English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2020, 23:56   #221
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
I made a video. My video camera can not capture the CRT screen. It is not flickering anything near as much. I can see you fixed this bug that used to be. Looking good now

[ Show youtube player ]
Wow! Thank you so much!
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 00:03   #222
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Wow! Thank you so much!
No, you are the one to thank for doing this fantastic job

This game will be great

The dream would be to have a wheel for this game but that I guess is impossible.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 00:51   #223
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 45
Posts: 884
I don’t have a CRT but it does look great on my Samsung LCD. Awesome work



[ Show youtube player ]
Superman is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 01:13   #224
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
I don’t have a CRT but it does look great on my Samsung LCD. Awesome work



[ Show youtube player ]
Awesome, thank you very much - looks great.

I really hope this encourages devs to take the risk and code games in interlace mode, with the tv’s producing this type of display then it opens up new avenues for games.

Using winuae, i was not able make the display look the same... is there any way to do it?

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 06:35   #225
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 12,100
Just tried it with my A1200 connected to a Sony Trinitron CRT TV. Of course it flickers, but it's playable though. Looks geogerous. Will try it via my LG OLED+OSSC later.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 11 November 2020, 12:57   #226
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 45
Posts: 884
I did another test on my Dell Laptop using WinUAE and again it looks great with no flickering. There is a bit of graphic corruption on the moving cars but thats about all. I have attached my screen settings if its any help

[ Show youtube player ]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	settings1.png
Views:	30
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	69653   Click image for larger version

Name:	settings2.png
Views:	28
Size:	36.7 KB
ID:	69654  

Last edited by Superman; 11 November 2020 at 13:10.
Superman is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 14:10   #227
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
I did another test on my Dell Laptop using WinUAE and again it looks great with no flickering. There is a bit of graphic corruption on the moving cars but thats about all. I have attached my screen settings if its any help

[ Show youtube player ]
"NTSC" and scaling set as "Default" as opposed to "No scaling"?
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 14:34   #228
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 45
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
"NTSC" and scaling set as "Default" as opposed to "No scaling"?

My config is actually set to PAL but once this game is loaded and you press F12 to access the menu it changes itsef to NTSC which is odd. I haven't really played about with the scaling options as I have been happy with it as default.

EDIT: Just tried no scaling and the whole display shrank down to a tiny screen.

Last edited by Superman; 11 November 2020 at 14:43.
Superman is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 14:59   #229
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
My config is actually set to PAL but once this game is loaded and you press F12 to access the menu it changes itsef to NTSC which is odd. I haven't really played about with the scaling options as I have been happy with it as default.

EDIT: Just tried no scaling and the whole display shrank down to a tiny screen.
I tried your settings and they are perfect for me too, they exactly replicate what I see on the LCD.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 15:03   #230
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 45
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
I tried your settings and they are perfect for me too, they exactly replicate what I see on the LCD.

Great! Hopefully that will assist with the ongoing developments
Superman is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 15:13   #231
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
EDIT: Just tried no scaling and the whole display shrank down to a tiny screen.
Depends on what resolution you set... personally I would use a 720x576 resolution for this game.

...but most people would use "Native" and then adjust the multipliers.

"Default" stretches the image to be full screen; as a result pixels are not in the correct aspect ratio. You will notice this with text being distorted etc.
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 22:54   #232
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 854
Terrible video but you can see that even on my cheap Sharp LCD that there is no flicker.

[ Show youtube player ]
Havie is offline  
Old 11 November 2020, 22:58   #233
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Wow - i did not know this about modern lcd screens so i am well happy!!!
I thought this was common knowledge. Can't say I see input lag so it's cheapest flicker fixer you can buy!

Only downside is you can't play Virtual Karting
Havie is offline  
Old 27 November 2020, 00:27   #234
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,005
As I'm nearing the end of development in Super Sprint I'm looking for two good play testers to help me out. The only thing I would ask is the following:

1) Be able to take screen shots and videos to show bugs you uncover
2) Be familiar with Windows UAE snap shots (and how to take them)
3) Have a passion for game racer games.
4) Be able to write in good English how you identified any bugs you find.
5) Familiar with AmigaLive would be a bonus
6) Have some spare time (probably 2-3 hours a week)
7) If you have real hardware then great, that will help with config testing.

You'll be credited along with getting a boxed edition of the game.

Play testing is a boring process and isn't fun, but that's just my opinion so if you still want to do it then ping me with a PM please.

Small video I did today showing where the game is now.

[ Show youtube player ]


Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 27 November 2020, 01:51   #235
Antiriad_UK
OCS forever!

Antiriad_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 283
Wow wow wow sweet child o mine. You fixed the green sprite! That's been giving me anxiety for months Looking good!
Antiriad_UK is offline  
Old 28 November 2020, 23:49   #236
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,005
Another more in depth update - dev update #15.

[ Show youtube player ]

If you are interested in a box for the game then PM me.

Geezer

EDIT: - I'm also getting more Rygar boxes done so also PM me if interested (the Rygar boxes will come with a manual too).

Last edited by mcgeezer; 28 November 2020 at 23:49. Reason: Rygar
mcgeezer is offline  
Old Yesterday, 10:59   #237
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 4,610
Graheme you're a coding machine! thanks for this.
jotd is offline  
Old Yesterday, 16:14   #238
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,501
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Hi Mcgeezer. Can I ask where you`re getting the boxes from? have a couple of ideas for some boxes and wanted to know. Thanks
stainy is offline  
Old Yesterday, 22:16   #239
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,683
Wow! Amazing update. Can't wait to try it!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old Today, 00:16   #240
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by stainy View Post
Hi Mcgeezer. Can I ask where you`re getting the boxes from? have a couple of ideas for some boxes and wanted to know. Thanks
Sure - Here you go - on my Youtube channel

[ Show youtube player ]
mcgeezer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Sprint and Oids for Amiga / ST Emulator Photon support.Games 4 31 July 2018 02:48
super sprint motor sound turrican3 support.Games 3 03 November 2014 09:21
[REQ] Super Sprint angel_killah project.Sprites 6 21 April 2012 08:26
Super Sprint - Atari ST Conversion Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 83 12 March 2012 22:34
Super Sprint & Oids ??? BeelzebubUK request.Old Rare Games 10 30 January 2002 22:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09296 seconds with 14 queries