English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2009, 04:11   #1
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Sony 920 MPF z/121 fix for Amiga ( added the z/161 and a few more)

Hi All,
After trying to find an old PC Floppy drive to mod for the Amiga i gave up and decided to try to make a new model work.

This is what i came up with, i did see some schematics on a Czech site for the "Z" series but they did not work properly. I tested their fix using "The killing Game show" which took great delight in refusing to load the actual game with their fix. My fix works fine. I do not have X-copy so I'm unable to check that function, but i am pretty confident that it will work fine.

The model i used is the Sony MPF 920 z/121 which is still on sale in stores (and also the z/131 which i have not
seen).

Here is a link i found in the UK...
http://www.twenga.co.uk/search.php?q=MPF920%2FZ%2F121

In Canada...
http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=90...%20Accessories

The mod itself is pretty easy, 2 wires, cutting a trace and moving a Zero ohm resistor. The low res pic is shown below and the hi-res pic (Link below) shows everything you need to know.





Let me know if you have any questions etc.


the hires pic can be seen here...

http://www.kipper2k.com/images/mpf920-z-121-hires.jpg

Here is the HD disable pic (This forces the drive to treat all inserted floppys as Double Density) AKA 880k Amiga discs.





As you can see we just need to short the two points on SW3.


Here is what is needed to be done in order for the A1200 case to close properly. All the marked area has to be removed or bent back in order for the top case to fit properly. It is really easy to do, just use a dremel or hacksaw blade on the left and right side and then use a pair of pliers to bend the metal up and back.





and here is if finished and fitted. Notice that the button had to be trimmed on the left side so it didn't interfere with the top portion of the case. The button is a little on the short side, but works ok. Overall the drive is a lot quieter than the POS that was in there originally. I'll probably fashion a button extension piece out of scrap plastic and glue.




edit, i have added the Sony z/161 floppy too, it is further down this thread.

Last edited by kipper2k; 12 July 2010 at 20:31.
kipper2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 March 2009, 15:19   #2
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Nice mod. Well done.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 00:18   #3
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Thanks for sharing this with us, kipper!
prowler is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 00:27   #4
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
yes I`m thinkin of moddin a pc floppy soon so info like this is lovely

though if i do it with this drive I`ll dremal the metal off rarther than bending it, even though it is`t seen when the case is put back on
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 00:54   #5
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
yah, i was too lazy to go into work and use the grinding tool, so i took the easy route
kipper2k is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 08:44   #6
Phiber
Hardware Freak
Phiber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to Phiber
So this should work ok in A500 and A600 too?

Or am I missing something due to fact that i just woke up..

Got one of these drives in my Desktop PC.. Hmh, maybe i should "stock" a few extra ones.. :P
Phiber is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 14:18   #7
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phiber View Post
So this should work ok in A500 and A600 too?

Or am I missing something due to fact that i just woke up..

Got one of these drives in my Desktop PC.. Hmh, maybe i should "stock" a few extra ones.. :P
Hi Phiber,

I tried this in a 1200, 500 and an external floppy and it all worked
kipper2k is offline  
Old 09 March 2009, 22:14   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I tried this in a 1200, 500 and an external floppy and it all worked
In that case, thanks even more for sharing this with us!
prowler is offline  
Old 15 June 2009, 08:29   #9
zonaps2
 
Posts: n/a
Hi, I have this drive "Sony 920MPF z/161" the board looks identical to yours, I tried to make the mod and then tested on my A500, it makes the "asking disk" sound, but when I insert a floppy it tries to read, make a few tries and then stop.

I'm not very good soldering, I break the 0 ohm resistor and put a tiny piece of metal instead, but this is so small I can't tell if it's properly fixed.

Thanks!
BTW this is my first post on eab, and sorry for my english
 
Old 08 July 2009, 10:53   #10
@UAE
Registered User
@UAE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dubai UAE
Posts: 157
Send a message via ICQ to @UAE
i copied several games on Xcopy III , all works fine . i can say this drive is 100% compatible .
@UAE is offline  
Old 19 July 2009, 00:58   #11
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
I have 3 more drives to add to the list of compatible drives, 2 of them were already listed but in German and i have one that as far as i can find has not been listed. if you have an old panasonic sitting around or NEC dont chuck it. i'll post some pics later this week.

( I am upgrading computers at work and i get first pick of the old bits & pieces
kipper2k is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 23:43   #12
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Just made the modifications ... working perfect in my A600 & A1200 !!

Thank you
Foul is offline  
Old 11 June 2010, 14:58   #13
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Just made the modifications ... working perfect in my A600 & A1200 !!

Thank you
uhmm work well but all my floppys are recognised as DD not HD
Foul is offline  
Old 11 June 2010, 21:32   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
That's how it goes. There are no generic instructions for modifying HD drives to work as Amiga HD drives.
Jope is offline  
Old 11 June 2010, 23:11   #15
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
That's how it goes. There are no generic instructions for modifying HD drives to work as Amiga HD drives.
So why this :

Quote:
Here is the HD disable pic (This forces the drive to treat all inserted floppys as Double Density) AKA 880k Amiga discs.
if all floppies are recognised as DD ?
Foul is offline  
Old 12 June 2010, 02:17   #16
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
So why this :



if all floppies are recognised as DD ?
The way that i tested this specific drive was to use regular 1.44mb floppies and 720k floppies in this drive. In order for the drive to recognise HD floppies formatted to 880K the HD switch had to be disabled so that it "seen" a regular double density disc in the drive. I had no reason to experiment with HD 1.44mb floppies as all the adf images etc were all 880k etc. Feel free to experiment by leaving the switch enabled and try to use as 1.44mb but i don't think it will work in both DD/HD modes. I have never used an official HD floppy drive so i don't know if you need special drivers etc in order for the Amiga to read HD formatted disks.

edit.... I always use hot glue and fill the HD hole in the floppies so that they can be read in any Amiga regular 880k drive.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 12 June 2010, 09:07   #17
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
ok, thank you
Foul is offline  
Old 12 June 2010, 10:04   #18
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
A "regular" Amiga drive doesn't give a shit if theres a hole there or not. Why would a double density drive check for a high density hole in the disk?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 12 June 2010, 10:33   #19
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
yah, i was too lazy to go into work and use the grinding tool, so i took the easy route
Very nice unintentional double entendre. I'm surprised that there's really no proper floppy standard by now.
Loedown is offline  
Old 12 June 2010, 10:35   #20
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
A "regular" Amiga drive doesn't give a shit if theres a hole there or not. Why would a double density drive check for a high density hole in the disk?
The standard A500 drives are 300 RPM, the high density A4000 drives are 300 / 150, perhaps PC drives operate in the same way?
Loedown is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony monitor, PVM 1342Q and my Amiga tesla support.Hardware 0 17 March 2013 16:12
amiga rtc fix roy bates Hardware mods 2 07 October 2011 23:32
Trying to fix a Amiga A600HD Ioncannon support.Hardware 38 20 October 2009 20:19
SONY VAIO PCMCIA CD-ROM on an AMIGA 1200 Kinchan support.Hardware 5 28 January 2006 11:24
'Error code 121' - What does it mean? Tim Janssen request.Old Rare Games 11 13 November 2003 14:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37800 seconds with 13 queries