English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware pics

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 October 2013, 16:39   #421
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
I have a question. Th CX encoder chip in the Amiga 600 and 1200 has luma and chroma outputs. Can I just use those to make an s-video output? I saw people mounting svideo kits to this encoder chip but I quite don't understand why.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 October 2013, 16:52   #422
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,282
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I have a question. Th CX encoder chip in the Amiga 600 and 1200 has luma and chroma outputs. Can I just use those to make an s-video output? I saw people mounting svideo kits to this encoder chip but I quite don't understand why.
It needs a few external components to get the S-Video out into the proper format, so that's why the kits exist.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 October 2013, 21:52   #423
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 36
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I get them from Digikey all the time, they have PAl and NTSC capable frequencies.

http://www.digikey.ca/product-search...2333?k=crystal
Thanks, I haven't thought of them, I looked on rsdelivers site as I ordered from them before .

*edit*

Now I remember why I never ordered anything from them, they estimate shipping for 10 SMD crystals to Croatia $120

Last edited by Solo761; 25 October 2013 at 22:30.
Solo761 is offline  
Old 26 October 2013, 06:45   #424
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo761 View Post
Thanks, I haven't thought of them, I looked on rsdelivers site as I ordered from them before .

*edit*

Now I remember why I never ordered anything from them, they estimate shipping for 10 SMD crystals to Croatia $120
Sometimes it's the shipping that kills the deal, I have looked at Digikey here several times in Australia but their postage is a killer, Farnell, WES, RS and Rockby are my main suppliers, sometimes a better deal including postage than from the part's originators plus their postage.
Loedown is offline  
Old 26 October 2013, 15:56   #425
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I have a question. Th CX encoder chip in the Amiga 600 and 1200 has luma and chroma outputs. Can I just use those to make an s-video output?
This is what I do on the Megadrive. The luma output does need to be amplified with a transistor or op-amp and then run through a filter to remove noise.

Unfortunately I can't give a more detailed response than that as I don't have a schematic handy.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 26 October 2013, 16:44   #426
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
This is what I do on the Megadrive. The luma output does need to be amplified with a transistor or op-amp and then run through a filter to remove noise.

Unfortunately I can't give a more detailed response than that as I don't have a schematic handy.
Does the MD have the same encoder chip?
Akira is offline  
Old 26 October 2013, 19:58   #427
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,282
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Does the MD have the same encoder chip?
IIRC it does.

Here's the circuit you need to make, it's basically the same as in the CD32 schematics.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 October 2013, 23:04   #428
Solo761
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Croatia
Age: 36
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loedown View Post
Sometimes it's the shipping that kills the deal, I have looked at Digikey here several times in Australia but their postage is a killer, Farnell, WES, RS and Rockby are my main suppliers, sometimes a better deal including postage than from the part's originators plus their postage.
Thanks, I'll check with some of the other companies you mentioned. Already checked Farnell and so far it's the cheapest, "only" $20 for shipping .
Solo761 is offline  
Old 27 October 2013, 00:30   #429
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
IIRC it does.

Here's the circuit you need to make, it's basically the same as in the CD32 schematics.
Seems like it's the same on MD model 1 only. MD model 2 has a pin compatible but inferior quality Samsung encoder.

Here is a different circuit though, can anybody tell what the difference is and which one might be better?:



It has a transistor on the Y line.
Akira is offline  
Old 27 October 2013, 16:10   #430
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,282
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Now would be the time to dig out the datasheets for the chips. Perhaps the CXA1145P is subtly different to the CXA1145M?

Anyway, Commodore got it to work in the CD32 with a cap + resistor on each line, so I guess it's close enough. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 27 October 2013, 16:19   #431
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Seems like it's the same on MD model 1 only. MD model 2 has a pin compatible but inferior quality Samsung encoder.

Here is a different circuit though, can anybody tell what the difference is and which one might be better?:



It has a transistor on the Y line.
that genesis circuit is not official is a hack invented by this guy

http://www.jamma-nation-x.com/jammax/genesismods.html

basic difference is it uses a npn transistor to amplify luma

which one might be better? try them both and see yourself the results, they are easy to build

also there is another circuit for svideo http://aminet.net/docs/hard/S-Video_A1200.lzh
but this one is much more complicated

Last edited by Sandro; 27 October 2013 at 17:04.
Sandro is offline  
Old 11 September 2017, 19:23   #432
leon22
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Graz
Posts: 1
Hi!

I know this is rather an old thread but maybe anyone can help me:

is the schematic from narmi (downloadable from his site: http://www3.telus.net/narmi/AmigaVideo.zip) functional with PAL or which product do you suggest for a PAL Amiga 500?!

Thank you very much!


greets leon22
leon22 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga A1200 RGB & composite video problem solution! Anemos support.Hardware 24 24 September 2015 08:36
Built my own: Amiga RGB to S-Video + composite adaptor small issue though... waltermixxx Hardware pics 37 03 July 2013 04:03
A1200 composite/rgb video port flakey? Akira support.Hardware 2 17 April 2012 23:44
RGB to S-Video / Composite Adaptor Charlie Hardware mods 3 30 January 2011 14:13
For sale a NEW RGB CGA to S-Video and Composite Video converter Vars191 MarketPlace 0 11 January 2009 05:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18235 seconds with 13 queries