English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2001, 16:40   #1
SGBEATTIE
 
Posts: n/a
Post Using Cd-rw Data Cd-rom On A-1200

I RECENTLY DOWNLOADED FILES FROM AMINET USING MY COLLEGE PC AND CD-REWRITER.
I DOWNLOADED ONTO THE HARDDRIVE AND USING WINONCD CREATED AN ISO 9660 CD-ROM.
WHEN I INSERTED IT INTO MY QUAD SPEED ATAPI IDE CD-ROM ON MY A-1200 IT WOULD/COULD NOT READ IT.

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT I AM DOING WRONG?

PLEASE HELP ME!

E-MAIL : SGBEATTIE@COMPUTERMAIL.NET

SORRY ABOUT THE CAPITALS!
 
Old 30 October 2001, 16:59   #2
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Your problem might be the cd-rom drive itself. There are still a good bit of CD-rom drives out there which won't run RW cds. My burner runs the CDs it writes itself, but my DVD rom drive which runs most everything else does not run RW Cds. If I'm lucky it'll manage to get the title of the CD (That's actually happened once) but I still can't browse the cd.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 30 October 2001, 17:07   #3
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Sounds like the filesystem to me

Get a newer one. It's been a while, so I can't remember which to get
 
Old 30 October 2001, 18:15   #4
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 40
Posts: 657
Sounds like your caps lock is broken to me

Some drives definitely are a bit strange - have you tried closing the CD when you write it (i.e not making it multisession). That worked for me once.

Also check that you aren't writing to 700MB (80min) cds because some old drives can't read them.
TikTok is offline  
Old 30 October 2001, 18:20   #5
Kodoichi
Banned
Kodoichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: I'm the smiling face on your TV, I exploit you still you love me
Posts: 515
CUOLD SOME0NE PL3ASE TURN DW0N TEH VOLUM3???!!!!
Kodoichi is offline  
Old 30 October 2001, 19:23   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 3,704
Most times it´s the CDROM drive itself as Drake pointed out .... I have a quad speed here myself and that is not capable of reading CDRW´s !! before I had a 16x CDROM and all worked fine on my A1200 but it got broken, and I only had a quad speed for exchange, but .... who cares
RetroMan is offline  
Old 30 October 2001, 21:39   #7
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 36
Posts: 2,731
Quote:
Originally posted by s4murai
CUOLD SOME0NE PL3ASE TURN DW0N TEH VOLUM3???!!!
Indeed. Please, SGBEATTIE, learn to speak quieter next time. We're not tone deaf ya know.
MethodGit is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd rom drive for the amiga 1200 GurjSagoo support.Hardware 3 13 February 2011 10:52
Amiga 1200 internal CD-Rom Xav support.Hardware 5 24 June 2010 02:56
A CD-ROM drive for my Amiga 1200? Amiga Forever support.Hardware 9 15 January 2010 04:12
Cd-rom 500/1200 bugsthor support.Hardware 33 11 November 2008 20:16
Amiga 1200 CD-Rom Prob Tonycrew support.Hardware 3 23 May 2002 18:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08485 seconds with 15 queries