English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 March 2012, 20:44   #1
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Color Saturation and Color Tint/Hue

Is it possible to add color saturation and color tint/hue to the Display silder for brightness/contrast/gamma? I would like to mimic the look of my Sony CRT TV. It's pretty close, but not the colors.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 March 2012, 21:28   #2
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
Great thing to add to WinUAE! This would allow us to mimic the colors of PAL and NTSC screens...
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 24 March 2012, 20:13   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
I think I didn't find good enough tint algorithm or something. I am sure I planned to implement it..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 March 2012, 23:53   #4
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
Thanks your reply Toni!
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 28 April 2012, 23:25   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
I've increased Contrast +40 and decreased Gamma -40. Looks pretty close to colors on my Sony TV. A bit too bright maybe, but good enough for me at the moment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WinUAE Contrast+40, Gamma -40.png
Views:	238
Size:	93.1 KB
ID:	31425  
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 01 May 2012, 22:40   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I've increased Contrast +40 and decreased Gamma -40. Looks pretty close to colors on my Sony TV. A bit too bright maybe, but good enough for me at the moment.
Looks nice!

If you use one of aperture masks that come with WinUAE you can make the image darker.

What are your settings of scanlines, please? Looks very realistic!
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 01 May 2012, 22:46   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Normal D3D scanlines, try scanline transparency 20-30.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 01 May 2012, 22:54   #8
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
Thanks Retro-Nerd!
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 02 May 2012, 11:30   #9
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
A hue slider would be great... I know I've asked already in the past for it, and for the (I admit it, kinda pointless) emulation of the two buttons on the rear of the 1084S monitor that forced green monochrome and switched between cvbs/rgb/lca

But I would be content t ochange the hue, or the r, g, b values
Marcuz is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 12:19   #10
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
+ 1 for saturation
1st screen with saturation normal (winuae)
2nd +17% saturation with paint.net
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	leanderA.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	168.4 KB
ID:	54326   Click image for larger version

Name:	leanderb.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	173.8 KB
ID:	54327  

Last edited by turrican3; 27 August 2017 at 12:27.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 12:23   #11
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 983
Shaders can do that now. Except if you want a sharp image with no artifacts.
nobody is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 12:24   #12
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
which shader nobody ???
turrican3 is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 12:27   #13
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 983
Crt-hyllian-low res for Winuae. It's on that thread with xbrz shaders
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=87030
nobody is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 12:31   #14
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
Thanks nobody
turrican3 is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 12:39   #15
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
+ 1 for saturation
1st screen with saturation normal (winuae)
2nd +17% saturation with paint.net
Arrrrrgh!!! My eyes, my eyes
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 12:41   #16
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
But they doesn't work with winuae !
But if it isn't too difficult perhaps tony could add this feature ???
Please Tony, i'm sure the result will be really great !!!
Only if you have time of course.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 14:33   #17
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
But they doesn't work with winuae !
But if it isn't too difficult perhaps tony could add this feature ???
Please Tony, i'm sure the result will be really great !!!
Only if you have time of course.
Some of the shaders there are for Winuae (fx extension).
nobody is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 03:38   #18
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,157
ok, perhaps i missed them but from what i read, you have to set by hand in the shaders files the saturation you want ???
And if i'm correct, it will be difficult for me to adjust the saturation for every games.
I always did a different config for each games and some needs more saturations and others doesn't need saturation at all.
But thank you nobody, i'll have a look.

edited : that's why i think saturation should be set with the gui, easier to use and can be changed for every game, like i changed the saturation
every time i launched a new game when i were young and i can't set it with nvidia tools because it will be for every games too... Not one by one.
I'm trying to have the best gfx possible for each games like each of you, we perhaps didn't have the same definition of what it should look but we have
the same goal. Sorry to have been so long. bye guys ;-).

Last edited by turrican3; 28 August 2017 at 03:45.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 09:45   #19
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Arrrrrgh!!! My eyes, my eyes
Agreed.

WTF is with those awful pictures, Turrican? Aside from the colour alterations, what HAVE you done to the pixels? Do you honestly run your Amiga emulation like this? It looks bloody AWFUL. Sorry, that's my opinion, but I prefer to see natural RGB as intended by the programmers WITHOUT distortion by dodgy TVs, no scanlines, no whatever-you've-done-to-those-pixels and as clean and precise an image as possible.

The Amiga was developed by FORWARD-THINKING geniuses, they would be dismayed if people wanted to view it on primitive CRTs.
Foebane is online now  
Old 28 August 2017, 10:06   #20
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 40
Posts: 983
Man I hate those xbrz filters. Better use pixels directly, awful raw enormous blocky-have their own postal code than xbrz. Pixels never meant to look like oil painting.
Xbrz makes sense only in one scenario: PSX 3d low res material.
nobody is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printing in color with WinUAE on color laser source support.Apps 7 14 April 2013 01:32
Color difference Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 3 16 November 2012 09:51
CD32 color problems commodoresales New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 26 January 2012 10:59
ISO true color to 256 color algorithm Lord Riton Coders. General 19 15 April 2011 18:49
UAE Color problem I am New support.WinUAE 1 15 April 2002 03:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29214 seconds with 13 queries