English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 September 2017, 02:30   #21
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Are you sure that your lha or lzx archives are transferred without any damage from the PC to your Amiga?

You could use HashMyFiles on the PC and MD5Sum on the Amiga:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/hash_my_files.html
http://aminet.net/search?query=md5sum
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 September 2017, 09:06   #22
meynaf
68k wisdom
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon (France)
Age: 44
Posts: 2,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
it happens often to get corrupted archives with LZX. That's why i prefer LHA.

It compress less, that's true, but i prefer stability. LZX is buggy somewhere.
Only 020+ version of LZX can produce faulty archives.
In addition recent versions of LHA are a lot slower than older ones...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Thanks a lot. I've tried now with a new LHA file. It has passed all of the checkings on WinUAE but unfortunately it tells about a corrupted file making the same in the miggy.
Seems to show LZX isn't guilty.
meynaf is offline  
Old 22 September 2017, 14:02   #23
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,725
LHA has no -bi (input buffer) and -bo (output buffer) option. It has -b (input/output buffer) instead. Everything else should be equal. You should really read the LHA/LZX guides to improve your command line. Why do you use ">NIL:"? You already use "-q" (quiet mode) option. It doesn`t make sense to use -q and t because you don`t get the test result output.
daxb is offline  
Old 22 September 2017, 16:44   #24
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
it happens often to get corrupted archives with LZX. That's why i prefer LHA.

It compress less, that's true, but i prefer stability. LZX is buggy somewhere.
That's a good point. Me prefer stability too. But till now i had never problems with LZX
sigma63 is offline  
Old 24 September 2017, 21:31   #25
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Are you sure that your lha or lzx archives are transferred without any damage from the PC to your Amiga?

You could use HashMyFiles on the PC and MD5Sum on the Amiga:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/hash_my_files.html
http://aminet.net/search?query=md5sum
I just copied them (lzx or lha) to my pendrive and I copied them later with the RapidRoad from my pendrive to the HD.

Last edited by Retrofan; 24 September 2017 at 22:29.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 24 September 2017, 22:47   #26
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
And did you compare the MD5sums of these archives on WinUAE and on your Amiga ?

Another question: are all the files that you are adding to an archive with lha or lzx exactly identical on both systems before the compression. Did you check that with MD5sum, too? (This could be a lot of work, of course). But if just one file is different on both systems then it makes no sense to to compare the behaviour of lha or lzx on WinUAE and Amiga.
PeterK is offline  
Old 25 September 2017, 02:21   #27
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks Peter, there must be any. But if there is any problem making this, I don't need to check that there is, as in this case I just prefer to avoid it.

Splitting the file into 4 parts (three lzx's and one lha) it works ok, so better safe than sorry, and as you say it takes a looot of time to check all, and my patience just finished surely 'cause I'm getting older.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nexus 7 WHDLoad - not working on real miggy diablothe2nd support.Demos 20 11 April 2013 19:30
Winaue, fullscreen and ArcadeVGA (again?) AAG support.WinUAE 3 19 July 2008 18:53
setting up for real miggy wild44 project.ClassicWB 1 09 March 2005 23:48
Winaue is out mess support.WinUAE 1 21 February 2004 18:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21551 seconds with 13 queries