English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 May 2017, 03:01   #1
A1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westhall, England
Posts: 41
Some great shots of the Blizzard 1220/4

This rather modest accelerator has been overlooked by many but it is great - cheap, highly compatible, has an RTC, gives a taste of faster CPU and can facilitate an FPU, and it keeps with the tradition of Amiga not needing much RAM - you learn to live within the 2MB CHIP / 4MB FAST memory.

This one I have soldered in a 40MHz crystal for the FPU, I have also replaced the 32.768KHz RTC oscillator and the VL2020 rechargeable battery. Finally added the Freescale MC68882 @ 40MHz, not before giving the board and all the contacts a good clean.

Runs very stable indeed. For HW Pr0n, please check out these clean, high resolution pictures.:

http://amiga600.net/blizzard1220/

Mike
A1200 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 May 2017, 03:49   #2
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 690
Very nice pictures. You should try to get them uploaded to amiga.resource or BBoah or one of those sites.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 27 May 2017, 09:08   #3
A1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westhall, England
Posts: 41
Yes sometime the images on those sites aren't clear. I will send them both in case they want to use them.
A1200 is offline  
Old 31 May 2017, 23:27   #4
A1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westhall, England
Posts: 41
As beautiful as this card is, I need some more RAM to run some more AGA demos so have gone back the the 1230 MKIV. So the 1220/4 is on eBay here.
A1200 is offline  
Old 04 June 2017, 22:06   #5
A1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westhall, England
Posts: 41
I am sorry guys I couldn't bring myself to do it. I love that little 4MB card. way I see it is demos either run really well on the Blizzard 1220/4 or they don't run at all. The Blizzard 1230 with 16+MB RAM gives you a taste of the 68060 demos but it merely teases you with low FPS renders. Alas I have put the Blizzard 1230MK IV up for sale and the 1220/4 is staying put. Link to listing for those interested.
A1200 is offline  
Old 28 June 2017, 23:36   #6
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 65
You know, it amazes me how just a little extra RAM in an Amiga 1200 can speed the thing up. When I first got mine and saw how...pokey...it was compared to my A500 with AdSpeed and 3mb RAM I was very disappointed. Then a rich friend just gave me his DKB030/28 card, I spent $189 on a 4mb SIMM and that was all she wrote (for about a year, then I went to the Dark Side).
b0lt-thrower is offline  
Old 11 July 2017, 11:21   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,282
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
A1200's sales are now in http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=87870, please don't use this subforum for regular trading.
Jope is offline  
Old 12 July 2017, 01:02   #8
A1200
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westhall, England
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
A1200's sales are now in http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=87870, please don't use this subforum for regular trading.
Cheers dude, I understand.
A1200 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blizzard 1220/4 battery N-Ed support.Hardware 18 30 May 2012 11:37
FS: Blizzard 1220 MK IV ami_junkie MarketPlace 12 14 April 2010 13:16
Blizzard 1220 card ami_junkie support.Hardware 14 09 March 2010 14:29
Blizzard 1220/4 hughie support.Hardware 1 27 February 2005 02:14
deactivate Blizzard 1220/4 ??? PiCiJi support.Hardware 1 05 October 2004 09:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13733 seconds with 12 queries