English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2017, 12:37   #21
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
Can you gear them down?
It is already very slow (5 RPM) to have a lot of engine torque.
CFOU! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 June 2017, 12:47   #22
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
One that extends out of the cabinet. Nothing fancy, just a stick attached to the monitor's axis.
with current cabinet design is difficult...

I tried with the two engines (12V 5rpm) separated by 90 (one below the other to the right (see photo).

The CRT screen rotates about 95% of the path to go from the horizontal position to the vertical position. After the engines block because of the friction.

The rim that is the support for the monitor is slightly veiled.

As a result, there is more friction than expected (I have already tried to unveil the wheel with a little success.

I will try to reduce frictions...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	53486  
CFOU! is offline  
Old 21 June 2017, 20:23   #23
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
Can you gear them down?
no it's already very slow motor beetwenn 3.5 & 5RPM
CFOU! is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 00:44   #24
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Thumbs up

Hi guys,

It's seems works now !

for that:
1) i have removed one of the roller wheel (3 roller wheel to support rim now)

2) I also reduce thickness from the roller wheels to limit the friction.


with to motor 12v 5rpm rotation is good but Holding the 2 motors with the hands!!

The next step is to fix the 2 motors!!!

thanks for your advices.

When I finished I will post on this thread the VariCAD schematics file of this arcade cabinet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	new position wheel.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	126.7 KB
ID:	53525  
CFOU! is offline  
Old 25 June 2017, 02:13   #25
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
Awesome news CFOU!

Cool setup you have there; I'm most definitely jealous
DamienD is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 19:44   #26
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Awesome news CFOU!

Cool setup you have there; I'm most definitely jealous
The motor is fixed (now only 1 motor is necessary !!),

The wiring of the switches is finished.

The calibration of the limit switches is finished (see picture)!

Now I can choose the CRT monitor position (horizontal or vertical) using a switch

Best regards
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sans titre2.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	53587  

Last edited by CFOU!; 29 June 2017 at 20:26.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 19:52   #27
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
Sweet
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 19:59   #28
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Thumbs up

you can see video of the first test of motorized CRT MONITOR using following URL:
[ Show youtube player ]

and here motor system with spring for better contact between rim and motorized wheel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	130.6 KB
ID:	53604  

Last edited by CFOU!; 22 July 2017 at 16:20.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 20:37   #29
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
here first game test in video:
[ Show youtube player ]
CFOU! is offline  
Old 04 July 2017, 11:31   #30
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,267
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Seems excessive to rotate something as big and heavy as a CRT, but can understand the desire to have the feature. :-) Besides the degaussing required after every rotation, could it also not give convergence problems in general? I mean the tube is adjusted for one orientation and when rotated, it won't be optimal any longer. Perhaps the errors are small enough to not be severe though.

For games in portrait mode, do they use the same tubes as regular landscape mode CRTs, i.e. with vertical scanlines or do some have horizontal scanlines in portrait-oriented tubes?
Most generic JAMMA arcade cabinets have a monitor that can be rotated. Usually not via motor, though, as the operator would turn the monitor at the same time as swapping the board.

You need a monitor chassis with a degauss button, yes. Alternatively wait for the chassis to cool down and autodegauss itself. The tube's adjustments don't come into play otherwise.

The portrait mode monitors are exactly the same monitors as in horizontal games, just mounted in the vertical position, so vert games have vertical scanlines. The monitor is merely sideways.
Jope is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 23:45   #31
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Most generic JAMMA arcade cabinets have a monitor that can be rotated. Usually not via motor, though, as the operator would turn the monitor at the same time as swapping the board.

You need a monitor chassis with a degauss button, yes. Alternatively wait for the chassis to cool down and autodegauss itself. The tube's adjustments don't come into play otherwise.

The portrait mode monitors are exactly the same monitors as in horizontal games, just mounted in the vertical position, so vert games have vertical scanlines. The monitor is merely sideways.
a degauss button is not needed.

Indeed, I just have to press 2 times the standby button of the remote control to demagnetize/degauss

Last edited by CFOU!; 22 July 2017 at 00:06.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 23:56   #32
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
it's finished soon !

it"s already full working in pixel perfect mode with main arcade games and megadrive/genesis games.
(Snes working but not using groovymame)

i finish marquee too (i caught choose 10 different marquees)

here 2 marques first marquees.

to do :
add Lightphasers support
try to do X-arcade - amiga joystick adaptator (to include real amiga in the cabinet)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170719_162831.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	456.0 KB
ID:	53827   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170720_191115.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	458.4 KB
ID:	53829   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170720_190016.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	423.5 KB
ID:	53831  

Last edited by CFOU!; 22 July 2017 at 00:08.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 13 September 2017, 09:28   #33
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Hi guys,

Cabinet are finished since 1 month.

I will soon modify VariCAD schematics with last minute modifications and release it.

I must just found time for that
CFOU! is offline  
Old 13 September 2017, 16:34   #34
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,921
Please post photos and videos, very interested in seeing how it turned out!
Akira is offline  
Old 13 September 2017, 19:02   #35
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vega Sector
Age: 45
Posts: 2,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
it's finished soon !

it"s already full working in pixel perfect mode with main arcade games and megadrive/genesis games.
(Snes working but not using groovymame)

i finish marquee too (i caught choose 10 different marquees)

here 2 marques first marquees.

to do :
add Lightphasers support
try to do X-arcade - amiga joystick adaptator (to include real amiga in the cabinet)
LOL, Wife's cousin has similar (if not the same) printer.
Anubis is offline  
Old 13 September 2017, 23:32   #36
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,574
How are you connecting the real amiga to arcade controls and real amiga to arcade screen?
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 16 September 2017, 20:37   #37
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Please post photos and videos, very interested in seeing how it turned out!
soon i'am finishing to update VariCAD 2D/3D schematic
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 September 2017, 20:47   #38
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
How are you connecting the real amiga to arcade controls and real amiga to arcade screen?
not yet done.

Actually CRT monitor & hidden keyboard are common with amiga/PC.
Common mouse is possible but i prefer mouse/joy auto-switch adaptor.

Xarcade adaptor is not done, i am looking for Xarcade/PS adaptator schematic to adapt it.

I had contacted Xarcade team but of course it want not release schematic....
and official Xarcade/amiga adaptor is not planned


Badly XArcade/PS adaptor connected to PS/amiga ports not work....
CFOU! is offline  
Old 16 September 2017, 20:56   #39
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 668
I'm pretty sure the XArcade Tank Sticks are just keyboard inputs. Except the rollerball version. That's just a mouse. And what I mean it, that is pretty much how they are seen by a PC. The roller ball probably doesn't use the PS2 protocol.

so I'm thinking, if you had a USB keyboard adaptor like the one I have, and the USB version of the tanksticks, this could solve your issue.

I don't know what can be done about the roller ball though. you might need to throw a dev board in between for interfacing and injecting the PS2 protocol through your PS2/Amiga adaptor.

Last edited by Sinphaltimus; 16 September 2017 at 20:57. Reason: Fixed typos
Sinphaltimus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Amiga-based Arcade Cabinet Project Astrofra Hardware mods 31 11 June 2014 04:42
anyone know stuff about MAME arcade cabinet builds techn1um Retrogaming General Discussion 59 10 September 2010 20:29
Arcade cabinet and emulators Konrad Retrogaming General Discussion 16 03 October 2006 14:43
Best games for an arcade cabinet unclet Nostalgia & memories 11 28 May 2006 03:15
Buying an arcade cabinet LaundroMat Retrogaming General Discussion 6 26 April 2004 09:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26843 seconds with 15 queries