English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Maptapper

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 March 2014, 02:02   #1
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
Request: Apprentice

Hi guys.

I downloaded and tried Maptapper... Followed this guide and it worked out fine. Then I tried by myself with Apprentice but nothing seems to work for me

If anybody has the time, I would be so happy to see the maps for the game
TroelsDK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 March 2014, 04:40   #2
Codetapper
2 contact me: email only!

Codetapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Auckland / New Zealand
Posts: 3,131
Floppy disk Level 1 attached

Where exactly did you get stuck? Did you find the tiles ok?

Attached is level 1, you should be able to rip the remaining levels pretty easily. Please send them to us for inclusion in HOL if you rip the whole lot! Just choose Open Project and have a play.

A few tips:

Because the game stores it's map vertically, you need a decent Y height of tiles to match or it's REAL slow. Whenever possible choose a section of at least 4x4 tiles and preferably the first column and row are unique. Sequential numbers mean it's a lot slower to search, hence why I picked an apple in the top corner, then blank space and some land in my match.

The game alters the map as you play, so make fresh savestates before you move on each level to get a full map with all the collectables.

Make sure you use the Copperlist button, as the savestate has the wrong palette as it must have saved the palette for the bottom status panel.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Apprentice.zip (296.8 KB, 90 views)

Last edited by Codetapper; 12 March 2014 at 04:48. Reason: Included the image I used to match the tiles and added tips
Codetapper is offline  
Old 12 March 2014, 09:34   #3
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
I've uploaded 34 maps: http://hol.abime.net/3283/gamemap

The worlds are numbered up to 37 so I haven't been able to locate worlds 25, 28 and 32. However, I'm not sure if they actually exist or not! Some worlds are only accessible through other worlds.

If you can access the missing levels, send me savestates!
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 12 March 2014, 13:32   #4
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
Thanks guys! My problem is that I really don't know what I'm doing.. Couldn't find anything that resembled tiles

AWESOME JodyJarret!

So you just need the missing levels as savestes? I'll try to find them

Q: Can I use my a1200 setup with WHDLoad or do I need to play the game from adf?
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 12 March 2014, 13:42   #5
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
Codetapper has had a look at the game's code and he reckons that the levels don't exist. We've both tried to access the levels directly but this causes the game to crash.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 12 March 2014, 13:47   #6
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
Wow that's strange.. I'll give a go anyway just for fun
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 12 March 2014, 14:06   #7
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,740
You could note which worlds are accessible from other worlds and also grab lots of screenshots for the HOL entry!
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 12 March 2014, 14:08   #8
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
Will do
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 14 March 2014, 16:03   #9
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
OK made it through

I couldn't access 25,28,32 either.
It makes sense though..somehow. There are 17 main levels and therefore 17 secret levels = 34
37 -(25+28+32)

Why they would have named them like this is maybe just to add to the mystery of the game, and to give guys like us headaches

I've added some screens on HOL server, and the guide to the levels... However, I must have missed something because I didn't find level 18.. Do you remember how to access that one?

Code:
1 - No special door
2 - No special door
3 - Special door -> 19 (-> 4)
4 - Special door -> 20 (-> 5)
5 - Upper special door -> 21 (-> 6)
  - Lower special door -> 22 - Special door -> 23 (-> 7)
                             - Exit         -> 24 (-> 7)
6 - Special door -> 24 (-> 7)
7 - Special door -> 26 (-> 11)
8 - Special door -> 27 - Exit -> 29 (-> 11) 
9 - Special door -> 29 (-> 11) 
10 - Special door -> 30 - Special door -> 31 - Exit -> 35 (-> 15)
                        - Exit         -> 33 - Exit -> 35 (-> 15)  
11 - Special door -> 33 - Exit -> 35 (-> 15) 
12 - Special door -> 34 (-> 13)
13 - Special door -> 36 (-> 14)
14 - Special door -> 37 (-> 15)
15 - No special door
16 - No special door
17 - No special door

Last edited by TroelsDK; 14 March 2014 at 16:13.
TroelsDK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apprentice random white screen Nostromo support.Games 1 25 December 2013 15:46
Apprentice Jerry project.Maptapper 4 27 June 2013 23:51
Apprentice rmcin329 support.Games 3 06 June 2013 14:53
Looking for Animation Apprentice oolong request.Apps 3 01 September 2004 09:24
request Stormlord request.Old Rare Games 1 23 March 2002 23:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14502 seconds with 13 queries