English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2016, 10:52   #1
zeGouky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 37
Posts: 66
Samba/Accessing synology NAS

Hello,

I've recently bought a xsurf from Amigakit for my A4000 and I just can't connect to the different shared folder on my Synology NAS (or a shared folder from my windows 7 machine).

I tried to use easynet interface but it keep asking for the password and fail to connect.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
zeGouky is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 December 2016, 11:24   #2
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 408
I don't know about easynet as I use miamidx and amitradecentre to access a shared folder on my nas. Assuming your net connection from the miggy works fine have you tried setting up a shared folder with no permissions required?

Sent from my S7 Edge
crazyc is offline  
Old 31 December 2016, 11:28   #3
zeGouky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 37
Posts: 66
Yup tried that on my W7 but no luck, still asking for a password :/
zeGouky is online now  
Old 31 December 2016, 20:14   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,160
What are you using for accessing the shares? Windows 7 shares are a little funky and you need the latest SMBFS to be able to access them. What version of SMBFS are you using, and what command line are you using? Are you trying to access via IP address or hostname? If the latter, do you have the hostname added to your TCP/IP settings?
Daedalus is offline  
Old 01 January 2017, 10:28   #5
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 1,181
I use SMBFS from Aminet with my Synology, using this command line :
run >nil: SMBFS Volume="NAS" Workgroup=WORKGROUP User=amiga Password=a1200A4000 Service=//DISKSTATION/games
dirkies is offline  
Old 01 January 2017, 12:07   #6
gazj82
Registered User

gazj82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cambs / UK
Posts: 242
EDIT: Totally didn't read the first post properly :s
gazj82 is offline  
Old 01 January 2017, 12:11   #7
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 1,181
DISKSTATION is indeed the Synology
Never tried to ping it as it was visible straight away, and no need to specify the IP address either, somehow the Miggy IP layer (Easynet here too) was smart enough to get that info from the specified gateway (which is the Synology too!).
dirkies is offline  
Old 01 January 2017, 14:50   #8
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 577
As of a certain DSM version Easynet samba support also broke for me (some 2 years ago). Amigakit has totally ignored my ticket for it. I switched to smbfs &, iirc, smb mounter as GUI front end.
spudje is offline  
Old 01 January 2017, 15:00   #9
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 44
Posts: 1,181
I tested mine a few months ago, DSM 6.x, Easynet with SMBFS, OS 3.9, A1200 with ethernet PCMCIA card connected to Cisco router where the Synology 1813+ is connected to (moreover using 4 bonded cables)
Samba support in Easynet did not work for me either, so went for SMBFS instead.
dirkies is offline  
Old 01 January 2017, 16:10   #10
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 457
I use SMBFS. New version works great without any issues.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/ami...s/amiga-smbfs/
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 01 January 2017, 16:56   #11
zeGouky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 37
Posts: 66
Hey Guys,

thanks for the replies!

SMBFS do the trick for me! I've also switched to Genesis as it seems more reliable I'm thinking about getting Roadshow, any thoughts?
zeGouky is online now  
Old 01 January 2017, 17:38   #12
zeGouky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 37
Posts: 66
Hmm actually that seems to work but soon as I try to open the share and check all the files, it just freeze :/

Same goes if i try to list a directory within the CLI, it just get stuck ;/
zeGouky is online now  
Old 04 January 2017, 01:13   #13
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 472
Try smbfs 1.74
DJBase is online now  
Old 04 January 2017, 09:27   #14
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeGouky View Post
Hmm actually that seems to work but soon as I try to open the share and check all the files, it just freeze :/

Same goes if i try to list a directory within the CLI, it just get stuck ;/
I don't have a Synology NAS but a different NAS that supports smb protocol. I also have configured a Samba share on my Linux PC.

On my AmigaOS 3.9 I am able to mount both the Samba shares, browse the directories and copy any files I want from the shares to my A1200 but unfortunately when I try to write a file from Amiga to the share(s) the system hangs. Actually it seems that only "Intuition" hangs, if I unmount the share(s) from CLI the system works again.

I use amiga-smbfs 1.102 but I've also tried version 1.74 with the same result. My TCP/IP stack is AmiTCP 4 (EasynetPro).
liviux76 is offline  
Old 04 January 2017, 12:09   #15
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion
DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 472
I have the same problem with my Synology using 1.102 under OS4 but 1.74 works.
DJBase is online now  
Old 04 January 2017, 12:11   #16
zeGouky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edinburgh
Age: 37
Posts: 66
Thanks guys! i will try with 1.74, was using 1.102 as it was showing recent acitivity on sourceforge...
zeGouky is online now  
Old 04 January 2017, 12:27   #17
liviux76
Registered User

liviux76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: BO/Italy
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJBase View Post
I have the same problem with my Synology using 1.102 under OS4 but 1.74 works.
I'll check it out again... thanks for your post.
liviux76 is offline  
Old 22 September 2017, 22:31   #18
cre8or
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Lucas View Post
I use SMBFS. New version works great without any issues.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/ami...s/amiga-smbfs/
A bit late but i also can confirm that the new release works flawless for me.
cre8or is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samba mritter0 support.WinUAE 6 10 March 2015 09:52
Samba 2.2.5 on OS 3.9 Turran support.Apps 5 06 November 2014 23:31
Using Samba with EasyNet NovaCoder support.Apps 18 26 May 2009 07:55
Samba problems Coma support.Hardware 4 16 February 2006 13:03
samba setup. poppe support.Apps 5 08 June 2005 18:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19571 seconds with 14 queries