English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.CD32 Conversion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 December 2015, 18:14   #21
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
@earok: Any ROM hack would not work anyway since those games do not use it.
Requests duly noted. Most are difficult. The NVRAM part is tough. And cannot save to RAM: because system is killed by games bootup and never quits to WB.

About AGA games: could be done with some tweaking: ex: being able to install the resident parts somewhere else, provided that the game leaves at least $20000 bytes for my proggy.
Primal Rage is one of your requests I guess.
Any other? (it must be worth it: ex: Chaos Engine AGA is disqualified because there's a CD32 version, same thing for Fire & Ice)

Goal works fine here. Hmmm yep, I think your diskimages are packed (XPKF prefix).

Last edited by jotd; 29 December 2015 at 18:20.
jotd is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 December 2015, 19:22   #22
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Oh, whoops! I'll try again with unpacked images :S thanks for the clarifications on what's possible


List of AGA / 2MB requests:
- Primal Rage
- Second Samurai (keyboard required)
- Chaos Engine 2 (not part 1)
- Shaq Fu
- Body Blows Galactic (not the other two)
- Mortal Kombat 2 (extra effects when 2mb available)

Basically anything that either isn't on cd32 already and isn't DOS loading.
earok is offline  
Old 29 December 2015, 19:28   #23
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
that's the spirit.
duly noted thanks.

Updated compat. list:


- Assassin
- Agony
- Pang
- Magic Pockets
- Addams Family
- Jaguar XJ220
- Robocop 3
- Desert Strike
- First Samurai
- Lotus 2
- Chuck Rock
- Chuck Rock 2
- Goal! (note: old Mr Larmer slave works, newer does not)
- James Pond
- QWAK
- Kick Off 2 (cannot save of course!)
- Full Contact
- Xenon 2
- Jungle Strike
- Supercars 2
- Superfrog
- Chaos Engine 2 OCS (needs keyboard)
- Zool (AmigaFun)
- Z-out (needs keyboard)
- Shinobi
- Supercars
- BattleSquadron
- Arkanoid 2
- Deliverance
- Killing Game Show
- DataStorm (needs keyboard)
- Cool Spot
- Leander
- Risky Woods
- Wiz'n'Liz
- Lotus 3

Last edited by jotd; 31 December 2015 at 16:10. Reason: updated compat list (again!)
jotd is online now  
Old 29 December 2015, 21:27   #24
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Just checked my disk images, they don't seem to be packed (all of them are 880kb, no XPKF header)

It is Goal version 1.1 (the text "Version 1.1" is in the disk.1 file), the slave apparently supports 1.0 as well. Should I try that instead?
earok is offline  
Old 30 December 2015, 00:22   #25
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
@earok: the data dir must be set by command line if slave does not define it and if files are in a data-something subdir
jotd is online now  
Old 30 December 2015, 02:14   #26
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
@earok: the data dir must be set by command line if slave does not define it and if files are in a data-something subdir
Haven't been able to work it out, when I set data manually it gives me a green/blue flashing screen rather than a rainbow one.

I've chucked an attempt at a Goal CD32 build in the zone.
earok is offline  
Old 30 December 2015, 09:40   #27
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
I understand why it fails: I was using an old .slave (from a 2008 whdload CD) and it works.
Since StingRay rewrote it from scratch he may have used some stuff incompatible with my quick&dirty whdload emulation.

Quickfix: old Goal install in the zone. Not sure Stingray's patch is very useful on a read-only media anyway.
jotd is online now  
Old 30 December 2015, 14:28   #28
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I understand why it fails: I was using an old .slave (from a 2008 whdload CD) and it works.
Since StingRay rewrote it from scratch he may have used some stuff incompatible with my quick&dirty whdload emulation.

Quickfix: old Goal install in the zone. Not sure Stingray's patch is very useful on a read-only media anyway.
Success! I feel dumb for not trying that myself thanks heaps for looking into it.

So on our Kick Off Collection I've tested (working under emulation)

- Kick Off 2
- Kick Off 2: Return To Europe
- Kick Off 2 Final Whistle
- Kick Off 2 Final Whistle Competition Version
- Kick Off 3
- Goal!
- Player Manager 2

It did not work on (though we don't need any of these three)

- Kick Off 2 Competition Version (no idea why since it worked on other competition versions!)
- Kick Off 3 European Challenge
- Player Manager (works ok on WHDLoad)


I didn't try Kick Off 1 since that's cracked to files.

Last edited by earok; 30 December 2015 at 14:39.
earok is offline  
Old 30 December 2015, 18:40   #29
Telemachus
Registered User
Telemachus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Does it work with global gladiators and cool spot? capital punishment would be a good choice I think

I remember a while back from a conversation that onescapee was going to get a CD32 release but I think the game uses 2.5mb of ram
Telemachus is offline  
Old 31 December 2015, 01:04   #30
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
Cool Spot works (just tested it), Global Gladiators does not (must upgrade some JST stuff first)
CP: eats too much RAM:. Maybe a simple DOS install would work.

@earok: no need for "CD0:" anymore. Relative paths are OK.
BTW which launcher do you use? TinyLauncher won't start on a read-only device (I/O error).
jotd is online now  
Old 31 December 2015, 01:11   #31
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Cool Spot works (just tested it), Global Gladiators does not (must upgrade some JST stuff first)
CP: eats too much RAM:. Maybe a simple DOS install would work.

@earok: no need for "CD0:" anymore. Relative paths are OK.
BTW which launcher do you use? TinyLauncher won't start on a read-only device (I/O error).
Capital Punishment has just been fixed
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 31 December 2015, 01:38   #32
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Cool Spot works (just tested it), Global Gladiators does not (must upgrade some JST stuff first)
CP: eats too much RAM:. Maybe a simple DOS install would work.

@earok: no need for "CD0:" anymore. Relative paths are OK.
BTW which launcher do you use? TinyLauncher won't start on a read-only device (I/O error).
Have you tried Cool Spot on real hardware? It usually works on emulation only to crash on a real device (John Twiddy loader issue, Psygore's resolved it for Putty Squad and Aladdin CD32 at least)

I use AMSCD32 for the big compilation, it's part of Lennon Lives' CD32 toolkit.

As Galahad said we've now got Capital Punishment working at our end thanks to his DOS load delay patcher. Expect a release sometimes soon.
earok is offline  
Old 31 December 2015, 01:59   #33
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,781
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
4. Mouse emulation, perhaps using the "LEMMINGS_PLANETSIDE" hack in the CD32 ROM?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
That won't work but mouse counters are writable (JOYTEST) so hardware mouse "emulation" is possible. (It can't be 100% perfect because low 2 bits are not writable but should work quite nicely)
Can I ask in layman terms there exist mouse emulators that work with system friendly stuff but this is more powerful working obviously with Lemmings and other not totaly system friendly games - sorry If I misunderstood is there anyway of getting this working on Non CD Amiga - maybe by loading a module or it is possible in general or not?

Last edited by Retro1234; 31 December 2015 at 02:16.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 31 December 2015, 10:16   #34
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Some more games tested working on CD32Load. All of these are ones I recall having flashing issues on WHDLoad (tested under emulation):

- Lemmings (2 disk version, slave 1.4). Breaks after intro. Screen flashes repeatedly blue, but you can move the "Lemming hand" cursor around. Might be OK on different version of slave and/or disk.
- Oh No More Lemmings (0.3. Tested with non-data disk version that asks for password). Works just fine.
- Woodys World. Works just fine.

Also interested in the answer Boo Boo's question above.



I was wondering if the 2MB ram limit could be removed? I thought it might be worthwhile testing Primal Rage etc to see if they could work on a Fast RAM equipped CD32 (for SX32 owners etc)
earok is offline  
Old 31 December 2015, 11:22   #35
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
Good!
I'll check lemmings. Flashing colors have a meaning. I'll look into that.

Yes, the 2MB ram limit can be removed, as long as a $12000 byte buffer is available in chipmem (I assume) for CD buffer.
In fact, I could just check if there's some fast mem available, and relocate/load files there.
What's wrong with whdload on SX32 BTW?

Not sure I understand BooBoo's question. Well: if the question is:

is it possible to have mouse emulation on os-friendly (i.e. lowlevel.library using) games on non-CD32 amigas the answer is yes. disk-version of lowlevel.library does not contain the string "lemmings" so that's not here.
Not sure where is the "lemmings_planetside" strings and what does it do exactly? AFAIK the mouse works fine on a CD32, no need to emulate so must be something I missed for sure..

BTW BooBoo I checked your CD menu maker, I found a Windows .exe/C# thing that checks stuff (not sure exactly what) and no amiga-side executable.
ATM I cannot find any launcher suitable for my needs with CD32load. My idea would be to use a python script of mine to detect .slave/data/stuff and generate the launcher scripts in each game directory.
That way, it would be possible to add CUSTOMxxx stuff for each game for instance, and add options or whatever, specifically to each game.

Last edited by jotd; 31 December 2015 at 11:27.
jotd is online now  
Old 31 December 2015, 11:33   #36
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Good!
I'll check lemmings. Flashing colors have a meaning. I'll look into that.

Yes, the 2MB ram limit can be removed, as long as a $12000 byte buffer is available in chipmem (I assume) for CD buffer.
In fact, I could just check if there's some fast mem available, and relocate/load files there.
What's wrong with whdload on SX32 BTW?
That's actually a good question. I suppose with registered WHDLoad now free there's no reason why it can't be used when there's lots of RAM. I suppose maybe if there's a game that requires more than say 8mb for preload, but I can't think of any off the top of my head.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Not sure where is the "lemmings_planetside" strings and what does it do exactly? AFAIK the mouse works fine on a CD32, no need to emulate so must be something I missed for sure..
The string is in the CD32 Extended ROM, along with numerous other CDTV volume names.

The thing is, when you put the Lemmings CDTV disc in a CD32, you can play the game with joystick. But when you copy all of the Lemmings CDTV files to say a hard drive and run from there, you need to have a mouse. The trick is if you have "LEMMINGS_PLANETSIDE" as the CD volume name (right padded with spaces), and then boot that CD, the ROM turns on joystick-to-mouse emulation and does a few other patches. This actually works for other games, for instance my lemmings CD32 collection uses that volume name and joystick works for Lemmings 2 and 3. Hope that makes sense!
earok is offline  
Old 31 December 2015, 11:43   #37
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 46
Posts: 1,973
I understand. Can be done. Of course, I don't see the point since it's better to play with a mouse, and mouses are cheap nowadays... most CD32 users have a mouse right?

About Lemmings, cannot get the 2-disk version to work. Did you try the 1-disk version?

The goal of this project is to be able to play ALL the games, not all the versions of a given game.
So for example I'll drop Capital Punishment since Galahad solution works and is more sensible.
jotd is online now  
Old 31 December 2015, 11:51   #38
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Some more games tested working on CD32Load. All of these are ones I recall having flashing issues on WHDLoad (tested under emulation):

- Lemmings (2 disk version, slave 1.4). Breaks after intro. Screen flashes repeatedly blue, but you can move the "Lemming hand" cursor around. Might be OK on different version of slave and/or disk.
- Oh No More Lemmings (0.3. Tested with non-data disk version that asks for password). Works just fine.
- Woodys World. Works just fine.

Also interested in the answer Boo Boo's question above.



I was wondering if the 2MB ram limit could be removed? I thought it might be worthwhile testing Primal Rage etc to see if they could work on a Fast RAM equipped CD32 (for SX32 owners etc)
If Jeff cant fix Lemmings for his hybrid loader, im virtually 99% sure i can get it to run with my system, but i will let Jeff investigate first.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 31 December 2015, 12:32   #39
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I understand. Can be done. Of course, I don't see the point since it's better to play with a mouse, and mouses are cheap nowadays... most CD32 users have a mouse right?
That's true - though it's cool if we can offer that ability. Since the CD32 is a games console some people prefer playing it with a gamepad from their couch.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
About Lemmings, cannot get the 2-disk version to work. Did you try the 1-disk version?
Just tried Lemmings 1 disk, it crashes right at the start (2 disk at least gets through the intro).

Actually, I'm not entirely sure Lemmings needs to be supported at all since CDTV version works just fine. I do use the WHDLoad version in the cd32.co.uk collection since it has custom tooltypes for setting the start level (as opposed to needing to enter a password) but other than that I can't think of any need for it.
earok is offline  
Old 31 December 2015, 12:53   #40
earok
Moderator

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,550
Wiz N Liz is another one to add to your working list from WHDLoad it doesn't appear to work at all on a CD file system, so it's great that CD32Load handles it.


Edit: Just remembered I wanted to check the Lotus Trilogy

Lotus 1: No luck (Although no flashing on WHDLoad anyway, just testing for it's own sake)
Lotus 2: Works perfectly (Bad OS flashing on WHDLoad, so great that this works!)
Lotus 3: Works perfectly (Bad OS flashing on WHDLoad, so also great that this works!. Keyboard required for copy protection screen)

Last edited by earok; 31 December 2015 at 13:33.
earok is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.57814 seconds with 12 queries