English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 October 2017, 13:53   #1
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,422
DOOM - Unofficial CD32 Release - FastRAM Required!


Something i wanted todo for a long time, but many failed attempts mainly due to cutting textures and levels out of the wad file to get it small enough to boot on a stock machine to no avail.

Now finally with the availability of more Fast-RAM expansion boards for the CD32 its time to release it in an uncut form, fully bootable on a CD32 console, that has 8MB of free Fast-RAM*

*Depending on your setup, it may require disabling of any IDE partitions if a HDD is attached as this will free up any Fast-RAM. (hold down both mice buttons on the reset of the CD32, disable all partitions and select 'boot' it should now load, this will reset back after a hard reboot of the console)



Controls:

Red = Shoot
Blue = Open Doors
Play = Pause/Menu
FWD = Strafe Right
RWD = Strafe Left


This version uses Doom Attack 0.8 (with Akiko C2P support for a nice speedup for CD32 users, sure i wont pretend its a miracle for CD32 owners, you will need to play in low-res mode and have the window about the size in the screenshot, even then it still struggles, but i feel if we had this back in 1994/5 we would have been happy with the port, so take it as it is and you will find something to enjoy running it on your CD32, pretty cool for a 14mhz machine!

Many thanks of course go to Georg Steger the author of Doom Attack.

Download is on the eab server "uploads/cd32" folder*

*Details for registering for access to the eab server.
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43633

Last edited by Amigajay; 02 October 2017 at 08:53.
Amigajay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 October 2017, 13:56   #2
kgc210
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Stoke-On-Trent, England
Posts: 136
Looking forward to giving this ago when I get my TF328 built.
kgc210 is offline  
Old 01 October 2017, 15:16   #3
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 92
This is an excellent piece of work !
MigaTech is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 02:59   #4
solidcore
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: birmingham, uk
Posts: 205
Nice work I should free up some time in the week to give it a go on my tf328... It deserves some 8mb fastram action.
solidcore is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 18:43   #5
enzoboss
Registered User
enzoboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Nocera Superiore - Italia
Posts: 17
Thank, good job.You will also DOOM 2?
enzoboss is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 19:22   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,906
Thanks for making this one! That's not too bad all things considered.

Two small nitpicks:
One, can you not make the disc default to 60Hz? Those of us using the CD32 via S-Video will get wrong colors when that happens. Most people don't have RGB-capable CD32s an hate composite :P. Maybe selectable via button press on boot?
Two, the Doom engine asks for a screenmode on boot. This requires a mouse or keyboard. Can it just not ask and default to 320x256 PAL?

Glad to see you are back making these
Akira is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 21:24   #7
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Thanks for making this one! That's not too bad all things considered.

Two small nitpicks:
One, can you not make the disc default to 60Hz? Those of us using the CD32 via S-Video will get wrong colors when that happens. Most people don't have RGB-capable CD32s an hate composite :P. Maybe selectable via button press on boot?
Two, the Doom engine asks for a screenmode on boot. This requires a mouse or keyboard. Can it just not ask and default to 320x256 PAL?

Glad to see you are back making these
Yeah I did it just to centre the image mainly, otherwise it's right at the top of the screen, but I can make another version no probs.
Yeah the screen mode option screen is a pain, I can't do anything about, I tried in the command line of a Doom Attack but it still comes up.
I did also make a disc using the 'LEMMINGS PLANETSIDE' to enable mouse using the joypad which works, but conflicts with the Joypad option in Doom itself, not handy when you have one bullet left and it auto fires on your behalf!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 23:24   #8
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,030
Does the C2P do the whole screen or just the box in the middle. What is the status bar with the doom guy at the bottom? Is that a forced copper list job?? How many colours is the Doom guy at the bottom?

Looks great. Good work

Last edited by redblade; 02 October 2017 at 23:25. Reason: Didn't read top post properly.
redblade is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 23:33   #9
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
Does the C2P do the whole screen or just the box in the middle. What is the status bar with the doom guy at the bottom? Is that a forced copper list job?? How many colours is the Doom guy at the bottom?

Looks great. Good work
Georg Steger is the author of Doom Attack, i'm not the person to answer any technical stuff, he and others did all the work, i just put it together in a workable format for the CD32.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 03 October 2017, 11:39   #10
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,422
Good news Akira, managed to get it to start without the resolution prompt now so you dont need a mouse, also removed the forced NTSC, i have replaced the file on the FTP with the new image.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 03 October 2017, 17:00   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Good news Akira, managed to get it to start without the resolution prompt now so you dont need a mouse, also removed the forced NTSC, i have replaced the file on the FTP with the new image.
Excellent news, thanks buddy!
Akira is offline  
Old 12 October 2017, 19:53   #12
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 95
Thanks for doing this!

Can you add wad files to this? If an accelerator is installed like the SX32 Pro will this take advantage of it by running the 030 version?
pgovotsos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unofficial CD32 Release - System 3 Collection Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 4 28 September 2017 16:00
Unofficial CD32 Release - SCAS 2016 Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 4 30 January 2017 11:22
Unofficial CD32 Release - The Ultimate Amiga Dizzy Collection CD32 Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 26 27 October 2016 12:54
Unofficial CD32 Release - Hunter CD32 - 25th Anniversary Edition Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 12 15 August 2016 09:17
Unofficial CD32 Release - Star Wars Trilogy CD32 Amigajay project.CD32 Conversion 10 23 June 2016 17:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31212 seconds with 13 queries