English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 February 2017, 22:06   #21
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
i've added a new archive with lw5.0r and content.

LW50r_Incl.CDContent.lha

added content of the videotoaster cd: images, scenes, objects, added new lwpanel.p
added plugins to lw-config. binaries are version 5.0r
third icon "Assigns" will add toaster: and 3D: assigns

#1) so start the assigns icon first, next modeler or lightwave.

#2) in modeler, if you experience a stalled modeler, after some action, switch to workbench.
there is a shell window with some error message, just push "enter" key in this activated window and return to modeler.
emufan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 March 2017, 06:33   #22
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
Muadib is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 11:43   #23
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
About #2, when Modeler stalls upon launch, you can also just press a key since focus has momentarily returned to WB. This as long as no mouse key is pressed on the Modeler screen.

Throughout the years, I' ve observed that this error could be date-based, like odd or even dates could be triggering it... Although I haven't really tested it.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Muadib is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 14:37   #24
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
Throughout the years, I' ve observed that this error could be date-based, like odd
yep, it's a bit confusing, when you are not used to it. good thing is, it happens only once after starting the modeler
emufan is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 14:48   #25
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
True that. It also seems that it can affect importing/exporting to and from layout sometimes in the form of stack overflows and program crashes. Although it could be only my system or Oxypatcher...

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Muadib is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 16:21   #26
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
True that. It also seems that it can affect importing/exporting to and from layout sometimes in the form of stack overflows and program crashes. Although it could be only my system or Oxypatcher...
cannot confirm this, but may happen. so a good advice: save your work offten,
save your work in progress, using different filenames 001, 002, 003 or whatever. makes things easier if you get a crash
emufan is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 16:38   #27
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
'S' and 'Shift s' are our best friends!

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Muadib is offline  
Old 01 March 2017, 17:03   #28
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
'S' and 'Shift s' are our best friends!
[HELP] key itself too, reveals some more keyboard shortcuts

@d4rk3lf: does the new 5.0r archive works for you?
emufan is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 00:52   #29
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
@emufan
Thanks a lot, it worked perfectly!
The only thing is that I have to write that up again, whenever I restart my (virtual) Amiga.
np. but i dont understand. redo what, whenever you restart your (emulated) amiga?
Quote:
2 questions:
- I can undo mistake in modeler. Can I undo in layout?
- Whenever I move object (or camera, or light), I need to place a keyframe for them to stay in place. Is that a must?
- no undo in layout (AFAIK) - so save often (SHIFT +S)
- yes, no auto-keyframe feature (AFAIK) - just push "return" key twice, so make a key for current - selected - object/cam/light

#1) cool image.

#2) manual of lw 5
emufan is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 01:34   #30
d4rk3lf
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
np. but i dont understand. redo what, whenever you restart your (emulated) amiga?
I need to retype this:
assign toaster: dh1:toaster
assign 3D: dh1:toaster

Otherwise, it won't start Lightwave. It's not that hard for me to retype this anytime I retstart workbench, but I am wandering if I can make workbench "remember" that.

Btw, thanks for the great LW tips.
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 02 March 2017, 01:51   #31
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
I need to retype this:
assign toaster: dh1:toaster
assign 3D: dh1:toaster

Otherwise, it won't start Lightwave. It's not that hard for me to retype this anytime I retstart workbench, but I am wandering if I can make workbench "remember" that.
hmm, there are now 3 icons , Lightwave / Modeler and Assigns.
assigns-icon should make those assigns, by double click on it. there is no window pop-up, you can double click as offten as u want.

if you have 2 icons only, redownload the archive. it is about 77mb.
Quote:
Btw, thanks for the great LW tips.
np. every little bit does help, i know that myself
emufan is offline  
Old 04 March 2017, 17:29   #32
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
this example was already posted earlier, but since someone has to start, i post it again:
Quote:
i was playing with the effector plugin, which comes with lightwave. example scene and objects below.
tube, sphere and NUll object. NUll is parent of sphere object, so you move the Null-object, to actually move the sphere.
tube got the displacement-plugin "effector", in its dialog you type in the effector name, in this example it is Null (case-sensitive).
then you can move the effector (Null-object) near the tube object and see what happens.
example anim and scene at the link above.

#1) btw. it's of good use, if you add an example scene of your tutorial.
replace big objects with simple cubes and spheres to save some space,
or add the scene file itself only

#2) if you want add a little gif animation you can use ffmpeg, for example:
- resize anim to 78x60 at 3 fps ==> 1200kb --> 148kb
Code:
 ffmpeg -i DragonsLair.anim -vf scale=78:60 -r 3 DragonsLair.gif

Last edited by emufan; 04 March 2017 at 18:06.
emufan is offline  
Old 12 September 2017, 16:18   #33
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
Here's a pic from WIP, converting/correcting geometry and adding lights and thrusters to a Viper Mk. 2 for LW5 usage.

Brb
Muadib is offline  
Old 12 September 2017, 20:57   #34
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
now I want to see it in motion
emufan is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 05:41   #35
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
It's coming, modelling attitude thruster flames atm...
Muadib is offline  
Old 14 September 2017, 16:46   #36
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muadib View Post
It's coming, modelling attitude thruster flames atm...
yeah, those tiny animated bits make a big difference.
I remember the Babylon5 DeltaFighter scene, which has some nice animated thrusters aswell.
pretty cool things ppl achived with the "limited" lw releases for the amiga.
emufan is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 20:43   #37
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
yeah, those tiny animated bits make a big difference.
I remember the Babylon5 DeltaFighter scene, which has some nice animated thrusters aswell.
pretty cool things ppl achived with the "limited" lw releases for the amiga.
Oh yes!
The other day I was checking the Benchmark scene folder and I was like,
"Why do they save the scene with only 1.1 Meg Segment memory?"
and then it hit me that they didn't have much RAM back then!
Ron Thornton had said in an interview "We cheated", refering to some texture trick IIRC...
Muadib is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 22:03   #38
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
I was checking the Effector plugin,
it seems that it only identifies Null Objects or an object's Center Of Gravity(Pivot?) and that it only assumes them as spheres, correct?
Muadib is offline  
Old 18 September 2017, 22:55   #39
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,776
alot of the example scene are set to have 1mb segment memory,
it is the first thing I change after loading a scene

it's been a while since i made the effector example scene.
IIRC it was restricted to a sphere, but later versions had an option to fit the shape of an object.
there are some simple effector tutorials on youtube, but I cannot find them atm.

#1) here is a good tutorial - for a later version of LW.
I guess this was the blueprint of my own experiments with LW5:
[ Show youtube player ]

#2) the size of the deforming sphere you adjust by resizing the null-object.

Last edited by emufan; 18 September 2017 at 23:06.
emufan is offline  
Old 19 September 2017, 09:41   #40
Muadib
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 128
#1) Thanks, I'll check it out

#2) Oh, I didn't know that, I was trying to do it through the requester. Will try!

Cheers!
Muadib is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scala Tutorials? zerohour1974 support.Apps 3 24 March 2015 05:28
Cracking Tutorials? ufo Coders. General 21 31 January 2014 12:39
Vector Tutorials h0ffman Coders. General 7 24 January 2011 18:16
Tutorials for raytracers christianlucio request.Other 0 04 September 2010 18:38
AMOS tutorials Galaxy Coders. Tutorials 0 26 June 2007 13:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17903 seconds with 13 queries