English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 September 2003, 13:48   #1
Lagerfeldt
Junior Member
Lagerfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 43
Posts: 29
Mac->Amiga

Hm, I don't expect a lot of replies to this thread since it's Mac related.

I was wondering if there was an easy way of getting a game off the internet onto a disk in a G3 Mac (which has a 3,5" disk drive). This disk would then work perfectly in an Amiga 500 hopefully.

Is a disk image off the net called an ADF? Does one transfer an image of the whole disk or how is the process done, if at all possible on a Mac?

Last edited by Lagerfeldt; 05 September 2003 at 14:03.
Lagerfeldt is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 September 2003, 18:02   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Hello Lagerfeldt! Welcome aboard

This is possible You will need some program in yoru Amiga that will read your Mac or PC disk, and some stuff to convert from ADF back to floppy (this must be done in the Amiga), and presto.

For your Amiga to read 800KB Mac floppies, get CrossMAC. For it to read PC 720KB floppies, get CrossDOS.

Do a search on the forum on " how to transfer game", because there are shitloads of topics on this already, it's not as easy with a stock a500 but it is possible.

If you need help gettin gthe first proggies into my miggy, i might be able to help, or someone closer to you, sending you a couple of disks.

Cheers!
Akira is offline  
Old 05 September 2003, 18:08   #3
Lagerfeldt
Junior Member
Lagerfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 43
Posts: 29
Hey, thanks!

I think I understood:

-Download the ADF file and save it on a floppy on the Mac.

-Start CrossMac on my A500

-Insert Mac disk with ADF file

-Copy from this floppy onto a new Amiga formatted floppy, and presto a working game?
Lagerfeldt is offline  
Old 06 September 2003, 07:58   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Not quite.

Let's start with some facts... Gimme yer exact A500 specs (memory, hd? external drive?)
Akira is offline  
Old 06 September 2003, 09:53   #5
Lagerfeldt
Junior Member
Lagerfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 43
Posts: 29
Ok thanks, here goes:

Amiga stuff:

-A500

-Supra RAM 500RX inserted into the left side of the A500

-Extra 3,5" drive

No HD since it's busted and ain't ever gonna work.

On the Mac side I've got

-G3 Beige 266 MHz with floppy disk drive & cd-burner (connected to the net). Plan on using this for saving to floppy disk.

-G3 350 MHz B&W no floppy but with cd-burner (connected to the net). This Mac can be connected to the Amiga if necessary.

-G4 Dual 867 MHz no floppy with cd-burner (not connected).
Lagerfeldt is offline  
Old 06 September 2003, 15:25   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Since you have extra RAM AND an external drive, this will be easy

I'll explain it again, since I think it has never been asked for Macs. But if you do a search on the forum you'll see lots of topics bout this, applied to the PC, that will help nonetheless!

1) Grab an ADF off the net.
2) Zip it. It might not fit in a disk, if that's teh case, you will have to use some sort of file splitter, or an archive format that supports multivolumes. Can stuffIt compress to multivolume LHA? I haven't checked. will get back to you on that later. The trick here is making it fit in a floppy or two.
3) Stick this in a Mac 800KB disk (if you have CrossMAC) or a PC 720KB disk (if you have CrossDOS)
4)Load up yer miggy and run CrossDOS/Mac . Insert the floppy and the Amiga will read it.

Now, www.amiganostalgia.com has CrossMAC, but I don;'t know what happened, the file contained within was cut short so it doesnt work. bt I might be able to get CrossDOS to you through the post if needs be. because your first disk will have to come from somewhere, andserial transfer is a no-no with Macs.

Cheers

PM me if you want the disk.
Akira is offline  
Old 06 September 2003, 22:07   #7
Lagerfeldt
Junior Member
Lagerfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 43
Posts: 29
Wow, thanks for the info, you are one serious dude!

I don't have access to a PC (well I could but I have no idea how to work them at all) only Macs, so do you think it would be possible for you to get a hold of the necessary disk for the Amiga (CrossMac)? As I understood it CrossDos is for the PC, right?
Lagerfeldt is offline  
Old 07 September 2003, 00:54   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Your Mac can create both 800KB Mac and 720KB PC floppies, so it matters not Macs are smart computers y'see I bet one of your systems has the PC extension, otherwise I can send you one (works on my Classic II, dunno about a newer Mac)

mac ones have more space, but if you can't get CrossMAC, CrossDOS will do.
Akira is offline  
Old 07 September 2003, 10:33   #9
Lagerfeldt
Junior Member
Lagerfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 43
Posts: 29
I have Virtual PC but I don't want to use it

What do I do now to get started?

BTW I appreciate your help very much as I wouldn't be able to do it properly on my own ..

Last edited by Lagerfeldt; 07 September 2003 at 16:48.
Lagerfeldt is offline  
Old 07 September 2003, 19:32   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
You DO NOT need Virtual PC.

Insert a diskettein your mac. Format it. When the format options appear, select 720KB MSDOS instead of 800KB Mac.

Presto.
Akira is offline  
Old 07 September 2003, 20:12   #11
Lagerfeldt
Junior Member
Lagerfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 43
Posts: 29
Cool,

As I understood what I need now is CrossMac for the Amiga on a floppy disk. You mentioned sending it to me via mail (as this is the only possible solution I understand?)

If so, I shall of course reimburse your costs or send something you like in return
Lagerfeldt is offline  
Old 07 September 2003, 20:49   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
You could ALSO use CrossDOS, since your Mac can format PC floppies. Have you tried?

we'll see about the disk. Got to find a working copy of crossamc foirst
Akira is offline  
Old 07 September 2003, 21:12   #13
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Correction, CrossMac can NOT read 800k low density Mac disks on a standard Amiga drive.
adolescent is offline  
Old 08 September 2003, 04:35   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
And what is it supposed to read?360KB ones?
Akira is offline  
Old 08 September 2003, 05:48   #15
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
It can read HD floppies provided you have an HD floppy drive. It can read low density floppies but only with a Mac floppy drive attached to an AMAX card.

(Oh, it can also read Mac hard drives)
adolescent is offline  
Old 08 September 2003, 06:06   #16
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
OOohhh piece o shite!
I downloaded the app but the image was knackered (missing one track) so I couldn't test it.

That means you can use CrossDOS then. Did you figure out how to format a PC lowdensity floppy in your Mac/? Is easy
Akira is offline  
Old 08 September 2003, 09:16   #17
Lagerfeldt
Junior Member
Lagerfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 43
Posts: 29
Right, formatting a 720Kb floppy is just done on insertion of a blank or unknown type of disk I believe.
Lagerfeldt is offline  
Old 08 September 2003, 18:33   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Great then.

Send me a PM
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga emu on mac? Kola New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 23 November 2009 22:34
Amiga Mac Emulator? SWOS Retrogaming General Discussion 5 07 June 2007 16:54
Linking PC, Amiga and Mac. HardStep support.Hardware 3 01 February 2006 21:03
Mac to Amiga via CDROM? Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 14 25 July 2002 03:26
amiga one mac?? thinlega Amiga scene 2 06 January 2002 03:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08265 seconds with 13 queries