to ground when ROM was connected wrong way. I only hope PS regulation didn't fail causing overvoltage (too fast PS fan..)

Disconnect PS and check voltages with multimeter.

btw, CDTV KS ROM is standard KS1.3 (not like CD32 which has custom KS3 ROM)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 21:04   #10
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 839
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
This is sorely the saddest news I have heard today and it sucks!
Isn't there a possibility for a repair... such a fine CDTV shouldn't just drop dead!
TheBoss is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 22:56   #11
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,141
Oh Im gutted over this I can tell you...Ive opened up and/or upgraded ALL my Amigas Ive ever owned and never once broken one before...

In regards to the PS Toni, you might have a point as the fan is now going too fast and is noisy, whereas it was virtually silent before...this mean the PS is seriously misbehaving then?

I really should get myself a multimeter too...and thanks for letting me know that the CDTV KS Rom is a standard one.
Antiriad is offline  
Old 16 September 2003, 23:51   #12
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,478
I didn't know it was a standard one, thanks for the info.

Anti, I hope you fix it, otherwise, I'll buy next ticket to the UK and whip your ass >S
Akira is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 00:05   #13
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,141
I deserve it too
Antiriad is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 00:35   #14
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,478

*WHIP*

and

*WHIP*

and

*CDTVSLAP*


So you learn!
*smashes Antiriad's head with Atari ST floppy disk unit*

*Tells Richard Joseph to punish Antiriad*
Akira is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 16:12   #15
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,141
Happy Oh happy day!!!

Well...folks! Good news!!!

I wrote to Oliver Hannaford-Day of www.cdtv.org.uk and he said the following:
Quote:
First dont panic, the CDTV is fine and there is a 95% chance the kickstarts fine to, the CDTV is fully protected for shorts and its protected very well (I connected the prototype Phase5 CPU upgrade in to my CDTV and put the cover back on not noticing the card was resting against the metal case, I turned it on and Bzzzzz the CDTV goes down, after a quick change of the fuse the CDTV and prototype card was working just fine.)
All you need to do is open the CDTV's case, open the PSU up (two screws on the big silver box thing) and remove both fuses, check which one has blown (probably just the one closest to the front of the CDTV) and change it, the CDTV should work just fine after.
So...I opened the beast up and lo and behold the front fuse had gone KABOOM! Noticed it was a 5a fuse (not the usual 13a ones you get in power plugs) so cue a MAD panic looking for a 5a fuse in the house and sometime later I found one...

Slapped it in plugged everything up again and...YES IT WORKED!!!!

Shouts of
*YES!!!*
eminated around the house!!!

So thank god eh? Last time i play silly buggers with the Kickstart Rom on my CDTV I can tell you!!!

Its also a doublely happy day as I got in a new keyboard membrane for my Speccy 128+ and now all the keys are working again!!!
Antiriad is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 16:59   #16
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,395
Dizzy is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 17:13   #17
TheBoss
Registered User
TheBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 839
Send a message via ICQ to TheBoss
Thumbs up

Thats great news, the best I've heard today
TheBoss is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 17:22   #18
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 7,956
Awww good to hear you've fixed it sonny!

I always find that a mallet to the front of any Atari fixes it well!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 17:33   #19
Figi
Registered User

Figi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 133
hehe, yes! cheerio to commodore for protecting the thing with two fuses, eh?

That reminds me, one of my C64 was saved twice by it's fuse.
Figi is offline  
Old 17 September 2003, 17:39   #20
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,478
Good on you Anti!
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disaster! (i think) diablothe2nd support.Hardware 24 15 June 2013 12:59
Amiga 4000 contributes to NASA Mars disaster in 1992? alexh Amiga scene 20 20 November 2012 19:08
Disaster! Rheffera New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 20 January 2008 02:24
GameBaseAMY Disaster Runey Amiga scene 15 15 July 2005 05:07
WinUAE input disaster Kodoichi support.WinUAE 0 28 March 2003 14:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17703 seconds with 15 queries