English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 September 2017, 17:54   #1
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,034
camd & MidiPrefs

I dont understand the camd/MidiPrefs stuff.
playing with a midi sequencer which uses camd, I'm not able to squeese some
sounds to VirtualMidiSynth.
it does not even start the windows based midi thing, while it does with Music-X for example,
which does not use camd.library.
Code:
3.System:> version Libs/camd.library 
camd.library 40.4

3.System:> version Prefs/MidiPorts 
MIDIPortPrefs 1.0

3.System:> ls -l Devs/midi/
-----rwed   93-04-23 14:58:10    3     1060 checkpoint
-----rwed   90-07-05 16:31:37    2      988 internal
-----rwed   89-02-27 22:24:24    6     2868 MIDI-IO
-----rwed   01-07-28 08:30:28    8     3784 mmp
-----rwed   93-04-23 14:58:08    3     1252 OneStopMusicShop
-----rwed   16-05-03 12:30:16    5     2516 xphantom
and MidiPrefs looks allways the same - I select the internal, save, but after restart, nothing selected.
already deleted envarc:sys/midi.prefs - makes no diff.
should it list all the devices in devs:midi?

#1) tested with DeluxeMusic 2.0 and Camouflage 2.40 - I cannot convince them playing :/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard-1.png
Views:	31
Size:	11.6 KB
ID:	54635  

Last edited by emufan; 17 September 2017 at 19:10.
emufan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 September 2017, 20:14   #2
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
midiportprefs could be the problem. you could try deleting env-archive/sys/midi.prefs and letting DM2 use its own setting which does work. Setting eith of the internal drivers in midiport prefs didn't seem to work and selecting uaemidi just seemed to cause the amiga side to lock up.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 21:04   #3
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,034
i removed midi.prefs, makes no difference :/

I found uaemidi - using archive.org - from old NSM website.
camd 40.5 on aminet

do you have anything listed in your MidiPrefs from devs:midi?

Last edited by emufan; 17 September 2017 at 21:18.
emufan is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 21:20   #4
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
only internal and uaemidi show up.

Maybe there is a reason I'm using an older version of camd which I cant't remember. I will update and see if it causes a problem.

Edit: Seems to be it. Dm2 would not play midi through the opensource camd.lib and no external drivers show up in MidiPorts prefs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Amigascreen.png
Views:	18
Size:	430.3 KB
ID:	54639  

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 17 September 2017 at 21:30.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 21:33   #5
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Edit: Seems to be it. Dm2 would not play midi through the opensource camd.lib and no external drivers show up in MidiPorts prefs.
yes, can confirm this, using camd.library 37.3 I get all the stuff listed from devs:midi in MidiPorts prefs tool

#1) using uaemidi , DM2 does now start the windows midi mapper VirtualMidiSynth,
plays some sound, but locks up - as you said above

Last edited by emufan; 17 September 2017 at 21:38.
emufan is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 21:45   #6
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Without saving a prefs file with midiports, (and using v37 camd.lib) DM2 is working as expected with virtual midi using whatever its internal/default setting wants.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 21:48   #7
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,034
hmm, wanted to change settings with MidiPorts, now it does not save the prefs anymore.
will try what you said.

#1) does not work here, i see it playing notes, but does not start the windows midi mapper,
unlike uaemdi did before, but now nothing works.
removed midi.prefs , have internal serial, internal and uaemidi as available listed.
now i cannot select uaemidi anymore so it does not even play-crash anymore, great ...

#2) success.
deleted envarc:sys/midi.prefs
devs:midi has internal and uaemidi

start DM2 and select in Settings Midi -> out.0 and in.0

and it does now play the midi file

#3) record does not work, using midi yoke. i guess the record button is next to the play button?
cannot see anything coming in. but play at least does work.

#4) camouflage 2.40 does work also with camd.library v37 - using in.0 and out.0

thanks for assistance

Last edited by emufan; 17 September 2017 at 22:09.
emufan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6x ETHERNET CARDS - NETGEAR & 3COM & MRi & US Robotics Sir_Lucas MarketPlace 78 02 December 2017 19:32
LUCAS & FRANCES Boards, PAL Code & PCB Masks Kai Hardware mods 173 29 October 2017 19:35
Camd midi c++ NovaCoder Coders. C/C++ 21 24 October 2016 13:02
aminet & amiga Plus cds - floppy & cd software/games - hardware & magazines for SALE! bastibs MarketPlace 1 07 May 2008 12:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23829 seconds with 15 queries