English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.Maptapper

Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2013, 21:48   #1
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,765
Civilization - The Challenge II

Following the successful conclusion of the Lost Vikings challenge I thought that I'd try another one.

Here's a Civilization ECS savestate and ini files for Maptapper.

"Civilization Graphics I" shows some graphics with a few tiles.

"Civilization Graphics II" shows what looks like the map tiles.

"Civilization Graphics III" shows the unit graphics.

However, I can't work out how to properly display the map tiles. It might also be that there are two layers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Civilization Graphics I.png
Views:	276
Size:	9.7 KB
ID:	35754   Click image for larger version

Name:	Civilization Graphics II.png
Views:	307
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	35755   Click image for larger version

Name:	Civilization Graphics III.png
Views:	479
Size:	13.0 KB
ID:	35756  
CodyJarrett is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 June 2013, 06:21   #2
Joe Maroni

Joe Maroni's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,280
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
yeah..there are two layers....

use your savestate and use this:

32*16 tile size
4 bitplanes
160 bytes skip

colors are still corrupt....
Attached Files
File Type: zip Civilization Graphics I.zip (1.1 KB, 103 views)
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 04 December 2013, 10:34   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 587
No success at all trying to map this game in typical Maptapper fashion. The memory can be hacked to show the whole map though. ( The map cheat described on HOL didn't work for me using SPS disks. )

Large picture is "EARTH" map made by pasting together screen captures. Unfortunately a full box capture won't align perfectly so it is necessary to scroll a little less than the box size before the next capture.

Making the exact same selections for a new game draws a different map each time so I don't know how useful it would be for HOL maps. However, the F10 built-in map will show a full map so it may be of some use playing.

It needs to be discovered if the map cheat can be made to work or else the game code will need changing.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIVEarth.png
Views:	248
Size:	258.7 KB
ID:	38060   Click image for larger version

Name:	EarthF10.png
Views:	227
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	38061  
clenched is online now  
Old 23 March 2016, 17:18   #4
Posts: n/a

Really glad to see that someone actually takes an interest in coding stuff in this game, since I ran into a problem today, in Civ AGA. I wonder if anyone would be able to help out. My map got corrupted. When I open the world map with F10 it shows "romans", something in black pixels on the map, and when I look at those areas on the real map, it shows fragments from the espionage image. Is this a known bug, or corruption? would anyone be able to help me with this? I do have save files from when it happened and 12 turns before it happened. Actually I have from more steps than that, but... yeah xD
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Civilization mai request.Old Rare Games 8 03 September 2010 15:49
Civilization issue Lorfarius support.Games 4 23 January 2010 15:23
Civilization Anonymous oldpx Retrogaming General Discussion 0 29 August 2005 01:21
Looking for Civilization Screenshot...... Enverex Retrogaming General Discussion 5 22 September 2003 14:40
saving civilization Traquer support.Games 8 10 April 2002 00:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13795 seconds with 13 queries