English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 October 2011, 20:25   #1
pucci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rimini / Italy
Posts: 48
creating HDZ file

How can i create a HDZ file from a HDF file?
pucci is offline  
Old 15 October 2011, 20:26   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 39
Posts: 17,789
I think it's HDF file compressed with gzip.
s2325 is offline  
Old 16 October 2011, 11:52   #3
pucci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rimini / Italy
Posts: 48
i tried. it works if i compress ADF file with GZIP, but it don't work (WinUAE crach) if i compress HDF file
pucci is offline  
Old 16 October 2011, 14:07   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,837
Compressed files are write protected in WinUAE anyway. A write protected harddrive does not make any sense, so there is no sense in compressing HDF files.

If you want to save some disk space, you can use VHD instead of HDF (enable "dynamic HDF" when creating it).
thomas is offline  
Old 16 October 2011, 14:18   #5
pucci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rimini / Italy
Posts: 48
sorry, but:

if a compressed (and so, also writeprotected) harddrive is a no sense, why someone created the format HDZ (compressed harddrive)?

and, if i have a hardrive file that not need update and is used as a read only support?
pucci is offline  
Old 18 October 2011, 18:35   #6
pucci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rimini / Italy
Posts: 48
after some test result are:
- gzipped adf work (read only mode)
- gzipped hdf is broken in WinUAE and don't work (crash immediatly the emulator)

maybe is better disable hdz support in WinUAE until someone fix it
pucci is offline  
Old 04 November 2011, 09:13   #7
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 47
Posts: 832
Only use I can see for a compressed hardfile, is for using as a distribution file.... (kinda like.... distribute a game or programme that is too big for one or two floppies, and you CBA with dividing it over several floppies. Kinda makes sense to just plug in one single hardfile and install from there, than to swap floppies like a madman ala "Beneath A Steel Sky" )

And in any case, Pucci, if you really need the files on your hdz, just use gzip to extract it from the hdz to hdf.
Doc Mindie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating an empty hdf file Harko33 support.WinUAE 1 25 September 2011 23:46
Creating a #?.info file bytemind project.WHDLoad 24 15 May 2010 09:26
help needed creating a 4gig .hdf file petee1979 support.WinUAE 6 09 July 2009 21:10
Creating a SFS HDF file Bloodwych support.WinUAE 21 01 January 2007 16:53
Creating a Level 7 interrupt file for UAE redblade support.WinUAE 2 28 August 2005 23:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06895 seconds with 15 queries