English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 January 2009, 11:48   #1
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,262
Need help using the WinUAE Debugger

I'm trying to get loads of cash in sensible world of soccer using the debugger. I know its possible cos I've done it before. I just can't remember how. I know Shift+F12 enters the debugger. I have converted the value I want to search for into hexidecimal.

I search for it using 8 digits so I had £2,160,000 in the bank which equates to $0020F580. Then I assume the next step is to search for this in memory by typing 's 0020F580'. This seems to bring up 3 different memory addresses. Is the value in one of these??

What now? How do I repace the value in memory with the new value of $08F0D180. This is £150,000,000. I think I have to use the capital W which is write to memory and not w which is add watchpoints. I've tried writing the value in different ways but nothing seems to work. Anyone got any tips?
Steve is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 12:04   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,954
Use 'C' command, much easier..

C !<value in decimal> (or without ! = hexadecimal), change the value inside game, C again until it always list same address (or addresses)

then W <address> <value>
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 January 2009, 12:48   #3
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,262
Ah, thanks. That has helped a lot.

I seem to be getting somewhere now. I tried this:

C! 585937

This brought up one address: 001E49E3

I guess this is the area in memory where the cash variable is always stored??

I tried this: W 001E49E3 08F0D180

This gave a result of £500k in the bank so it did change something. However it didn't give the value I was looking for. So I then tried this:

W 001E49E3 150000000

This worked better and gave me a cash value of £5,242,880

Still not got the £150,000,000 that I'm looking for. Any ideas on the strange values??
Steve is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 12:54   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
This brought up one address: 001E49E3
C-command has "special" feature, it autoselects data type size and because your value was less than 16777216, it uses only 3 bytes when searching.

Real address is 1E49E2 (in 99.9% cases word and long values are always aligned to even addresses)

btw, '!' is value prefix, it is C !value, not C! value, all numbers can be prefixed with ! to force decimal (usually hexadecimal is the default, but some default to decimal, $ or 0x can be used to force hexadecimal)

W 1e49e2 !150000000 should work.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 January 2009, 13:45   #5
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
W 1e49e2 !150000000 should work.
Aha! You are right! It does work!! Thanks for the explanation.

Last edited by Steve; 04 January 2009 at 13:58.
Steve is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 14:02   #6
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
I'm trying to get loads of cash in sensible world of soccer using the debugger. I know its possible cos I've done it before. I just can't remember how. I know Shift+F12 enters the debugger. I have converted the value I want to search for into hexidecimal.

I search for it using 8 digits so I had £2,160,000 in the bank which equates to $0020F580. Then I assume the next step is to search for this in memory by typing 's 0020F580'. This seems to bring up 3 different memory addresses. Is the value in one of these??

What now? How do I repace the value in memory with the new value of $08F0D180. This is £150,000,000. I think I have to use the capital W which is write to memory and not w which is add watchpoints. I've tried writing the value in different ways but nothing seems to work. Anyone got any tips?


This is called cheating!
amiga is offline  
Old 04 January 2009, 21:33   #7
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga View Post
This is called cheating!
LOL! No, its a special feature of the game. Its called 'Roman Abramovich Mode'.
Steve is offline  
Old 10 January 2009, 08:27   #8
powerzx
 
Posts: n/a
I have a problem with debugger too.
I start a game, then press shift+f12, type C !3 then press enter
it shows many adresses, so i type g to go back to game and change value to any different. Then i switch windows (alt+tab) from winuae to debugger.
When i try to type a new value to search into debugger window there is no way to type anything. Debugger window is not active anymore after typing g.
Do You know what i am doing wrong?

Last edited by powerzx; 10 January 2009 at 17:11.
 
Old 10 January 2009, 11:11   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,954
Press SHIFT+F12 again. It works as a log window when it is open but not active.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 January 2009, 20:00   #10
powerzx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Press SHIFT+F12 again. It works as a log window when it is open but not active.
Thank You, It works now
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE debugger differences pmc support.WinUAE 2 05 October 2011 12:57
WinUAE debugger - help needed Mendou support.WinUAE 3 16 May 2011 14:45
WinUAE Debugger BippyM support.WinUAE 7 02 April 2008 07:59
WinUAE Debugger help Jherek Carnelia Coders. General 3 26 May 2007 15:52
WinUAE Debugger ???? RetroMan support.WinUAE 2 27 January 2004 12:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07112 seconds with 13 queries