English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 May 2019, 19:35   #21
Dr.Venom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoji View Post
WinUAE site seems be down currently - so I will check later..in case I missed something, but what is the best/correct way for me to solve my problem? I just want to try and map "main" keys from my PC to show up sensibly in AmigaOS WB


Cheers.

I haven't read everything thoroughly, so please ignore if this was already done.

I think you should first rule out anything going on the AmigaOS mappings / keyboard layout.

The simplest way is probably to hold both mouse button on Amiga startup, choose "Boot without startup-sequence". This then loads a plain shell (without any AmigaOS side mappings loaded).

When I do this myself and I type in the Amiga shell:

"1 2 3" (from my top row on my PC keyboard) I get "1 2 3" printed in the Amiga shell.

If I do the same while holding Shift on my PC keyboard, it prints "! @ #" in the Amiga shell. These are the same as printed on my keyboard.
What happens if you do that exercise, does the output make more sense?
Dr.Venom is offline  
Old 20 May 2019, 20:48   #22
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoji View Post
I don't seem to have a solution to get a damn "#" key to show in AmigaOS, or a logical way to work out whats needed and manually remap.
On my ClassicWB Lite 3.1 .HDF (locale set to "United Kingdom" and the input keyboard set up as "British") the # can typed by pressing the @ ' key on a standard Windows keyboard
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 May 2019, 20:56   #23
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Amiga GB keymap "#" = alt+shift+3 (don't ask why, it simply is. Real hardware confirmed)
Looks like it's the same key combination for CH1 or UK then

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Venom View Post
[...] The simplest way [...]
I like to use KeyToy (WB1.3) or KeyShow (WB3.1.4)
No need to type anything. Just select "Shift", "Alt", "Ctrl" or combine them to look for the needed character

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	diese.gif
Views:	37
Size:	43.2 KB
ID:	63178  
malko is offline  
Old 20 May 2019, 20:59   #24
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Venom View Post
The simplest way is probably to hold both mouse button on Amiga startup, choose "Boot without startup-sequence". This then loads a plain shell (without any AmigaOS side mappings loaded).

When I do this myself and I type in the Amiga shell:

"1 2 3" (from my top row on my PC keyboard) I get "1 2 3" printed in the Amiga shell.

If I do the same while holding Shift on my PC keyboard, it prints "! @ #" in the Amiga shell. These are the same as printed on my keyboard.
What happens if you do that exercise, does the output make more sense?
This is occurring without startup-sequence as no keyboard layout has been applied so the default "US keyboard" is used.

On an American keyboard, the # is <Shift> + <3>.

On a United Kingdom keyboard, the # is in a different place and not on the top number row:

DamienD is offline  
Old 21 May 2019, 11:31   #25
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,799
The GB keymap/keyboard has two possibilities for the '#' sign.
Check attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	diese-gb.gif
Views:	40
Size:	16.0 KB
ID:	63194  
malko is offline  
Old 21 May 2019, 12:11   #26
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,574
Your 2nd image in the picture is not a UK keyboard malko.

Anyway, there are two work arounds for Yoji:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Amiga GB keymap "#" = alt+shift+3 (don't ask why, it simply is. Real hardware confirmed)
and

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
On my ClassicWB Lite 3.1 .HDF (locale set to "United Kingdom" and the input keyboard set up as "British") the # can typed by pressing the @ ' key on a standard Windows keyboard
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 May 2019, 12:43   #27
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Your 2nd image in the picture is not a UK keyboard malko.
Anyway, there are two work arounds for Yoji:
and
ah ?¿? Doesn't "gb" stand for "Great-Britain" ?
malko is offline  
Old 21 May 2019, 12:54   #28
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 14,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
ah ?¿? Doesn't "gb" stand for "Great-Britain" ?
I'm talking about this image:



Most definiotely not a UK keyboard.
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 May 2019, 13:12   #29
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 1,799
I have no physical UK keyboard under my hands but this is how the Amiga is handling the '#' with the 'gb' keymap.
Either the second key to the right of the 'L' OR shift+alt+3.

Edit: I think I understand why you said it's not a UK keyboard. The salmon colour on the pictures means that the key are pressed

Last edited by malko; 21 May 2019 at 13:29.
malko is offline  
Old 21 May 2019, 17:58   #30
Yoji
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: newcastle-under-lyme
Posts: 52
Thanks all

I have revisited and it looks like I can do what I need with the "input" tab config/remap facility. Its a lot fiddly - but hopefully just needs to be done once..

Def think WinUAE could get an improved system/capability on their dev roadmap (@Toni )
Yoji is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full-Screen detection bug(s) Hungry Horace support.FS-UAE 24 16 August 2014 15:55
Keyboard control Winuae Properties Bug smoorke support.WinUAE 3 21 January 2009 12:11
M.I.D.I. in detection bug GROSDAMS support.WinUAE 2 13 September 2008 01:05
Keyboard LED bug BenniP support.WinUAE 5 22 May 2004 13:25
Bug in WinUAE keyboard routine Roderick support.WinUAE 1 03 September 2002 23:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07737 seconds with 16 queries